Forums | Home Repair | Home Improvement | Painting | Interior Decorating | Remodeling | Landscaping


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11-20-2011, 07:02 AM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 53
Share |
Default

General circuit and amps


Hey:

I have two questions. We have a 15 amp general circuit in the cellar that I wanted to add a small (.9 amp) freezer to. There are 10 < 60 watt lights and a small refrigerator on the circuit.

1.) Any guess on the amperage for an old, 12.2 cu ft Admiral fridge? Can't find it listed anywhere.

2.) What amperage can I go up to on a 15 amp general circuit? I get confused which are for 50%, 80% and 100% of rating.

Thank you.
whatrymes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2011, 07:30 AM   #2
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 12,943
Default

General circuit and amps


Run a new circuit for the freezer. Keep the lighting on its own circuit. And, you will be fine with a 15 amp for the freezer, but personally, I would make it a 20 amp circuit with 12/2 romex ran, if your area allows for romex to be used.
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
: Now listen, Cadet. I've got a job for you. See this button?
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
: Don't touch it! It's the History Eraser button, you fool!
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
: So what'll happen?
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
: That's just it. We don't know. Maybe something bad, maybe something good. I guess we'll never know, 'cause you're going to guard it. You won't touch it, will you?
gregzoll is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2011, 07:38 AM   #3
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,067
Default

General circuit and amps


Look or or near the door for the nameplate data on the old refrigerator. I suspect around 12 amps or so.

I would run a new circuit for the old refrigerator if the freezer is only an amp.
__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2011, 07:45 AM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 53
Default

General circuit and amps


Quote:
Originally Posted by gregzoll View Post
Run a new circuit for the freezer. Keep the lighting on its own circuit. And, you will be fine with a 15 amp for the freezer, but personally, I would make it a 20 amp circuit with 12/2 romex ran, if your area allows for romex to be used.
For a 0.9 amp freezer??
whatrymes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2011, 07:46 AM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 53
Default

General circuit and amps


Quote:
Originally Posted by Jim Port View Post
Look or or near the door for the nameplate data on the old refrigerator. I suspect around 12 amps or so.

I would run a new circuit for the old refrigerator if the freezer is only an amp.
I looked all over the fridge, can't find the plate??
whatrymes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2011, 07:53 AM   #6
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,067
Default

General circuit and amps


You may need to look near the grill near the floor. It may be behind it.
__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2011, 12:51 PM   #7
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 12,943
Default

General circuit and amps


Quote:
Originally Posted by whatrymes View Post
I looked all over the fridge, can't find the plate??
If the space is unfinished, you need to use a gfci protected outlet. That means I would stay off of the lighting, due to you do not want the fridge tripping the lighting circuit, even if it was not gfci protected. It is just common sense. Also, the reason for the dedicated circuit, is that it is there to allow you to use for other stuff, not just the freezer (ie shop vac, tools, vacuum, etc.)

I ran a dedicated 15 amp for our bar fridge and upright freezer, because as I stated before, it just made better sense to do so, than run off of a lighting circuit, which you want to do.
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
: Now listen, Cadet. I've got a job for you. See this button?
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
: Don't touch it! It's the History Eraser button, you fool!
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
: So what'll happen?
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
: That's just it. We don't know. Maybe something bad, maybe something good. I guess we'll never know, 'cause you're going to guard it. You won't touch it, will you?
gregzoll is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tripping breakers,neutrals,120 volts and 240 volts OH My!!! Stubbie Electrical 17 06-11-2011 06:09 AM
how to figure amps on a circuit? bcbud3 Electrical 5 01-22-2010 12:11 PM
Change circuit breaker amps for downgrade? katzdad HVAC 2 11-05-2009 04:37 AM
What is the meaning of KA(kilo amps) of a miniature circuit breaker? wkyong Electrical 2 09-12-2008 12:39 AM
Max amps allowed - electrician advice needed Des Electrical 27 06-05-2008 10:31 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.