Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 12-10-2012, 09:51 AM   #1

Share |

Generator for DIY Wind Turbine

“I have purchased the Power4Patriots System”. In it they describe the building of a DIY wind turbine. The project calls for an Ametek motor.

I'm not an electrician so I'm hoping someone here can simply tell me the correct Ametek motor and deep cycle batteries to get from Ebay. They have different ratings and all I want to do (at least in this project) is to use the wind turbine to power one 70 Watt high pressure sodium vapor dusk-to-dawn outdoor light.

Thanks
Jim J.

jmjent51 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2012, 11:49 AM   #2

If that "system" or "kit" does not specify each and every part needed in detail along with specific wiring details and warnings about battery overcharging dangers, creation of flammable gasses when charging certain batteries, etc...

Then you are best to buy an already made "off the shelf system".

Billy_Bob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2012, 12:39 PM   #3
JOATMON

Quote:
Originally Posted by jmjent51 View Post
“I have purchased the Power4Patriots System”. In it they describe the building of a DIY wind turbine. The project calls for an Ametek motor.

I'm not an electrician so I'm hoping someone here can simply tell me the correct Ametek motor and deep cycle batteries to get from Ebay. They have different ratings and all I want to do (at least in this project) is to use the wind turbine to power one 70 Watt high pressure sodium vapor dusk-to-dawn outdoor light.

Thanks
Jim J.
In reality....you purchased a scam.

While on the surface, it looks great....there are a lot of 'little' details left out that in the long run will leave you in the dark.

Problem #1....the amount of air close to the ground is drastically lower than the wind up higher....one of the reasons you see comercial windmills so high in the air.