Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 05-17-2013, 02:55 AM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Central Indiana (USA)
Posts: 1,318
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Generator Install


About to do one, so question about the Main panel to Automatic Transfer Switch (ATS) wiring.

How are the individual branch circuits setup in the ATS? Are the breakers from the panel transferred into the ATS, or do they just go unused? Or, do they have a connection back to the ATS?

So far, my understanding is that there will be a 50-70a DP to put into the Panel, to protect the ATS, but I can't get a clear picture of each branch circuit transfer.

From what I've seen in videos, so far, it's ambiguous.

__________________
Installation is the Reverse of Removal.
sirsparksalot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2013, 03:43 AM   #2
Electrical Contractor
 
kbsparky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Delmarva
Posts: 3,368
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Generator Install


If the "transfer switch" has breakers in it for individual circuits, then the existing breakers in the present panel will become unused.

__________________
-KB

Life is uncertain -- eat dessert first!!
kbsparky is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to kbsparky For This Useful Post:
Philly Master (05-17-2013)
Old 05-17-2013, 04:01 AM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Central Indiana (USA)
Posts: 1,318
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Generator Install


kb, Would you watch these videos? My question in this first video starts at 6:48. The 2nd video starts at the beginning, and goes to about 1:08.

Here, I can't tell if they're leaving the panel breaker unused, or reconnecting it with a RED wire from the Transfer Switch.

The Genny and ATS is Generac 14Kw

Thanks for helping.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Sk2D3...SW7ZUQ&index=2

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-Kis7...SW7ZUQ&index=1
__________________
Installation is the Reverse of Removal.
sirsparksalot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2013, 06:20 AM   #4
Electrical Contractor
 
Philly Master's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: SE PA
Posts: 1,137
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Generator Install


unused .... correct.. first you must be using the "EASY SWITCH"
__________________
Philadelphia Master Electrician-Generac Dealer
Philly Master is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2013, 07:24 AM   #5
Electrical Contractor
 
Philly Master's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: SE PA
Posts: 1,137
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Generator Install


just FYI ...

there are a couple of things to watch for ..

1) disconnect ... some say the breaker on the GEN is not a disconnect ...

2) labeling of the service/meter that there is a generator on site and disconnecting the service may energize the house ..

3) the whips supplied with the EASY SWITCH are sometimes not long enough or are the wrong type for outside ...LOL
__________________
Philadelphia Master Electrician-Generac Dealer
Philly Master is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2013, 10:13 AM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Central Indiana (USA)
Posts: 1,318
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Generator Install


Quote:
Originally Posted by Philly Master View Post
unused .... correct.. first you must be using the "EASY SWITCH"
Well, it's called "SMART SWITCH". Same thing?

Quote:
1) disconnect ... some say the breaker on the GEN is not a disconnect ...
Let's keep our terms straight here The GEN does not have a breaker; the Transfer Switch and the Panel do


Quote:
2) labeling of the service/meter that there is a generator on site and disconnecting the service may energize the house ..
Gotcha!

Quote:
3) the whips supplied with the EASY SWITCH are sometimes not long enough or are the wrong type for outside ...LOL
I've heard that said
__________________
Installation is the Reverse of Removal.
sirsparksalot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2013, 11:08 AM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Nashua, NH, USA
Posts: 6,968
Rewards Points: 2,032
Default

Generator Install


My computer can't play videos (download too long) so I may be making redundant comments.

For a transfer switch unit with individual transfer switches for each branch circuit, you unhook a wire from a breaker in the panel and connect it to one of a pair of wires (whips) coming from the transfer switch unit. You connect the other wire of the pair to the panel breaker. Use wire nuts and pigtails (short lengths) if the wires don't reach. In a way each transfer switch hookup resembles a switch loop.

For generator operation the transfer switch unit provides (or should provide) overcurrent protection for each branch circuit it serves for example each transfer switch may have a built in breaker. When the individual transfer switch is flipped to the "utility power" position the original panel breaker provides overcurrent protection for that branch circuit.

The generator breaker acts as a "master breaker" during generator operation.

The generator cannot energize the main panel or any branch circuit that is not run through the transfer switch unit.
__________________
Forget super sized fries. The Washington Redskins could promote healthy eating with First Lady Obama by choosing a (red skinned) turnip for a mascot.

Last edited by AllanJ; 05-17-2013 at 11:18 AM.
AllanJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2013, 04:26 PM   #8
Electrical Contractor
 
Philly Master's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: SE PA
Posts: 1,137
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Generator Install


Quote:
Originally Posted by sirsparksalot View Post
Well, it's called "SMART SWITCH". Same thing?



Let's keep our terms straight here The GEN does not have a breaker; the Transfer Switch and the Panel do




Gotcha!



I've heard that said
1) you decide ... ... http://www.generac.com/Residential/T...uit/EZ_Switch/


2) on the left side of the generator there is a door .... What's behind door #1
__________________
Philadelphia Master Electrician-Generac Dealer
Philly Master is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2013, 04:30 PM   #9
Electrical Contractor
 
Philly Master's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: SE PA
Posts: 1,137
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Generator Install


Quote:
Originally Posted by sirsparksalot View Post
kb, Would you watch these videos? My question in this first video starts at 6:48. The 2nd video starts at the beginning, and goes to about 1:08.

Here, I can't tell if they're leaving the panel breaker unused, or reconnecting it with a RED wire from the Transfer Switch.

The Genny and ATS is Generac 14Kw

Thanks for helping.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Sk2D3...SW7ZUQ&index=2

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-Kis7...SW7ZUQ&index=1
Just to clarify you have this kit ... # 5872 and ..

http://www.generac.com/Residential/GuardianSeries/14kW/

and FYI see the door on the right side of gen ???
__________________
Philadelphia Master Electrician-Generac Dealer
Philly Master is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2013, 05:36 PM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 35
Rewards Points: 25
Default

Generator Install


Quote:
Originally Posted by sirsparksalot View Post

Let's keep our terms straight here The GEN does not have a breaker; the Transfer Switch and the Panel do
Mine does.
rjgogo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2013, 07:45 PM   #11
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Central Indiana (USA)
Posts: 1,318
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Generator Install


Thanks guys, I got it.

__________________
Installation is the Reverse of Removal.
sirsparksalot is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.