Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 02-08-2012, 08:35 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 2
Share |
Default

Generator Hookup


What I am looking to do? I'm looking to hookup a generator to my home in-case of a power outage to run the necessary items. I searched multiple forms and asked around and I'm getting different feedback.

I plan on purchasing a 9375 starting watts with 7500 running watts. It will have 120/240 Volt AC, 30 Amp (L14-30R). I'm going to install an outside receptacle which the generator will plug into, then I going to run a wire from the receptacle to my breaker box and connect that to a 30 Amp breaker. To meet code, I'm going to install an interlock kit system in which you MUST have the main power off in order to throw on the breaker for the generator. It is no more then a 25 foot run from the receptacle box to the breaker box.

My question is, what gauge wire do I need to run? Some sites are saying 10/4 and some are saying 8/4. What do I really need to run?

Once I have the wire ran back to the breaker, I connect the black and red to the breaker. Do the white and green go together to the neural bar?

That is all the questions I have and if you need a picture I can provide. T

Thank You

underk1979 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2012, 09:06 PM   #2
UAW SKILLED TRADES
 
Stubbie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Kansas
Posts: 4,982
Default

Generator Hookup


Quote:
What I am looking to do? I'm looking to hookup a generator to my home in-case of a power outage to run the necessary items. I searched multiple forms and asked around and I'm getting different feedback.
Not surprising at all

Quote:
I plan on purchasing a 9375 starting watts with 7500 running watts. It will have 120/240 Volt AC, 30 Amp (L14-30R). I'm going to install an outside receptacle which the generator will plug into, then I going to run a wire from the receptacle to my breaker box and connect that to a 30 Amp breaker. To meet code, I'm going to install an interlock kit system in which you MUST have the main power off in order to throw on the breaker for the generator. It is no more then a 25 foot run from the receptacle box to the breaker box.

My question is, what gauge wire do I need to run? Some sites are saying 10/4 and some are saying 8/4. What do I really need to run?
10/4 is rated 30 amps, so that's all you need your length of run isn't enough to cause an upsize in the cable awg. Do not use power cord from the power inlet box to the panel. Use house wiring like 10/3 with Grd NM-B (romex).

Quote:
Once I have the wire ran back to the breaker, I connect the black and red to the breaker. Do the white and green go together to the neural bar?
If the panel is the service equipment (place where the first means of disconnect is located for the homes power) then you should see them connected together on the same bar. If there is anything different than that post a picture.

__________________
" One nice thing about the NEC articles ... you have lots of choices"

Stubbie

Last edited by Stubbie; 02-08-2012 at 09:09 PM.
Stubbie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2012, 10:21 PM   #3
Electrical Contractor
 
kbsparky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Delmarva
Posts: 3,368
Default

Generator Hookup


Quote:
Originally Posted by underk1979 View Post
....I'm going to install an outside receptacle which the generator will plug into....
Please do not install an outside receptacle. That would be a Code violation.

You need to install an inlet.
__________________
-KB

Life is uncertain -- eat dessert first!!
kbsparky is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to kbsparky For This Useful Post:
frenchelectrican (02-08-2012)
Old 02-08-2012, 11:44 PM   #4
UAW SKILLED TRADES
 
Stubbie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Kansas
Posts: 4,982
Default

Generator Hookup


Quote:
Originally Posted by kbsparky View Post
Please do not install an outside receptacle. That would be a Code violation.

You need to install an inlet.
Good point ...I just figured he was referencing a power inlet only using the term receptacle.

Anyway one of these

__________________
" One nice thing about the NEC articles ... you have lots of choices"

Stubbie
Stubbie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2012, 03:38 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 2
Default

Generator Hookup


First I would like to say I meant an inlet box, not a receptacle. I guess the wire that I need is really 10 / 3 to go from the inlet box back to my 30 amp breaker?

I'm attaching a photo of my panel because I just want to make sure I get my wires correct. The black and red will go on the 30 amp breaker and then the white and ground will go to the neutral bar?

Is that the correct way of doing it?

My picture is to big to attach, do you have an email address that I could send it to? (Stubbie)
underk1979 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2012, 10:06 AM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 803
Default

Generator Hookup


I figured I'd bump this rather than make a new thread. Is there 10-4 required anywhere for a generator? I thought it would be 10-3 from the inlet back to the breaker, but I see the inlet has 4 prongs.
mikegp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2012, 10:08 AM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 803
Default

Generator Hookup


Also I've heard people say you could use 12 gauge. Is that acceptable?
mikegp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2012, 10:16 AM   #8
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,514
Default

Generator Hookup


You need the 4 conductors to bring the 2 hots, 1 neutral and 1 ground into the panel.

The #12 is not acceptable for 30 amp usage.
__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2012, 10:21 AM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Buffalo NY
Posts: 53
Default

Generator Hookup


...don't forget to split the ground(green) and nuetral (white) at your nuetral bar....they should not go under the same screw!!..your are confused..10/3 with ground is what they are refering to...black/red/white/ground is 10/3..this is what you will need for this app...10 awg is rated at 30 amps...should be orange in color..

Last edited by Bobka; 11-04-2012 at 10:26 AM.
Bobka is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2012, 11:20 AM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 803
Default

Generator Hookup


Ahhh, thanks. I always forget that the ground doesn't count.

Also, do most people have 10 gauge for their drier receptacle? I have 12, but I know people back feed off of that. I'm not going to do that, just curious. The only 10 gauge in my house is for my two ac units.

mikegp is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.