Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10-09-2012, 10:29 PM   #16
Member
 
Missouri Bound's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Almost Arkansas
Posts: 2,764
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Generator Inlet


Quote:
Originally Posted by matt151617 View Post
Where does it say that? It's a regular generator. Quit crapping in my thread.

It's a friggin' joke....ease up. LIke your ideas so far.

__________________
Do you want it your way or the right way?
Missouri Bound is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2012, 12:51 AM   #17
Electrical Contractor
 
kbsparky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Delmarva
Posts: 3,368
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Generator Inlet


I usually just mount the inlet in the side or bottom of the panel, and skip the junction box, etc.
__________________
-KB

Life is uncertain -- eat dessert first!!
kbsparky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2012, 07:19 AM   #18
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Nashua, NH, USA
Posts: 6,968
Rewards Points: 2,032
Default

Generator Inlet


It often requires some force to unplug the (female) extension cord receptacle from the (male) inlet and a plastic blank cover in which you drilled a hole to mount the inlet is very likely to break. A metal cover should work okay.

If you don't have or wish to install a subpanel, a "small" single transfer switch won't work. A "whole house" transfer switch usually requires pulling the meter and thus some logistics coordination with the electric company. You can get a transfer switch box with several small transfer switches (for individual branch circuits) instead of one medium size transfer switch that you could install without disturbing the fat service wires.
__________________
Forget super sized fries. The Washington Redskins could promote healthy eating with First Lady Obama by choosing a (red skinned) turnip for a mascot.

Last edited by AllanJ; 10-10-2012 at 07:31 AM.
AllanJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2012, 07:26 AM   #19
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Plattsburgh, NY
Posts: 243
Rewards Points: 154
Default

Generator Inlet


Quote:
Originally Posted by kbsparky View Post
I usually just mount the inlet in the side or bottom of the panel, and skip the junction box, etc.
Thanks, I'll do that. $50 seems like a lot for just an inlet and a box, when the inlet itself is available for $20.
matt151617 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2012, 07:27 AM   #20
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,342
Rewards Points: 2,004
Default

Generator Inlet


Keep in mind everyone, this isn't your typical generator install...its 25A 120V only. There is no option for 240V.

__________________
__________________________________________________ ______________
Answers based on the National Electric Code. Always check local amendments.


k_buz is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.