Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11-07-2008, 06:26 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 16
Rewards Points: 0
Share |
Default

Generator to meter box


Hello i need to hook up a panel to main box at meter so when my power comes out i can pull out generator and hook generator to box to run power.I seen at someones house but he didnt do it any help please

tity04 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2008, 06:36 PM   #2
DIYer
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Virginia
Posts: 910
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Generator to meter box


Quote:
Originally Posted by tity04 View Post
Hello i need to hook up a panel to main box at meter so when my power comes out i can pull out generator and hook generator to box to run power.I seen at someones house but he didnt do it any help please
There's two ways to do this. You can buy a box that has an inlet built in and some switches. It's easy to install and pretty much foolproof.

http://www.hechinger.com/hardware/to...-31406crk.html

This is the one I got. It was only $270 at the local home store though. To use it you put wirenuts in your main panel though and that gives older electricians fits even though the manufacturer says it's OK under the NEC.


The other way is to install a subpanel that has an interlock at the top. This way requires you to do more real wiring, but it's a more expandable way.

http://www.squared.com/us/applicatio...Panels2005.pdf

In addition to that you need a separate inlet with the panel method, since it's not built in. Advantage there is you can install the inlet outside in a weatherproof box which is a little easier than running an extension cord through an open window.

Gigs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2008, 08:13 PM   #3
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 7,554
Rewards Points: 36
Default

Generator to meter box


Here's one way that's simple.

http://www.generlink.com/about_generlink.cfm
joed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2008, 10:37 AM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 3,506
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Generator to meter box


There are several approved methods for connecting the generator to your house wiring. The most important thing you must consider is protection for the generator and utility workers (lineman).

Install a twist lock receptacle or plug that fits your generator outside where you will operate it. Run this 4 wire circuit back to a double pole breaker in your main panel or sub panel if you have one. Get a mechanical interlock that prevents turning the main breaker back on if the generator breaker is on, and visa versa. Use this method unless you want automatic operation.

Like this for an example.www.interlockkit.com
J. V. is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Could I move my Meter & Power Drop to the Side of my house? jamiedolan Electrical 9 07-28-2010 05:16 PM
Does it matter how close your panel is to your meter? jamiedolan Electrical 10 10-18-2008 04:38 AM
Clamp Meter Findings jamiedolan Electrical 16 09-08-2008 08:13 PM
Is it normal to change the upper line at the meter when running new supply line? twilightcall Plumbing 3 08-08-2008 11:10 AM
Meter ratings Stubbie Electrical 3 04-02-2008 10:12 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.