Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 06-24-2008, 06:22 AM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 149
Share |
Default

Generator question


I am helping (trying) a friend that has a 80KW Kohler generator. It is a 3 phase. It has been reconnected to provide single phase. It is a 12 lead and is connected as such
Connected
3,5,9 & 11
1&7 L1
2&8 L2
4,6,10 & 12 Neutral
When started it puts out 277V. This configuration is per the manual.Can you use ant two legs?
Also if it is 3 phase does this wiring change the phases to be 180 degrees or still 120. Does a transformer need to be used. It is to be used to power 10 condos with A/C.
Attached Thumbnails
Generator question-kolhlerwiring.jpg  

BillyD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2008, 06:43 AM   #2
Electrical Contractor
 
wirenut1110's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Chester, VA.
Posts: 1,046
Send a message via AIM to wirenut1110
Default

Generator question


I can't read it too well Billy, but it looks like the only 1ph drawing is the one on the lower left.

wirenut1110 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2008, 07:41 AM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 149
Default

Generator question


Sorry hope this is better.
Attached Images
 
BillyD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2008, 09:06 AM   #4
Idiot Emeritus
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Fernley, Nevada (near Reno)
Posts: 1,566
Default

Generator question


This is called a zig-zag connection. It's a very common way to get 100% single phase output from a 3 phase generator.

This generator was almost certainly connected for 277/480 earlier, and you'll need to find the voltage control and adjust it down a bit.

Rob
micromind is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2008, 11:17 AM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 149
Default

Generator question


Does this mean it is 180 deg. or still 120 degrees and can we use any two legs of the 3 phase circuit breaker?
Thanks for the help
BillyD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2008, 11:50 AM   #6
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Default

Generator question


That connection what i called double zigzag connection and yes it is rated for full 100 % rating if the nameplate stated on that.

For the voltage regulator you will end up have to move the jumper lead to correct voltage reading.

Yes you can use the generator's 3ph breaker [ some will have two breakers so watch out with that ]

After you change the connection you will need to verify the RPM or HZ first then adjust the voltage as need to.

If you try to adjust the voltage first before you adjust the engine speed or verify if running in correct RPM it will be pain in the butt get it right.

once you get it right take your voltmeter to double check aginst the generator voltage gauge to make sure it is correct.

Merci,Marc
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2008, 12:14 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 149
Default

Generator question


Thanks

BillyD is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.