Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10-29-2012, 06:26 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 5
Share |
Default

Generator L14-20 to L14-30 conversion


Hi, I would like some advice. We just bought a new home that currently has a manual switched subpanel for a generator and a l14-20 receptacle outside. The Reliance panel has two 30 amp breakers. The wiring in the l14-20 looks very beefy like maybe #8 for three of the wires and then there is a slightly thinner brown wire.

I have purchased a new 6500/5500 generator which has an l14-30 120/240 and I bought an L14-30 cord for it.

My questions are:

Does it sound reasonable to just change the outlet to an L14-30?
If so is the wiring for the outlet the same as the existing L14-20?
What would the brown wire likely be did they use 8/3 and then just run an extra wire, does a brown wire signify something specific?
I will double check the gauge on brown wire if I can see a label, if it is only a 12 is there any wire that it would be ok to be <10 gauge for 30 amp?

So with the 4 wire configuration and two 30amp breakers is this running 220?

Any other advice or thoughts that would help me?

Thanks

jabella is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2012, 06:56 PM   #2
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,798
Default

Generator L14-20 to L14-30 conversion


I would need to see this 20A receptacle and wire. If it is indeed #10 or larger then yes, you can change it to a 30A inlet.

You say "receptacle". Is it a receptacle outside for the generator inlet? I HOPE NOT.

__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC.
Speedy Petey is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Speedy Petey For This Useful Post:
jabella (11-02-2012)
Old 11-02-2012, 12:36 AM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 5
Default

Generator L14-20 to L14-30 conversion


Hi Speedy, thanks for the speedy reply, it took me a bit because it's been dark and raining when I was able to look at it. I went out tonight and snapped a couple of pictures using a spotlight and my phone. What I thought was a smaller brown wire is the copper ground wire. Looks a lot differn't when you get some good light in there....

Thanks for looking.
James
Attached Thumbnails
Generator L14-20 to L14-30 conversion-img_0558.jpg   Generator L14-20 to L14-30 conversion-img_0555.jpg   Generator L14-20 to L14-30 conversion-img_0557.jpg  
jabella is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2012, 12:41 AM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 45
Default

Generator L14-20 to L14-30 conversion


That looks like something that somebody fabricated. I would just pull it off your house and replace it with a proper 30A inlet like this:

Name:  Reliance_Controls_Corp_PB20_20-Amp_Outdoor_Power_Inlet.jpg
Views: 253
Size:  12.2 KB
Hundred is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Hundred For This Useful Post:
jabella (11-02-2012)
Old 11-02-2012, 12:45 AM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 5
Default

Generator L14-20 to L14-30 conversion


Hi Hundred, that's what I was hoping to do, I just can't tell if these wires are the #10. I believe they are thicker than normal but it's tough for an amateur to tell for sure. My Generator has the 30 amp plug but I noticed the breaker on the generate is 23amp for the outlet.

BTW we had our first power outage this morning and the wife say's...I thought you bought a generator for this...doh!

James
jabella is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2012, 12:47 AM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 45
Default

Generator L14-20 to L14-30 conversion


I'm pretty sure that wire is #10.

I'm curious what your transfer panel looks like with 2 X 30A breakers...
Hundred is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Hundred For This Useful Post:
jabella (11-02-2012)
Old 11-02-2012, 12:51 AM   #7
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 5
Default

Generator L14-20 to L14-30 conversion


Thanks Hundred! That's easy enough: Here is my main and the sub panel.

James
Attached Thumbnails
Generator L14-20 to L14-30 conversion-img_0559.jpg   Generator L14-20 to L14-30 conversion-img_0560.jpg  
jabella is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2012, 12:54 AM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 45
Default

Generator L14-20 to L14-30 conversion


Ok, that explains a lot now.

It seems as if your setup was originally made for a 30A system since it has 310 and a 30A breaker, but they put in a 20A inlet because that was the size generator they had at the time. That's smart, it allows them to upgrade without rewiring it. You will be fine changing out the inlet to a 30A.
Hundred is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Hundred For This Useful Post:
jabella (11-02-2012)
Old 11-02-2012, 01:52 AM   #9
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 5
Default

Generator L14-20 to L14-30 conversion


Awesome that's what I was hoping for but with the 220 it's a little more scary to me than just a typical outlet and I wanted a knowledgeable opinion.

As far as connecting the generator up, I know all the generator's say to also put in a grounding rod is that necessary/code when using this 4 wire connection?

Thank you very much!
James
jabella is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2012, 01:54 AM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 45
Default

Generator L14-20 to L14-30 conversion


No, don't worry about it. You are going to be connecting to the house's grounding electrode/s.

Hundred is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Hundred For This Useful Post:
jabella (11-02-2012)
Reply

Tags
electrical, generator, l14-20, l14-30, receptical


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Painting kitchen cabinets, Wagner HVLP conversion gun? Cobrakillert Painting 24 03-27-2013 04:26 PM
Gas Valve 7200 IPER-S7C LP Conversion mikefrommi HVAC 5 03-06-2011 09:40 PM
Garage Conversion SDEngr Remodeling 13 06-01-2010 04:11 PM
120 Volt conversion to a 208/240 conversion era0zeus Electrical 8 10-19-2009 06:59 PM
Furnace replacement and conversion from propane to NG. crblog HVAC 2 05-22-2009 03:57 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.