Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12-21-2012, 07:37 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 17
Share |
Question

Generator / Interlock question


Hi. I am new to this DIY Electrical Forum and I signed on to learn more about electrical code related, DIY wiring, etc. I am not an electrician but have rudimentary electrical stuff... I am writing this to seek some help...

I am attempting to acquire and install an "Interlock" kit for SIEMENS Load Center G4040MB1200 which uses the 4-pole vertical-throw 200A 120/240v main breaker (model EQ9685). I looked into the SIEMENS SPEEDFAX2000 catalog and it said that there is no such "interlock kit" available that would work with my combination. They have other interlock kits that would work wit horizontal throws, but not with my combo... wah !!

Ok. So I looked further and discover this "M-1" kit being sold by a private individual, I think. Here is the link.... http://natramelec.com/genswitch/m/m1/m1.htm He says that it would work with my set up, but I am little skeptical. Also the M-1 kit pictures look like it is an assembly of a piece of metal plate. Here is the installation instruction... http://natramelec.com/genswitch/m/m1...t_instruct.htm Cost? Whopping $69.00 for a piece of metal plate painted red and a $0.99 metal [COLOR=blue !important][COLOR=blue ! important]drill [COLOR=blue ! important]bit[/color][/color][/color] that comes with it. It gets mounted on the panel door unlike the Siemens kit...

In any event, besides the ridiculous cost, the biggest concern I have is UL rating of the SIEMENS Main Panel. Would I be voiding the UL rating by installing this "3rd-party" gizmo on top of the Main Panel which is UL labeled by Siemens? Would the local AHJ flag this if he sees it installed on the panel cover?







What are your experience on the 3rd party manufactured interlock kits? Thanks.

khfactor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2012, 07:43 PM   #2
Member
 
Missouri Bound's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Almost Arkansas
Posts: 2,764
Default

Generator / Interlock question


I did not see a UL listing on the interlock device you lined to. That would be an issue with the AHJ. Seimens may insist that only UL listed devices may be used with their panel(s). A couple of telephone calls or emails can answer to both of those issues.

__________________
Do you want it your way or the right way?
Missouri Bound is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2012, 07:55 PM   #3
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,400
Default

Generator / Interlock question


I seem to remember emailing the company above and asking about a listing for their product. IIRC they said it was not listed.
__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2012, 08:01 PM   #4
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,336
Default

Generator / Interlock question


edit...posted in wrong, but similar thread
__________________
__________________________________________________ ______________
Answers based on the National Electric Code. Always check local amendments.


k_buz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2012, 11:53 AM   #5
Special User
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Idaho, US
Posts: 551
Default

Generator / Interlock question


Panel manufacturers don't want you to use third-party interlocks because they lose profit, but my understanding is if the third-party interlock is "listed" by a Nationally Recognized Test Lab such as the UL, it's legal per the NEC in spite of what the panel manufacturer says.
__________________
The above post is for entertainment purposes only. Its contents may, and probably will, lead to legal liability and damage or loss of property, life, or limb. Use at your own risk.
tylernt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2012, 12:08 PM   #6
Mad Scientist
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 761
Default

Generator / Interlock question


Off topic, but I'm curious. What the heck is up with that panel's neutral?
McSteve is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to McSteve For This Useful Post:
Kpack (12-22-2012)
Old 12-22-2012, 01:17 PM   #7
Member
 
Missouri Bound's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Almost Arkansas
Posts: 2,764
Default

Generator / Interlock question


Quote:
Originally Posted by McSteve View Post
Off topic, but I'm curious. What the heck is up with that panel's neutral?

It kind of looks like two wires twisted together...for a sub, perhaps?
__________________
Do you want it your way or the right way?
Missouri Bound is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2012, 01:48 PM   #8
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 17
Default

Generator / Interlock question


Quote:
Originally Posted by McSteve View Post
Off topic, but I'm curious. What the heck is up with that panel's neutral?
Are you referencing the pictures I posted? If so, that was the way the electricians wired them up when they built this house in 2001. Anything wrong with it?
khfactor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2012, 01:58 PM   #9
Member
 
Missouri Bound's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Almost Arkansas
Posts: 2,764
Default

Generator / Interlock question


Take a wider picture of that panel....are those actually two wires twisted together? Is one coming in from the service and one going out to another panel?
__________________
Do you want it your way or the right way?
Missouri Bound is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2012, 01:59 PM   #10
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 17
Default

Generator / Interlock question


Quote:
Originally Posted by Jim Port View Post
I seem to remember emailing the company above and asking about a listing for their product. IIRC they said it was not listed.
Another question..... Do you know if the Main Breaker EQ9685 can be replaced with the SIEMENS MBK200A, 200A Breaker? The reason why I am asking this is so that I can buy the readily available SIEMENS standard Interlock kit ECSBPK03.

If not, I am thinking of replacing/upgrading the main panelboard. The home depot sells the SIEMENS Load Center PL Series P4040B1200CU for $144.00. The whole PL Series main Load center costs less than what the INTERLOCKKIT sells for $159. If I am going to go the UL approved way by obtaining the Siemens Interleock, I might as well upgrade the Main Panel...

Thoughts??

Thanks

Last edited by khfactor; 12-22-2012 at 02:32 PM.
khfactor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2012, 02:02 PM   #11
Member
 
Missouri Bound's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Almost Arkansas
Posts: 2,764
Default

Generator / Interlock question


Another question....there's just one dbl pole breaker in that panel....where do the rest of those wires on the left side go?
__________________
Do you want it your way or the right way?
Missouri Bound is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2012, 02:30 PM   #12
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 17
Default

Generator / Interlock question








khfactor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2012, 03:06 PM   #13
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 42
Default

Generator / Interlock question


Not trying hijack this thread. Just trying to learn here. But considering there are 2x200 amp breakers (1 per phase) does that make this 400 amp service? Also, i dont see the ground bonded to the neutral. Does this mean that technically this is a sub panel and there is probably a main cut off elsewhere?
AdamBNYC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2012, 03:11 PM   #14
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 17
Default

Generator / Interlock question


Quote:
Originally Posted by AdamBNYC View Post
Not trying hijack this thread. Just trying to learn here. But considering there are 2x200 amp breakers (1 per phase) does that make this 400 amp service? Also, i dont see the ground bonded to the neutral. Does this mean that technically this is a sub panel and there is probably a main cut off elsewhere?
This is NOT a sub-panel. Also my previous pics did not show quite all the details, but they (ground / neutral) are bonded. See the photo below...

khfactor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2012, 04:35 PM   #15
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Western PA
Posts: 203
Default

Generator / Interlock question


Quote:
Originally Posted by AdamBNYC View Post
Not trying hijack this thread. Just trying to learn here. But considering there are 2x200 amp breakers (1 per phase) does that make this 400 amp service? Also, i dont see the ground bonded to the neutral. Does this mean that technically this is a sub panel and there is probably a main cut off elsewhere?
This is a typical residential service: 240V, Split Phase. 200A breakers on both sides results in 240V @ 200A, not 400A.

Dave632 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
DRIcore question trailblazer1229 Flooring 0 02-24-2010 09:25 AM
3 Phase meter socket question a320200 Electrical 4 12-11-2009 12:45 AM
An unasked question is the only dumb question jackie treehorn Kitchen & Bath Remodeling 1 09-20-2009 08:24 PM
A question about water preassure. reasonforseason Plumbing 5 04-14-2009 04:36 PM
Basement Renovation Question KUIPORNG Remodeling 234 08-26-2008 08:19 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.