GE Smart Digital Timer - Electrical - Page 2 - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-06-2011, 01:41 AM   #16
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default

GE Smart Digital Timer


jbfan, what is the solution to Chinook's question? I have the same question. thanks.

Advertisement

Gundish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2011, 08:33 AM   #17
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 10
Default

GE Smart Digital Timer


jbfan properly pointed out "If you only have one of each color in the switch box, you have a switch leg and can not use this timer. This timer requires a neutral to work" which is the correct solution.
What I need was the Intermatic ST01C model. For some reason I couldn't find one locally, so I researched online and found the best prices at WestsideWholesale.com - $29. Goodluck.
chinook
chinook is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2011, 03:12 PM   #18
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default

GE Smart Digital Timer


Thanks Chinook and JBFan for the wiring advice. Don't know why the instructions can't do the same.
Gundish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2011, 06:36 PM   #19
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10
Default

GE Smart Digital Timer


I have the same timer as the original poster asked about, same wires, same instructions. My switch is not a three way, but it's in a triple box with two 3 way switches. I have a bundle of white wires - how will I know which two white wires are the appropriate ones for the main and load neutrals? While I'm at it - how will I know which are the main and load hots? I'm going to try to include a picture of my box, the timer will go on the left
Attached Images
 
Homerenodad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2011, 04:01 PM   #20
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10
Default

GE Smart Digital Timer


Would a different angle picture help?
Homerenodad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2011, 11:05 PM   #21
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 10
Default

GE Smart Digital Timer


hello
to connect the timer you will need to check which wire has power, by using a tester or pick tail connect one side of the tester to the ground or the box if it's metal. the one with power connect to the black wire of the timer the second wire of the switch connect to the red wire of the timer the ground wire connect to the green wire if you don't have a ground wire jus cap the green wire, then look for two white wires connected inside the box if you have the white wires connect the white wire of the timer to the two wires. if you don't have white wires in the box you can make it work but it' not so legal connect the white wire with the ground it should work
bsirota is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2011, 11:17 PM   #22
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 10
Default

GE Smart Digital Timer


Quote:
Originally Posted by Homerenodad View Post
I have the same timer as the original poster asked about, same wires, same instructions. My switch is not a three way, but it's in a triple box with two 3 way switches. I have a bundle of white wires - how will I know which two white wires are the appropriate ones for the main and load neutrals? While I'm at it - how will I know which are the main and load hots? I'm going to try to include a picture of my box, the timer will go on the left
hello homerenodad
that boundle of white wires with the red wire nut should be your neutral, connect the white timer wire to that white bundle. then use a tester or picktail 1 side to the metal box and the other side to 1 of the wire of the switch when light of thester works that means that this is the power and connect that wire to the black timer wire and the 2nd wire from the switch connect to the red wire of the timer the green wire connect to the box with a screw if possible it should work

Advertisement

bsirota is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wiring GE Smart Digital Timer to 3 way switch. Wing Electrical 16 08-26-2010 07:22 PM
Intermatic Digital In-Wall Timer ST01C themayor Electrical 9 03-02-2009 06:14 PM
Help with digital timer wiring longman Electrical 7 12-06-2008 12:22 PM
Digital timer problems bazzer Electrical 4 11-20-2006 06:44 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts