Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 02-02-2008, 07:11 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default

GE SlimLine Duplex Breaker?


Does GE (any GE compatible Mfr) make a 20/20A single pole SlimLine
(1/2" frame) duplex (piggy back) breaker? (A one inch frame 20/20
will not work.) Will like to avoid another sub panel for just two 20A
circuits.
Thanks

mtflis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2008, 07:52 PM   #2
UAW SKILLED TRADES
 
Stubbie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Kansas
Posts: 5,039
Rewards Points: 2,048
Default

GE SlimLine Duplex Breaker?


GE makes THQP 1/2 size breakers instead of the full size tandem single poles that other manufacturers commonly use. The panel busstabs will have a small tab on both sides of the bus stab at 90 degrees to it for the breakers to clip to. SEE below a 1/2" THQP


Stubbie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2008, 08:12 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default

GE SlimLine Duplex Breaker?


uh? Yes...am using all 1/2" THQP's where ever possible already, thus the need - if indeed GE or anyone makes one - for a: 1/2" wide, single pole (one stab), duplex 20/20 breaker. i.e., Breaker 1/2" wide, single stab, two (inline)throws, two lugs - 'piggy backed'. I used to see similar breakers in industrial application: inline/tandem/stacked.
Thanks
mtflis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2008, 08:20 PM   #4
UAW SKILLED TRADES
 
Stubbie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Kansas
Posts: 5,039
Rewards Points: 2,048
Default

GE SlimLine Duplex Breaker?


GE does not make 1/2" tandem or piggy back or dual whatever you want to call it
Stubbie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2008, 08:27 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default

GE SlimLine Duplex Breaker?


I have not found one...thus the reason for my post.
Thanks
mtflis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2008, 04:22 PM   #6
fixitall
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10
Send a message via MSN to ebland0724
Default

GE SlimLine Duplex Breaker?


I too am looking for a 20A/20A GE SlimLine (1/2") piggy back type breaker. Have we confirmed that GE does not make one? Does anyone else who's breaker will fit?
ebland0724 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2008, 05:56 PM   #7
UAW SKILLED TRADES
 
Stubbie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Kansas
Posts: 5,039
Rewards Points: 2,048
Default

GE SlimLine Duplex Breaker?


You use two 1/2" THQP's in a one inch space this is the same as the tandem breakers of other manufacturers. There isn't a 1/2" tandem made by GE.

Last edited by Stubbie; 04-21-2008 at 05:58 PM.
Stubbie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2008, 03:44 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 561
Rewards Points: 500
Default

GE SlimLine Duplex Breaker?


Quote:
Originally Posted by ebland0724 View Post
I too am looking for a 20A/20A GE SlimLine (1/2") piggy back type breaker. Have we confirmed that GE does not make one? Does anyone else who's breaker will fit?
What you 2 are looking to do is end up with 2 breakers in a 1/2" slot, and that isn't going to happen. No such animal exists.

Gentlemen, you've added your last circuit. Time for a sub or a bigger main panel!
LawnGuyLandSparky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2008, 03:48 PM   #9
UAW SKILLED TRADES
 
Stubbie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Kansas
Posts: 5,039
Rewards Points: 2,048
Default

GE SlimLine Duplex Breaker?


Lawnguy

That is saying it about as simple as one can get. I tried but just couldn't find the right words....
Stubbie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2008, 09:03 AM   #10
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10
Question

GE SlimLine Duplex Breaker?


I am having a similar problem, but don't think I am trying to put 20 lbs of potatoes in a 10 lbs sack.

I want to put two single pole circuits in a 1" slot (not 1/2"). I cannot seem to use two 1/2" breakers. My load center has the small (vertical tab either above or below the main busstab, but not both. Thus I can put in a 1/2" breaker, but not two in the same 1" slot. (So it doesn't do me any good) That is why I was looking for a tandem duplex 1" breaker that would use the main busstab. I gather from the previous posts any my searching that there is no such breaker from GE. Any other ideas? Other manufacturers of compatible breakers? Are the busstabs individually replacable?

Thanks
DIY DAVE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2008, 09:43 AM   #11
My License Ain't 4 Sale..
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Atlanta, Ga/Hamilton, Al
Posts: 1,813
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

GE SlimLine Duplex Breaker?


Quote:
Originally Posted by DIY DAVE View Post
I am having a similar problem, but don't think I am trying to put 20 lbs of potatoes in a 10 lbs sack.

I want to put two single pole circuits in a 1" slot (not 1/2"). I cannot seem to use two 1/2" breakers. My load center has the small (vertical tab either above or below the main busstab, but not both. Thus I can put in a 1/2" breaker, but not two in the same 1" slot. (So it doesn't do me any good) That is why I was looking for a tandem duplex 1" breaker that would use the main busstab. I gather from the previous posts any my searching that there is no such breaker from GE. Any other ideas? Other manufacturers of compatible breakers? Are the busstabs individually replacable?

Thanks
Maybe you should come up with a different plan? I know that Square D makes tandem breakers in the Homeline series that would fit your panel, but it is not UL listed to be used in that panel.
InPhase277 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2008, 12:33 PM   #12
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10
Default

GE SlimLine Duplex Breaker?


It looks like I am in for a stroll down sub-panel street.

I'd seen the same thing with Cutler-Hammer. There are panels that are UL listed for both the GE and C-H breakers, but not mine.
DIY DAVE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2008, 09:00 AM   #13
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 95
Rewards Points: 75
Default

GE SlimLine Duplex Breaker?


will these 1/2" THQP breakers work in all GE panels? I was bummed to find out that GE didn't make piggy-backs, but these 1/2" breakers could solve my problem! I was not looking forward to getting a sub-panel or new box upgrade for a few extra circuits. Sorry I don't know the specific GE panel I have off the top of my head, but it's a 100A, 20 slot panel.

Thanks in advance!
red86yota is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2008, 10:39 AM   #14
DIYer
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Virginia
Posts: 910
Rewards Points: 500
Default

GE SlimLine Duplex Breaker?


Wow this thread just won't die. Moderator, you might consider closing it so that people landing here from google will start a new thread instead.

red86 the answer to your question is no, not every panel allows it, and even in the ones that do, not every slot may allow it. A 20 slot panel is, however, likely to allow it on at least some positions.
Gigs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2008, 11:01 AM   #15
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 40
Rewards Points: 25
Default

GE SlimLine Duplex Breaker?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Gigs View Post
red86 the answer to your question is no, not every panel allows it, and even in the ones that do, not every slot may allow it. A 20 slot panel is, however, likely to allow it on at least some positions.
Correct, not every slot allows for it. If you go to the other extreme of your panel you may find that the slot will accept (2) 1/2" breakers. for example, the panel has 20 slots and 10 are able to accept 2 circuits. Those 10 may be at the top or bottom of the panel. if you original designed location was at the top of the panel, then look near the bottom of the panel to see if it fits.

joey b is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Circuit breaker panel - Advice needed justtired Electrical 15 12-13-2007 05:55 AM
20 Amp Breaker tripping with GFCI panhandlion Electrical 7 12-12-2007 08:59 PM
Problem with circuit breaker. HELP! spartanic Electrical 2 10-28-2007 03:09 PM
Outdoor breaker panel questions lhoney2 Electrical 12 07-19-2007 05:44 PM
Breaker Buzz SkipI Electrical 2 07-13-2007 07:48 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.