Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-31-2011, 12:47 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 0
Share |
Default

ge Smart Digital Timer


I tried to install the Timer yesterday to control my front porch light. It will only contiually flash on and off. I think I may have reversed to the black to black and the black to red wires. Any thoughts before I go back in.

davsam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2011, 01:01 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Albany, GA
Posts: 295
Rewards Points: 0
Default

ge Smart Digital Timer


Quote:
Originally Posted by davsam View Post
I tried to install the Timer yesterday to control my front porch light. It will only contiually flash on and off. I think I may have reversed to the black to black and the black to red wires. Any thoughts before I go back in.

This usually means that your neutral is not correctly wired to the switch. Unlike a single-pole switch, most digital timers require a neutral. You should have four connections on the timer:
  • hot lead (connect to incoming hot lead from the circuit breaker)
  • load lead (connect to outgoing hot lead to the light fixture)
  • neutral lead (connect to the neutral lead from the main panel and to the neutral lead from the light fixture)
  • ground lead (connect to the ground conductor from the main panel and to the light fixture).
It is possible that your original switch was on a switch loop and there is not a neutral conductor in the device box; if this is the case, you will need to pull a neutral conductor into the device box to make the digital timer work properly.

clashley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2011, 03:28 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 0
Default

ge Smart Digital Timer


The smart switch is one of four switches in the box. Do I need to match the neutral wire with the actual switch, or will any one of the four wires work off of the bundle?
davsam is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
GE Smart Digital Timer Trevis Electrical 21 09-08-2011 10:17 PM
GE Digital Smart Timer chinook Electrical 1 01-06-2011 07:48 PM
GE Smart Digital Timer Flashes Hawkus1939 Appliances 4 12-22-2010 11:17 AM
GE Smart Digital Timer Will Not Work Manually dgbarar Electrical 3 10-31-2010 08:15 PM
Wiring GE Smart Digital Timer to 3 way switch. Wing Electrical 16 08-26-2010 06:22 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.