Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-17-2009, 06:47 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 8
Share |
Default

generator


weekend ski house needs generator to run well pump, oil furnace, tv, fridge, a few lights.

what size generator in watts?

is it a big deal for an electrician or novice to tie house into generator?

TStan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2009, 07:02 AM   #2
Electrical Contractor
 
wirenut1110's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Chester, VA.
Posts: 1,046
Send a message via AIM to wirenut1110
Default

generator


Are you talking portable or automatic stand-by?
No big deal to install for an experienced electrician. For a novice, yes. You must use some type of transfer switch and there's several options for this.


Last edited by wirenut1110; 01-17-2009 at 07:06 AM.
wirenut1110 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2009, 11:40 AM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 8
Default

generator


a portable gasoline type. What watts? Horsepower?
TStan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2009, 11:56 AM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 3,503
Default

generator


Quote:
Originally Posted by TStan View Post
a portable gasoline type. What watts? Horsepower?
Add up the total watts of the equipment you want to use and use this figure to purchase the generator. This is really not the best way.
You can also Google (generators + size) and you can get a idea what each appliance pulls. Also you can use the calculator to get a recommended size.
All this is available on the web.
J. V. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2009, 11:58 AM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 3,503
Default

generator


http://www.gillettegenerators.com/sizing/sizing02.html
J. V. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2009, 12:16 PM   #6
Idiot Emeritus
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Fernley, Nevada (near Reno)
Posts: 1,583
Default

generator


When sizing generators, several factors come in to play.

1) Total continuous load. Add the lights, TV, fridge, etc. all together. If you don't know the wattage of appliances, figure 800 watts for the fridge, 1000 for the furnace, 200 for a TV, and lights as the bulb wattage. Figure 1000 watts per HP for the well pump. Use 1.5 times this total.

2) Starting surge: Generally speaking, figure the motor HP X 3 = the KW rating needed to start it. For example, a 2 HP motor will need a 6000 watt (6KW) generator to start it, but only 2000 watts to run it. This starting surge must be added to any continuous load expected to be in use when the pump starts. A fridge takes about 2000 watts to start.

Use the larger of these two figures. Since several things will be on at the same time, oversize the generator a bit.

When the well pump or furnace starts, expect the lights to get VERY dim for a second or so.

If you are willing to manually control larger loads (like the well pump, fridge, and furnace), you can get by with a much smaller generator.

If this is a generator-only system, simply wire the generator to the panel. If there is utility power present, a transfer switch is needed. Be very careful to install the transfer switch properly, and if possible, get it inspected by the local building department. If the generator back-feeds into the power line, and a lineman is injured or killed by a non-code installation, you'll be held completely liable. A singed-off inspection by the local building department pretty much absolves you of any responsibility if anything bad happens.

Rob

micromind is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Feeding multiple generator subpanels from a single generator toddbu Electrical 1 12-30-2008 09:53 PM
Generator and Neutral Bonding Issue bradeng Electrical 6 12-09-2008 10:24 AM
Installing new (service?) breaker panel and generator panel Nhrafan Electrical 6 04-01-2008 03:03 PM
Feeding multiple subpanels with a single generator monsoon Electrical 8 10-02-2007 04:25 PM
Running a generator for power outages tropic home Electrical 5 12-04-2006 08:22 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.