Forums | Home Repair | Home Improvement | Painting | Interior Decorating | Remodeling | Landscaping


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10-26-2010, 08:26 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 3
Share |
Default

GE Digital Timer


Hello, trying to replace an old timer with a new digital timer for an outside post light.

The wiring in the box is old. I have two black wires and 1 green.

One black wire has a solid copper inner.. I assume this to be the hot/live main.

My digital timer has 4 wires.. black, white, red, green. I've connected the black from the timer to the hot main, the red to the other black and the white to the green.

When I press the manaul override on the light the light flashes on then shuts off. I tried reversing the two black wires but nothing came on then.

Help.... Thanks
bthomann is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2010, 10:27 AM   #2
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Default

GE Digital Timer


Can you please post us the timer model number??

So that way we can able help you with this one.

Merci,
Marc
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2010, 03:06 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 3
Default

GE Digital Timer


model # 15086 thanks
bthomann is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2010, 05:29 PM   #4
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Default

GE Digital Timer


I just look at it a second ago and you will need a netural at this switch box location and I doubt that you have netural in there at all.

If you do have white conductor it will be useally in pretty much back of the box itself.

Here the PDF link

http://www.jascoproducts.com/support...Manual-eng.pdf

So you will have to exchange for diffrent timer which it do not need netural at all.

Merci.
Marc
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2010, 06:00 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 3
Default

GE Digital Timer


Thanks for your help!!
bthomann is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Frontier TM-619 Digital Timer connections neildawes Electrical 27 09-04-2013 08:09 AM
GE Smart Digital Timer Trevis Electrical 21 09-08-2011 10:17 PM
In-wall Digital Timer Installation worked Electrical 3 08-02-2010 09:42 AM
Help with digital timer wiring longman Electrical 7 12-06-2008 11:22 AM
Digital timer problems bazzer Electrical 4 11-20-2006 05:44 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.