Generator Neutral To Ground Bond - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-27-2013, 08:05 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Generator neutral to ground bond


I have a Troy Bilt 6000 watt generator that will only be used for power outages. I have been reading about these neutral to ground bonds at the generator and I'm concerned whether I should remove the bond. I installed a reliance transfer switch and thought I was good but now I'm not so sure. Is it imperative to remove this bond or can it be left alone? Will leaving the bond cause any issues with the power supplied to my house from the genset?? Thanks in advance!!

Charlie
Attached Thumbnails
Generator neutral to ground bond-image-3881334650.jpg   Generator neutral to ground bond-image-214030999.jpg  

Advertisement

Hllywd62 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2013, 08:13 AM   #2
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 8,363
Rewards Points: 3,520
Blog Entries: 4
Default

Generator neutral to ground bond


Unless your transfer switch switches the neutral you should unbond the neutral and ground in the generator.

Advertisement

__________________
Do not PM with questions that can be asked in a forum. I will not respond.
joed is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2013, 08:41 AM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 133
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Generator neutral to ground bond


If its only for a outage probably unbond it. I don't think it would be safe to power any tools or anything else if its unbonded. I think this is a long subject but a lot of people leave it bonded and don't have any problem unless the gen has gfi reseptacles.
Kpack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2013, 08:52 AM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Hartfield VA
Posts: 27,760
Rewards Points: 636
Default

Generator neutral to ground bond


That box on the side of the house should have been mounted to a siding block.
Done that way there's no way for the siding to expand and contract and will break the caulking seal and may buckle the siding.
__________________
When posting in forums, letting us know your location will help others give better feedback/advice/solutions to your questions
joecaption is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2013, 09:20 AM   #5
Electrical Contractor
 
Philly Master's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: SE PA
Posts: 1,138
Rewards Points: 502
Default

Generator neutral to ground bond


1) you must read how your generator is wired/bonded ....

2) mainly it would be the function of GFI outlets that would be effected ..
__________________
Philadelphia Master Electrician-Generac Dealer
Philly Master is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2013, 09:27 AM   #6
Electrical Contractor
 
Philly Master's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: SE PA
Posts: 1,138
Rewards Points: 502
Default

Generator neutral to ground bond


Floating Neutral or Bonded Neutral .... You must check what you have


Here is some info ...


http://members.rennlist.org/warren/honda.pdf

and


http://www.generlink.com/CompatibleGenerator.pdf
Updated: 06/26/2013


all are not wired the same the same .....even within the same manufacture ...



************************************************** **************

more info:

NOTE: Generators with Full Panel GFCI Protection (Ground Fault Circuit Interrupter) comply with OSHA inspections on job sites. However, these generators will not function when connected to a GenerLink since the home or building main breaker box also has a neutral bonded to ground. When both the generator and the home / building breaker box contains a neutral bonded to ground, the generator's GFCI will open and no outlets will function

* Honda EB Series generator is not compatible with the GenerLink Automatic Transfer Switch. Please contact the nearest Honda dealer for information on modification to the receptacle panel.


NOTE: Per the National Electric Code, all generators must have a "floating neutral " when used with the GenerLink Automatic Transfer Switch. Please refer to the generator operation manual for bonded neutral specifications.
__________________
Philadelphia Master Electrician-Generac Dealer

Last edited by Philly Master; 07-27-2013 at 09:32 AM.
Philly Master is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2013, 09:46 AM   #7
Electrical Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 725
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Generator neutral to ground bond


You might also contact the manufacturer with the model number and ask. Mine has a floating neutral, and no GFCI receptacles.
Kyle_in_rure is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2013, 09:57 AM   #8
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Generator neutral to ground bond


The generator I have doesn't have GFCI outlets, but has breakers for them... Here are pics to help out further...
Attached Thumbnails
Generator neutral to ground bond-image-996892859.jpg   Generator neutral to ground bond-image-3967628225.jpg   Generator neutral to ground bond-image-2608026990.jpg  
Hllywd62 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2013, 10:18 AM   #9
Electrical Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 725
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Generator neutral to ground bond


Well, there's your answer . According to your manual, the neutral is bonded to the ground on this generator.
Kyle_in_rure is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2013, 11:00 AM   #10
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Generator neutral to ground bond


Yeah, I knew it had a grounded neutral, I was just asking if its imperative that it be removed if attached to a transfer switch that doesn't switch the neutral, or if its ok to leave alone for the occasional times that I will need to use the genset...
Thanks!
Hllywd62 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Hllywd62 For This Useful Post:
Kyle_in_rure (07-27-2013)
Old 07-27-2013, 04:37 PM   #11
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 8,363
Rewards Points: 3,520
Blog Entries: 4
Default

Generator neutral to ground bond


It will function just fine. but I believe code requires it to be unbonded. The neutral and ground must only be connected at one point in your house.
__________________
Do not PM with questions that can be asked in a forum. I will not respond.
joed is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2013, 01:43 AM   #12
Electrician
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Oviedo, FL near Orlando
Posts: 227
Rewards Points: 150
Default

Generator neutral to ground bond


Turn off the main breaker to the house, hook up the genny and run it.

Bonded or unbonded, GFCI or no, it will do no harm to the house or the genny. If you can cycle all the loads on and off then make no changes. You are good to go.

If the GFCI breaker trips (it will) then you have no choice but to unbond the genny.

Start from the beginning and retest all your loads.
Glennsparky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2013, 09:26 AM   #13
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Generator neutral to ground bond


Glennsparky, thanks so much!!... I'll do as you say.... I was just concerned after all I read about these bonded generators... I don't get frequent power outages here on Long Island... But I just didn't want to create a dangerous situation either... Thanks so much!!

Charlie

Advertisement

Hllywd62 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Hllywd62 For This Useful Post:
Philly Master (07-28-2013)
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Why not Bond Neutral to Ground on subpanels brianj_92505 Electrical 18 06-27-2013 12:36 AM
running ground for new upgraded 200 Amp service mbaldwin Electrical 11 05-26-2013 10:51 AM
neutral and ground bond on meter box and subpanels in same structure zandroid Electrical 9 05-04-2013 02:20 AM
240 volt load/appliance and ground vs neutral kgize Electrical 7 04-23-2010 12:40 AM
Bonding Ground in Conduit jamiedolan Electrical 5 01-26-2010 11:14 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts