Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10-09-2012, 07:08 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Plattsburgh, NY
Posts: 241
Share |
Default

Generator Inlet


I'm hooking up a generator to my panel. The power cord is going to run through a small basement window and plug in next to the panel. All the power inlet boxes I've seen are designed for outdoor use and are therefore pretty expensive.

Can I buy one of these, get a deep junction box with a blank cover, and drill with a hole saw the size of this outlet? Then connect to the panel with conduit and THWN wire?

matt151617 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2012, 07:17 PM   #2
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,406
Default

Generator Inlet


You are going to need an approved transfer switch or interlock to prevent backfeeding on to the utility grid. You cannot just install the inlet.

__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2012, 07:25 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Plattsburgh, NY
Posts: 241
Default

Generator Inlet


Quote:
Originally Posted by Jim Port View Post
You are going to need an approved transfer switch or interlock to prevent backfeeding on to the utility grid. You cannot just install the inlet.
I am installing an interlock, I'm just looking for how to get the power in.
matt151617 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2012, 07:30 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: MA
Posts: 712
Default

Generator Inlet


You need 4 pins, not 3.
AandPDan is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2012, 07:31 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Plattsburgh, NY
Posts: 241
Default

Generator Inlet


I know, that's just an example of the type of plug. I just want to know if I'm allowed to make my own inlet box.
matt151617 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2012, 07:57 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: MA
Posts: 712
Default

Generator Inlet


Can you mount a 4 pin "inlet" on an approved box using an approved cover? Yes.
AandPDan is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2012, 08:01 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Hartfield VA
Posts: 25,828
Default

Generator Inlet


When the power going to fail most likly? In the poring rain. Do you really want to have to leave a basement window open in a rain storm?

What about the CO2 coming in the window while it's running?
joecaption is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2012, 08:15 PM   #8
Member
 
Missouri Bound's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Almost Arkansas
Posts: 2,764
Default

Generator Inlet


I'd urge you to consider a small transfer panel rather than an interlock. It's very often the same cost and unless you use a large generator you won't be able to power all of the circuits in your panel.
__________________
Do you want it your way or the right way?
Missouri Bound is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2012, 08:16 PM   #9
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,336
Default

Generator Inlet


Quote:
Originally Posted by joecaption View Post
When the power going to fail most likly? In the poring rain. Do you really want to have to leave a basement window open in a rain storm?

What about the CO2 coming in the window while it's running?
You missed the part in his other thread where he posted the specs of his generator and it says that it is not to be used in the rain.
__________________
__________________________________________________ ______________
Answers based on the National Electric Code. Always check local amendments.


k_buz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2012, 08:19 PM   #10
Member
 
Missouri Bound's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Almost Arkansas
Posts: 2,764
Default

Generator Inlet


sheesh.....thought that was over.......
__________________
Do you want it your way or the right way?
Missouri Bound is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2012, 08:35 PM   #11
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Plattsburgh, NY
Posts: 241
Default

Generator Inlet


Quote:
Originally Posted by k_buz View Post
You missed the part in his other thread where he posted the specs of his generator and it says that it is not to be used in the rain.
Where does it say that? It's a regular generator. Quit crapping in my thread.
matt151617 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2012, 08:43 PM   #12
Contractor
 
Dan101's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Chicago, Illinois
Posts: 60
Default

Generator Inlet


You will need an approved cover. Not a blank with a hole drilled in it.
__________________
Dan101
Owner
J.& D. Remodeling
Chicago, IL
Dan101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2012, 08:45 PM   #13
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,782
Default

Generator Inlet


A 30A gen inlet box is around $50. You consider that expensive?
__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC. If you're on the '14 already I feel sorry for you.
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2012, 08:50 PM   #14
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Hartfield VA
Posts: 25,828
Default

Generator Inlet


http://www.northerntool.com/shop/too...erator%2Binlet
joecaption is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2012, 08:55 PM   #15
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,336
Default

Generator Inlet


Do you think I just make this stuff up?

http://www.championpowerequipment.co...al-english.pdf

Page 3...Right-hand side

Quote:
DO NOT touch bare wires or receptacles.
DO NOT use electrical cords that are worn, damaged
or frayed.
DO NOT operate generator in wet weather.
DO NOT allow children or unqualified persons to
operate or service the generator
Use a ground fault circuit interrupter (GFCI) in damp
areas and areas containing conductive material such
as metal decking.
Use approved transfer equipment to isolate generator
from your electric utility and Notify your utility
company before connecting your generator to your
power system.
Page 4...Bottom right-hand corner

Quote:
Use the generator only for intended uses.
Operate only on level surfaces.
DO NOT expose generator to excessive moisture,
dust, or dirt.

DO NOT allow any material to block the cooling slots.
If connected devices overheat, turn them off and
disconnect them from the generator.
DO NOT use the generator if:
Electrical output is lost
Equipment sparks, smokes or emits flames
Equipment vibrates excessively

__________________
__________________________________________________ ______________
Answers based on the National Electric Code. Always check local amendments.


k_buz is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.