Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12-10-2012, 04:02 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 2
Share |
Default

GE 15312 Timer installation


I had an Intermatic timer that was controlling 2 post lamps and a regular outlet plug. This is a straight circuit - not 3 way. It did have 2 incandescent bulbs but have converted one to LED. Now I have added LED Christmas lights. The old timer would not turn things on at scheduled time - came on randomly during the day, but did go off as planned.

I assumed this was due to the LEDs, so I went to HD and got the GE 15312 timer, as it said that it would handle LEDs. The installation is giving me fits, though. I installed it, and the timer lights up, and I can set date/time, but cannot us the manual on feature to turn anything on.

The existing wiring must be the issue, but I can't seem to figure it out. The old timer used just two connections. One went to a wire nut with two black wires in it, while the other went to a nut with three white wires in it. I am assuming this is neutral, and attached it to the white wire from the timer. The two black wires seem to be a combination of line and load. I tried both combinations of line/load here, with one I get a light on the display but can't do anything with it. On the other, I can have the switch go from off to on, but nothing turns on. At this point I was able to program date and time into the timer, so it does function, but other than that nothing works.

I would appreciate any suggestions. I am confused by the old installation with no ground, and two wires on one side, and three on the other. Is a ground required, and if so, how do I provide it. Should I be looking for a third black wire.

Thanks in advance.

Jerry

Just installed the old timer to at least get some functionality and noticed that ALL of the existing wires are black. Now even more confused.


Last edited by tbdbitl; 12-10-2012 at 04:24 PM. Reason: Error addition
tbdbitl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2012, 03:40 PM   #2
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 2
Default

GE 15312 Timer installation


Update - I have tried more combinations but still have no success. What isn't helping me is that apparently the circuit going into the box is a 3 way circuit, but the the timer circuit is a single switch. This seems to explain the odd number of wires in the box. The only success that I have had is to be able to control lights that are on 3 way the prior 3 way circuits - nothing on the one I want to control.

Any suggestions would be appreciated. Thanks!

tbdbitl is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
ge 15312 timer led


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
GE Smart Digital Timer Installation SJJane Electrical 4 09-08-2011 12:53 AM
GE Sunsmart Digital Timer Installation dtn311 Electrical 1 08-01-2011 01:16 AM
Wiring Aube T1071 light timer KathyK Electrical 9 12-24-2010 07:04 PM
Help Installing lighting timer switch Katdav Electrical 2 11-27-2010 10:13 AM
Adding a Wireless Sprinkler Timer feature... markharris Landscaping & Lawn Care 1 03-02-2009 01:41 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.