Generator Power Inlet Box - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-05-2015, 03:35 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Tullahoma, Tennessee
Posts: 312
Rewards Points: 459
Default

Generator power inlet box


I need to buy a 30 amp 240v generator power inlet box and like the metal reliance electric with the round flip- up cover. Is this still OK for outside use? Will mount on side of house. Do I need to get one that has plug on bottom to be within current code?

Thank
JM

Advertisement

ddsrph is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2015, 03:56 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Hartfield VA
Posts: 30,070
Rewards Points: 5,246
Default

Generator power inlet box


One like this will work.
http://www.northerntool.com/shop/too...0924_200220924
If you have vinyl siding I'd install a siding block first.

Advertisement

__________________
When posting in forums, letting us know your location will help others give better feedback/advice/solutions to your questions
joecaption is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to joecaption For This Useful Post:
ddsrph (07-05-2015)
Old 07-05-2015, 06:41 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Tullahoma, Tennessee
Posts: 312
Rewards Points: 459
Default

Generator power inlet box


Joe
Thanks, that's the one I was wanting to use.

JM
ddsrph is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2015, 08:31 PM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 13
Rewards Points: 14
Default

Generator power inlet box


Not sure about code re: flip up vs. inlet on the bottom but I just got done doing this and used a box similar to what Joe linked since all of the boxes with the inlet on the bottom had poor reviews. I only needed a 30 amp for my current generator but I went ahead did a 50 amp inlet in case I wanted to go with a bigger generator later. That was backed up with a 8 gauge romex (only a 5 ft run so I didn't feel the need to jump to 6 gauge) 50 amp breaker and a Square D interlock kit. My cord for the generator has a 30 amp plug on the generator side but then a 50 amp plug to interface with the inlet (The generator itself has a 30 amp breaker on it to protect the cord).

It all worked out very well and I can run everything except my AC compressors via my 6250/8500 watt generator and the interlock makes it fairly idiot proof. I clamped each leg and then moved a couple of breakers around to ensure the 110v loads we'd normally use resulted in a pretty even split between the two legs. This ensures you don't overload one side of the generator as you really only have half the nominal rated capacity split between the two 110v legs. Our refrigerator and freezer were on the same leg and separating them loaded the generator more evenly.

Are you planning on using a portable generator? If so most have a bonded neutral and you'll need to break that at the generator. This is to avoid having a neutral to ground bond in two places in the system when running on generator power. You only want one bond from neutral to ground in the system and that should be at your main load center. There are some scenarios if you have two neutral to ground bonds where your portable generator chassis could become electrified. Do your own research and draw your own conclusions here.

This is the box I used:
http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B000HRWGBW

Last edited by JeffW650; 07-05-2015 at 08:34 PM.
JeffW650 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to JeffW650 For This Useful Post:
ddsrph (07-06-2015)
Old 07-06-2015, 04:42 AM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Tullahoma, Tennessee
Posts: 312
Rewards Points: 459
Default

Generator power inlet box


Jeff
Thanks for the info. My project is a new small retirement house and I am just beginning to wire. I have a Square D QO panel and have already bought the interlock kit. I think these interlock kits will become much more popular than the more expensive and more limited transfer switches. Also how does the transfer switches comply with new codes regarding ground fault and arc fault breakers?

JM
ddsrph is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Connect UF-B cable totransfer switch / Inlet box Vkazman Electrical 8 03-17-2013 02:55 PM
location of service disconnect for generator inlet rob613 Electrical 6 02-15-2013 12:16 PM
The great sump debate.. above or below inlet mikegina Plumbing 2 02-01-2013 03:54 PM
30 Amp Generator - 50 Amp Power Inlet 1BadBoy Electrical 7 12-09-2012 03:50 PM
Better way to protect portable generator inlet? IvoryRing Electrical 7 05-30-2006 07:30 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts