GE Smart Timer In A 3 Way Switch - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-26-2010, 09:17 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default

GE Smart Timer in a 3 way switch


I bought a ge smart timer at Home Depot - and even though the package says it is single pole, the HD guy said it can be used in a 3 way circuit. I've tried and can't seem to get the right wire combination.
The smart switch has white, red, black and green wires.
My current switch box with the 3 way has a bunch of white commons tied together. The current 3 way has white, red and black wires. The lights are between the two 3 way switches. the second 3 way switch only has the white, red and black wires - no commons.
I understand the smart switch white goes to the bundle of commons and the green goes to ground.
My problem is I'm not sure how to connect the smart switch red and black to the remaining red, white and black currently connected to the existing 3 way switch.
HELP!!

Advertisement

vanisle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2010, 10:33 PM   #2
nap
You talking to me?
 
nap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: sw mi
Posts: 5,407
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

GE Smart Timer in a 3 way switch


do you have a model number?

Advertisement

nap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2010, 10:58 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default

GE Smart Timer in a 3 way switch


15266
vanisle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2010, 11:42 PM   #4
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

GE Smart Timer in a 3 way switch


I did look for that model number and it is not comming up on the listing of the GE timers.

Can you tell me where you got this switch from I may able shake a little.

Merci,
Marc
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2010, 11:45 PM   #5
nap
You talking to me?
 
nap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: sw mi
Posts: 5,407
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

GE Smart Timer in a 3 way switch


here it is listed at Home Depot (of Canada). I couldn't find any literature on it though.

http://www.homedepot.ca/webapp/wcs/s...k=P_PartNumber
nap is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to nap For This Useful Post:
frenchelectrican (10-26-2010)
Old 10-26-2010, 11:48 PM   #6
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

GE Smart Timer in a 3 way switch


I will go thru GE cananda divison to see what I can come up that expain why the 15266 did not show up in USA listing { it show none in European side }

Merci.
Marc
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2010, 12:09 AM   #7
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

GE Smart Timer in a 3 way switch


Nap the funny thing just little earier I got one person done with GE smart timer not too long ago in this fourm but that OP have timer * 15086 which it is a USA verison and unforeteally there is no three way format on this setting.

Merci.
Marc
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2010, 01:06 AM   #8
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default

GE Smart Timer in a 3 way switch


I did buy the switch at a Canadian Home Depot. The package does say that it is single pole, but the HD guy said there was a way to wire it into a 3 way switch. He just couldn't explain to me how to do it. I will return it if it can't be done.
I gather Intermatic makes a timer switch that will work in a 3 way setting. I'll have to find a retailer.
vanisle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2010, 01:34 AM   #9
nap
You talking to me?
 
nap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: sw mi
Posts: 5,407
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

GE Smart Timer in a 3 way switch


are there any installation instructions? is there any way to copy them so you can post them? (and please translate any Canadian language directions to American if you would)








Yes, that last line is a joke.

Advertisement

nap is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wiring GE Smart Digital Timer to 3 way switch. Wing Electrical 16 08-26-2010 07:22 PM
fan timer on a switch loop someguy86 Electrical 3 08-02-2010 09:05 PM
How to install a Smart Digital Timer GE Spot Electrical 4 07-13-2010 08:52 PM
single gang single pole switch on fan fabian Electrical 14 03-05-2009 02:11 AM
Timer switch...any ideas how it works? mcvane Electrical 5 09-28-2008 07:32 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts