Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10-29-2012, 05:46 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 15
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Generator info


I am looking about getting a new floor grinder for our company.
We are looking at the onfloor 20" the specs are
Motor 5HP, 208-230V, 1PH Current 22 Amps Speed 3450 RPM
Power Cord 50 ft. 12/3 Wire Grounded w/20 AMP Twist Lock Plug

We have for work two generator's one is a Yamaha EF4500iSE 4500 Watt Inverter Generator
Specs are Maximum AC Output 4500 Watts Rated AC Output 4000 Watts
Rated AC Current / Max AC Current 33.3/37.5 amps @ 120V
It also has a 30 amp plug on it.

The outher generator is a Multiquip GA97HE
Specs are
Watts 9700 W 8400 W
Amps at 120V 80.8 A 70 A
Amps at 240V 40.4 A 35 A
Receptacles & Circuit Breakers Main Circuit Breaker 35 A
Number of Poles 2
1 Receptacle of Each: 5-20R 125V GFCI 20A
L5-20R 125V T-Lock 20A
L5-30R 125V T-Lock 30A
L14-30R 125/250V T-Lock 30A

Will one of these generator's run this floor grinder or should I look for a diff grinder.
And if the Multiquip GA97HE runs it what plug do I use on the generator it has a 240v plug and a 120/240v plug.

Thanks Ron.

Epoxyman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2012, 05:55 PM   #2
Master Electrician
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Indiana
Posts: 2,951
Rewards Points: 2,158
Default

Generator info


The larger unit might run the grinder. From your description you will need an adapter to plug the grinder twist-lock into and then into the the generator.(a short cord with different twist-locks on each end, a male tl to plug the grinder cord into and a female 14-30P to plug into the generator) What is the NEMA # of the twist lock on the grinder cord?


Last edited by brric; 10-29-2012 at 06:00 PM.
brric is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to brric For This Useful Post:
Epoxyman (10-29-2012)
Old 10-29-2012, 06:02 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 15
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Generator info


Quote:
Originally Posted by brric View Post
The larger unit might run the grinder. From your description you will need an adapter to plug the grinder twist-lock into and then into the the generator.(a short cord with different twist-locks on each end, a male tl to plug the grinder cord into and a fem14-30 to plug into the generator) What is the NEMA # of the twist lock on the grinder cord?

Thanks for the fast reply.
The twist lock plug I do not know the NEMA # info.

But here is a link to the grinder I am looking at maybe that will help.
http://onfloor.com/index.php/product...r-20-25-1.html
Epoxyman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2012, 06:27 PM   #4
Master Electrician
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Indiana
Posts: 2,951
Rewards Points: 2,158
Default

Generator info


Quote:
Originally Posted by Epoxyman View Post
Thanks for the fast reply.
The twist lock plug I do not know the NEMA # info.

But here is a link to the grinder I am looking at maybe that will help.
http://onfloor.com/index.php/product...r-20-25-1.html
The specs I am reading says that is a 16 amp machine not 22 amps. How many prongs are on the grinder twist-lock? In any event it is a 230 volt machinne and will need to use the 14-30 recep on the generator.
brric is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to brric For This Useful Post:
Epoxyman (10-29-2012)
Old 10-29-2012, 06:32 PM   #5
Semi-Pro Electro-Geek
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Arizona, USA
Posts: 2,559
Rewards Points: 2,014
Default

Generator info


I'd just install an L14-30P on the grinder, since you'll be using it with that generator fairly often. Then make up some adapter cords for use with other commonly available 240V receptacles.
__________________
I am a lawyer, but not your lawyer. And who cares anyways? We're here to talk construction. This is DIY advice, not legal advice.
mpoulton is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to mpoulton For This Useful Post:
Epoxyman (10-29-2012)
Old 10-29-2012, 09:13 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Cairns Australia
Posts: 2,660
Rewards Points: 2,280
Default

Generator info


Is the second genny an invertor ?
Or just a standard genny ?
I would be using the second bigger genny!
Motors require a larger surge of current to get started !
The size of the surge depends on a number of factors.
The older type gennys can handle this better than the invertors !
dmxtothemax is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to dmxtothemax For This Useful Post:
Epoxyman (10-29-2012), mpoulton (10-29-2012)
Old 10-29-2012, 09:19 PM   #7
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 15
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Generator info


Quote:
Originally Posted by dmxtothemax View Post
Is the second genny an invertor ?
Or just a standard genny ?
I would be using the second bigger genny!
Motors require a larger surge of current to get started !
The size of the surge depends on a number of factors.
The older type gennys can handle this better than the invertors !

The 2nd genny is just a std big old generator.

Ron.
Epoxyman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2012, 11:27 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Cairns Australia
Posts: 2,660
Rewards Points: 2,280
Default

Generator info


Then use the second genny !
Thats the best one for your application !

dmxtothemax is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.