Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10-22-2012, 11:59 AM   #1
Member
 
Joe F's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Washington, DC
Posts: 273
Rewards Points: 250
Default

Generator back-feed wire


I'm planning to set up a back-feed to my panel from my 4400w portable generator via the twist lock connector. I have an unused 12/3 run from the spot that I'd like to use to position the generator. Is 12/3 large enough to support this usage?

FYI - it will go to an interlocked breaker in the main panel.

__________________
If you don't stand behind our troops, please feel free to stand in front of them.
Joe F is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2012, 12:07 PM   #2
Member
 
Julius793's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: New york
Posts: 1,053
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Generator back-feed wire


Quote:
Originally Posted by Joe F
I'm planning to set up a back-feed to my panel from my 4400w portable generator via the twist lock connector. I have an unused 12/3 run from the spot that I'd like to use to position the generator. Is 12/3 large enough to support this usage?

FYI - it will go to an interlocked breaker in the main panel.
Should be fine, what kind of wire?

__________________
Electricity will kill you if you give it a chance
Julius793 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2012, 12:12 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 90
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Generator back-feed wire


4400 watts at 240 volts pulls 18 amps. 12 guage wire is usually good for 20 amps.
Auger01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2012, 12:13 PM   #4
Member
 
Joe F's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Washington, DC
Posts: 273
Rewards Points: 250
Default

Generator back-feed wire


Quote:
Originally Posted by Julius793 View Post
Should be fine, what kind of wire?
It's direct bury cable. If I remember correctly, it's in conduit. It runs from a sub-panel in my detached garage, back to the main panel in the house.

When I add the interlocked breaker in the main panel, I assume I should use a 40 amp two pole, correct?
__________________
If you don't stand behind our troops, please feel free to stand in front of them.
Joe F is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2012, 12:48 PM   #5
Semi-Pro Electro-Geek
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Arizona, USA
Posts: 2,557
Rewards Points: 2,010
Default

Generator back-feed wire


Quote:
Originally Posted by Joe F View Post
It's direct bury cable. If I remember correctly, it's in conduit. It runs from a sub-panel in my detached garage, back to the main panel in the house.

When I add the interlocked breaker in the main panel, I assume I should use a 40 amp two pole, correct?
A 20A breaker is adequate.
__________________
I am a lawyer, but not your lawyer. And who cares anyways? We're here to talk construction. This is DIY advice, not legal advice.
mpoulton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2012, 01:33 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: IL
Posts: 737
Rewards Points: 618
Default

Generator back-feed wire


Quote:
Originally Posted by Joe F View Post
It's direct bury cable. If I remember correctly, it's in conduit. It runs from a sub-panel in my detached garage, back to the main panel in the house.

When I add the interlocked breaker in the main panel, I assume I should use a 40 amp two pole, correct?
If you are feeding into a sub panel in garage and have the interlock breaker in another panel (the main home panel) how will the interlock work? Aren't they usually a mechanical bar that forces you to shut off the main feeder breaker prior to engaging the feeder break from the generator? It seems your scheme could allow for the possibility of having the generator still feeding while switching back to PoCo power. Smoke to follow shortly after the arcing and banging noises..
curiousB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2012, 02:06 PM   #7
Member
 
Joe F's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Washington, DC
Posts: 273
Rewards Points: 250
Default

Generator back-feed wire


Quote:
Originally Posted by curiousB View Post
If you are feeding into a sub panel in garage and have the interlock breaker in another panel (the main home panel) how will the interlock work? Aren't they usually a mechanical bar that forces you to shut off the main feeder breaker prior to engaging the feeder break from the generator? It seems your scheme could allow for the possibility of having the generator still feeding while switching back to PoCo power. Smoke to follow shortly after the arcing and banging noises..
I hate to say it, but I didn't consider a scenario where someone would energize the circuit at the sub-panel prior to configuring the main panel. I'll just wire straight through and not tie in through the sub-panel. Thanks!

__________________
If you don't stand behind our troops, please feel free to stand in front of them.
Joe F is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
wiring a whirlpool cooktop davidtyson Electrical 8 06-17-2012 01:58 AM
Ceiling fan and wire gauge needs? greentrees Electrical 6 05-01-2012 01:05 AM
Connecting new dishwasher and garbage disposal -- no ground wire in the conduits. arca Electrical 17 03-28-2011 02:06 AM
HVAC three wire motor to six wire motor Leo Caproni HVAC 5 10-18-2010 01:23 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.