GE Fuse Panel. Good? - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-18-2012, 03:50 PM   #1
Getting There
 
MecGen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Montreal Canada
Posts: 44
Rewards Points: 25
Default

GE Fuse panel. Good?


Hello

I had an licensed Electrician come to my house today to give an estimate on a replacement fuse panel job. He told me that he has a GE in stock (200 amp). During the conversation the comment came up that it was a panel ordered for a customer three years ago (brand new in box), and the job didn't pan out and he could give it to me at a good price. After he left I got to thinking ,"why didn't he sell it before to someone else?" I will be asking him in a couple days when he calls back with a final price. He comes with references, he calculated my max usage, answered all my questions and the job is with full permits and the UC hydro involvement, no cut corners.

So my question is...is there something I need to know about GE service panels from three years ago? Are they good? Are breakers still available? These are all questions I will ask him personally, but just wanted to throw this out here to see if there are any warnings. Google didn't help. I trust him, its just I have had bad experiences with contractors in the past and I am one that never seems to find a "deal".

Thanks in advance

Advertisement

MecGen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2012, 03:53 PM   #2
Member
 
Julius793's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: New york
Posts: 1,053
Rewards Points: 500
Default

GE Fuse panel. Good?


Quote:
Originally Posted by MecGen
So my question is...is there something I need to know about GE service panels from three years ago? Are they good? Are breakers still available? These are all questions I will ask him personally, but just wanted to throw this out here to see if there are any warnings. Google didn't help. I trust him, its just I have had bad experiences with contractors in the past and I am one that never seems to find a "deal".

Thanks in advance
I like GE panels but something doesn't sound right.

Advertisement

__________________
Electricity will kill you if you give it a chance
Julius793 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2012, 03:55 PM   #3
retired elect/hvac/plumb
 
plummen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: south east of omaha/The island of misfit contractors
Posts: 2,916
Rewards Points: 2,010
Default

GE Fuse panel. Good?


Just say no to GE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! :w histling2:
plummen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2012, 04:07 PM   #4
Getting There
 
MecGen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Montreal Canada
Posts: 44
Rewards Points: 25
Default

GE Fuse panel. Good?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Julius793 View Post
I like GE panels but something doesn't sound right.
I know, maybe its just a sales pitch, after all I haven't got the deal price yet and everything is with permits

Regards
MecGen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2012, 04:32 PM   #5
retired elect/hvac/plumb
 
plummen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: south east of omaha/The island of misfit contractors
Posts: 2,916
Rewards Points: 2,010
Default

GE Fuse panel. Good?


GE/Generally Exempt from any quality control in my personal experiance
plummen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2012, 04:43 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 51
Rewards Points: 75
Default

GE Fuse panel. Good?


i have a ge 200 panel installed in fall of 2008, 3.5 years ago, no problems. been working on it/adding circuits , as the house has been progressing
mazey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2012, 05:04 PM   #7
Love for Construction
 
<*(((><'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Idaho
Posts: 318
Rewards Points: 250
Default

GE Fuse panel. Good?


It's not like the panel is that much of the cost equation. Even if you got it 50% off that only saving $60-75 off a $1,000+ job. If you want piece of mind bite the bullet and have him supply a new Square D or Cutler Hammer.
__________________
-luke-
<*(((>< is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2012, 05:12 PM   #8
MarginallyQualified
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Winston-Salem NC
Posts: 3,817
Rewards Points: 2,308
Default

GE Fuse panel. Good?


hope the guy is a better electrician than he is a salesman.
never should have even mentioned the age or any other aspect.
TarheelTerp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2012, 05:14 PM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: NW of D.C.
Posts: 5,990
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

GE Fuse panel. Good?


Quote:
Originally Posted by MecGen View Post
He told me that he has a GE in stock (200 amp). During the conversation the comment came up that it was a panel ordered for a customer three years ago (brand new in box), and the job didn't pan out and he could give it to me at a good price. After he left I got to thinking ,"why didn't he sell it before to someone else?"
I trust him, its just I have had bad experiences with contractors in the past and I am one that never seems to find a "deal".
Transfer your feelings of unease to him by asking him to "swear or affirm" in writing what he told you. In other words, an affidavit.

If he says, "Don't you trust me?" say your request is on advice of counsel and make a note to yourself that he is being manipulative.
Yoyizit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2012, 07:16 PM   #10
Getting There
 
MecGen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Montreal Canada
Posts: 44
Rewards Points: 25
Default

GE Fuse panel. Good?


Thanks Guys
I was more concerned with the GE panel being one of quality, I am sure he won't blink an eye if I ask him for another manufacture.
MecGen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2012, 10:33 PM   #11
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

GE Fuse panel. Good?


Most of the time the GE panels are not a major issue as far as I know.

But only quirk is the twinner or half width breakers that you may want to watch it little closer with it.

( I can reply in French you want to )


Merci,
Marc

Advertisement

__________________
The answer will be based on NEC ( National Electrical code ) or CEC ( Cananda Electrical code ) or ECF ( Electrique Code France )
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Old House Rewire finnimus Electrical 15 05-13-2011 11:39 PM
Subpanel next to Main panel wired the same in 1990 Uncle Wayne Electrical 3 01-20-2011 01:43 AM
60 Amp Federal Fuse Panel Question flatlander745 Electrical 6 06-04-2010 11:38 AM
Garage Wiring issues jimmyfloyd Electrical 20 06-08-2009 03:57 PM
Blown fuse in Control Panel of Carrier Heater jacksup HVAC 3 02-26-2008 06:02 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts