Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 05-15-2013, 10:59 AM   #16
Electrical Contractor
 
Philly Master's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: SE PA
Posts: 1,137
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Generac (Siemens) main breaker swap


yes by code there are 3 ways to do it ...Generator calcs ...

Standard calculation

Option Calculation

or 1 year of electric bills

I did not read up on the 11kw yet but the new 20 kw uses more fuel now ...

we put a 14kw at a 4000 square foot house ... he had solar panels and because of that he had 1 years worth of DAILY electrical loads ...only time it hit 14kw was when the electric car was plugged in ... I was suprized and amazed

__________________
Philadelphia Master Electrician-Generac Dealer
Philly Master is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2013, 11:19 AM   #17
Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 59
Rewards Points: 81
Default

Generac (Siemens) main breaker swap


Quote:
Originally Posted by Philly Master View Post
yes by code there are 3 ways to do it ...Generator calcs ...

Standard calculation

Option Calculation

or 1 year of electric bills...
I would be skeptical of using kilowatt hours for the load calculation. The generator only knows kilowatts. You could have low loads that run a lot or big loads that don't run as often. One works with the generator, the other doesn't. My EvviR monitor and Meniscus.co.uk is the only comination I know of that graphs every 10 second watt reading and lets you look at a live hour at a time and graph 24 hours in a printable form for free. Most monitors concentrate on kwh for cost analysis, rather than kw for evaluating loads for a generator.
patmurphey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2013, 11:33 AM   #18
Electrical Contractor
 
Philly Master's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: SE PA
Posts: 1,137
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Generac (Siemens) main breaker swap


Quote:
Originally Posted by patmurphey View Post
I would be skeptical of using kilowatt hours for the load calculation. The generator only knows kilowatts. You could have low loads that run a lot or big loads that don't run as often. One works with the generator, the other doesn't. My EvviR monitor and Meniscus.co.uk is the only comination I know of that graphs every 10 second watt reading and lets you look at a live hour at a time and graph 24 hours in a printable form for free. Most monitors concentrate on kwh for cost analysis, rather than kw for evaluating loads for a generator.
the gen is concerned with peak ...and the paperwork i saw was hourly ...that is 365 day x 24 hours ...take out the electric car charger .. and nothing over 10 kw ...

__________________
Philadelphia Master Electrician-Generac Dealer
Philly Master is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Are lug's code compliant on this DIY 175A breaker panel? Needed for 10KW PV system superduper Electrical 23 09-09-2012 01:13 PM
main breaker tripping larsalan Electrical 12 07-17-2012 03:27 PM
Lost Main breaker twice - How can I tell if I have a defective breaker? Ron Haakenson Electrical 4 05-10-2012 01:19 AM
Main Service Panel to 2 breaker panels - I can imagine you all rolling your eyes kalus Electrical 22 03-23-2012 03:09 AM
Murray main lug center - what type of tandem breaker? cl or ncl? plove79 Electrical 4 09-01-2010 09:08 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.