Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11-16-2007, 02:28 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 8
Share |
Default

generator challenge


first of all I'm not an electrical contractor. just a regular guy trying to solve a problem.

I will be doing a project that requires two separate pieces of equipment needing 5ooowatts each. (lights)

each light has a 60 amp bates plug on it

is it possible to power them using this generator
http://www.samsclub.com/shopping/nav...mp;prDeTab=2#A

the generator has
1. a 120V 50amp receptacle (NEMA14-50 female) -separate circuit
2. three twistlock 30amp receptacles (all on seperate 30a circuits)
3. two standard 20a receptacles (on separate 20a circuits)

I am not going to try it without seeking counsel from a qualified electrician, but thought I would ask here first.

QUESTIONS:
- can I use one light on the 50a (converting Bates to Nema14-50 male)
- can I combine two 30a twistlocks from the genee into one Bates60 (with cable externally) to allow for the other 5K. again these are from separate circuits.

I don't claim to understand eletricity. I've been told by some that this will create 240v (bad). ANy other ideas?

thanks!!

Mliney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2007, 05:07 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Oklahoma City
Posts: 71
Default

generator challenge


The posted link does not work.

spebby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2007, 06:23 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 8
Default

generator challenge


http://www.generac.com/Products/Port...src=commercial

15000 watt version


3.2.1 GENERATOR SPECIFICATIONS
MODEL: GPS 15,000
Model #: 004582-2
Rated Max. Power: 15.0 kW
Surge Power: 22.5 kW
Rated AC Voltage: 120/240
Rated Max AC Load
Current @ 240V: 62.5 Amps
Current @ 120V: 125.0 Amps
Rated Frequency 60 Hz @3600 RPM
Phase: Single Phase
Rated DC Voltage 12 Volts
Rated Max DC Load
Current @ 12 Volts 10 Amperes

3.2.2 ENGINE SPECIFICATIONS
Rated Horsepower
@ 3600 RPM 30
Displacement 992cc
Spark Plug Type Champion RC14YC or Equivalent
Spark Plug Gap 0.040 inch or (1.01 mm)
Gasoline Capacity 16 U.S. gallons
Oil Type Summer – SAE 30 or 10W-30 or Synthetic 5W-30 Winter – 5W-30 or Synthetic 5W-20
Oil Capacity w/ Filter Change = 1.7 Qts. w/o Filter Change = 1.4 Qts.
Run Time/Fuel 10 Hours / 1.6 gallons per hour
Consumption-1/2 Load

Last edited by Mliney; 11-16-2007 at 06:26 PM.
Mliney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2007, 06:51 PM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 1
Default

generator challenge


Hi I am totally lost and hope you can tell me how to jump in with a question on generator requirements. I joined minutes ago and have not been able to cyfer this out
whitney.obnien@ns.sympati is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2007, 07:07 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 8
Default

generator challenge


to simplify:
usings 2 5000 watt lights.both powered by the generator hopefully
both lights have bates 60amp male plugs


- can I combine two 30a twistlocks from the generator into one Bates60 (with cable externally) to allow for the other 5K. again these 30amp twistlocks are from separate circuits.
Mliney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2007, 07:11 PM   #6
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,697
Default

generator challenge


A 5000 watt generator is going to supply 5000 watts. You can not run 2 5k watt lights one 1 5 k watt gennerator.
__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2007, 07:18 PM   #7
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 8
Default

generator challenge


it is a 15000 watt generator

it has enough wattage it is just broken up smaller than my usage permits. as opposed to rewiring the generator, I'm asking for alternative solutions like combing amperage with external cables


it has:
1. a 120V 50amp receptacle (NEMA14-50 female) -separate circuit
2. three twistlock 30amp receptacles (all on seperate 30a circuits)
3. two standard 20a receptacles (on separate 20a circuit
Mliney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2007, 07:28 PM   #8
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,697
Default

generator challenge


Are the 30's 120 or 230? Either way you can not combine them to make your 60 amps you need.
I don't think you have any options.
__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2007, 07:33 PM   #9
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 8
Default

generator challenge


one is 120/240v

the other 2 are 120v
Mliney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2007, 07:36 PM   #10
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,697
Default

generator challenge


About the only way I see it being done is to split the other lighting load.
Is this a movie set or stage production?
__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2007, 07:46 PM   #11
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 8
Default

generator challenge


movie set. so portability is important.

someone has suggested that I take out all breakers and have 2 separate legs fed into (through 60amp breakers) some type of distro box. I wouldn't even know where to begin on that one
Mliney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2007, 09:21 AM   #12
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 61
Default

generator challenge


Just a comment on your generator selection. About a year ago we pruchased a 17.5 KW model for use in our business. After about 25 hours we began to have problems with a loss of voltage on one of the 220 legs. Called 1-800-Generac and they referred us to a list of service techs listed on their service site. So far now we have been through four factory authorized service techs, all who have tried to help, but due to some issue between Generac and the parent company Briggs and Stratton the service reps cannot get the information or support they need to repair the generator. The shop that has ours now also has a 15KW that they cannot repair either. The customer service rep at Generac gave us no helpful information and when I requested a supervisor or sales rep I was told there was no one else I could talk to, no other numbers to call, end of the line. So far I am out approx. 3 days work hauling this boat anchor around to different shops, unknown phone hours to service reps, the orginal company of purchase, and Generac, rental hours for another generator, and the cost of the 17.5 generac, with no light at the end of the tunnel. I will not buy another.
scrapiron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2007, 09:29 AM   #13
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 8
Default

generator challenge


yikes

thanks for the info. sorry to hear about your situation

so I need a 15kw generator. if you were me, what would you buy. would you be willing (or anyone else) to make another recomendation

I thought this generac would be a solid deal, considering their name, price etc
Mliney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2007, 04:34 AM   #14
Once fried, twice shy.
 
elkangorito's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Thailand
Posts: 251
Default

generator challenge


Can you please tell us the voltage of each light & what kind of lights they are?

Also, I noticed on the link that you provided to your generator specifications, it mentioned that it has a duty cycle of 10 hours at half load (7.5kW). Since you will be using 10kW, you will only be able to run the generator for a time less than 10 hours - maybe 8 hours. If you run it longer than its rated duty cycle, you may damage the generator & void the warranty.
__________________
Switchboard design engineer & Licensed Electrician (Australia).
elkangorito is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2007, 11:43 AM   #15
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 8
Default

generator challenge


sure can. you all have been so helpful btw. thanks!

2 lights
each are 5000watt with tungsten/incandescent bulbs


I hope to take apart the generator, bypass the circuit breakers and install 2 feeder cables to individual 60amp breakers which will then go to a distribution box.

any advice on how to proceed with this?

Mliney is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.