Generator Inlet Box - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-11-2012, 09:50 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 16
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Generator Inlet box


Complete noobie here with a question. I've purchased a 8kw generator and am planning to connect it to my panel with an interlock (will have a licensed electrician do this as part of my panel's replacement and upgrade of service to 200 amp). The generator has a 30 amp output. I am looking at inlet boxes online and they seem to say they are sized for 30 amps for generators up to 7.5kw. Wouldn't the breaker on my generator limit the same 30 amp outlet as a 7.5 kw generator's 30 amp let? For that matter, if my generator was 12kw but had a 30 amp connection wouldn't it still be limited? I am not understanding why the generator's total output matters to the inlet box if the output connection I am using is limited to 30 amps?

Sorry if I am missing something obvious or if this questions been asked a ton of times before.

Advertisement

jtd771 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2012, 09:52 PM   #2
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,343
Rewards Points: 2,006
Default

Generator Inlet box


The inlet is rated to handle up to 30A. The inlet doesn't protect anything except the type of cord plugged into it. The generator itself, or the breaker its feeding will protect against overload.

Advertisement

__________________
__________________________________________________ ______________
Answers based on the National Electric Code. Always check local amendments.


k_buz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2012, 06:27 AM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 16
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Generator Inlet box


So my thinking is sound and that the generator's size doesn't matter as long as I am not connecting to an outlet with more than 30A of capacity?
jtd771 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2012, 01:11 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 3,510
Rewards Points: 2,008
Default

Generator Inlet box


You size the inlet and the wiring to the generator output. In your case its a 30 amp twist lock. So you buy a 30 amp inlet and install a 30 amp breaker in the panel. You will use a 10/3 cord and plug. You can buy them already made up and ready to be plugged in.
J. V. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2012, 08:02 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 16
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Generator Inlet box


From the inlet box to the panel is about 40 feet. Should I use 10/3 or 12/3 for the inside wiring?
jtd771 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2012, 08:16 PM   #6
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,962
Rewards Points: 2,320
Default

Generator Inlet box


Quote:
Originally Posted by jtd771 View Post
From the inlet box to the panel is about 40 feet. Should I use 10/3 or 12/3 for the inside wiring?
10/3 to match the 30 amps.

Advertisement

__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Top of Page | View New Posts