Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 09-25-2012, 06:56 PM   #1
Newbie
 
mysterd429's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: LI, NY
Posts: 29
Rewards Points: 0
Share |
Default

Gas stove on same circuit as lights


Hi all,

When we moved into our house recently, I tried to figure out which receptacles where on which circuits, and I got pretty close to all of them. I found that the (main floor) gas stove is on the same circuit as the basement lights. We had an electrician doing work on that circuit, and he mistakenly crossed "Stove" off of my label. Is it a problem for the gas stove to be on the same circuit the basement lights? The electricity is just used for the clock, timer, and pilot lights.

I know that the stove is still on that circuit, since I shut the power off when I changed which switch controls which lights in the work he did for us after a few months.

Thanks!

mysterd429 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2012, 06:57 PM   #2
Lic Electrical Inspector
 
electures's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Great Police State of New Jersey
Posts: 1,675
Rewards Points: 12
Default

Gas stove on same circuit as lights


Quote:
Originally Posted by mysterd429 View Post
Hi all,

When we moved into our house recently, I tried to figure out which receptacles where on which circuits, and I got pretty close to all of them. I found that the (main floor) gas stove is on the same circuit as the basement lights. We had an electrician doing work on that circuit, and he mistakenly crossed "Stove" off of my label. Is it a problem for the gas stove to be on the same circuit the basement lights? The electricity is just used for the clock, timer, and pilot lights.

I know that the stove is still on that circuit, since I shut the power off when I changed which switch controls which lights in the work he did for us after a few months.

Thanks!
No problem.

__________________
All responses based on the 2011 NEC.
If you live in New Jersey click here. All other states click here.
Please check with local, county and state officials as laws may vary.
Sizing motors here. Online motor calculator here. Online calculators here.
electures is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2012, 09:05 AM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 228
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Gas stove on same circuit as lights


Have the same thing at my house. Except my entire island is on the circuit of the room below it.

I know of lot of licensed electricians give DIY's are hard time, but I know better than this.
herdfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2012, 11:57 AM   #4
Newbie
 
mysterd429's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: LI, NY
Posts: 29
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Gas stove on same circuit as lights


Thanks for your replies. Our house has a lot of one-thing-from-this-room-with-the-rest-from-that-room circuits. We did have an electrician set up a dedicated circuit for our permanent installation air conditioner. Our kitchen has two dedicated circuits besides the stove.
mysterd429 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2012, 12:50 PM   #5
Licensed Electrician
 
jrclen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: central wisconsin
Posts: 982
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Gas stove on same circuit as lights


It is very common to power things in different areas with the same circuit. Only certain circuits are limited to serving specific loads. Small appliance (countertop), bathrooms, and laundry circuits have limitations for instance.

As Electure said, there is no problem with your stove receptacle being on the circuit which feeds the basement lights.
__________________
John
jrclen is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
DIY stove tie-in for movie lights FCharles Electrical 31 06-15-2012 11:28 AM
Dimming lights on one circuit, GFCI breaker tripped boatman537 Electrical 4 06-05-2012 10:43 AM
Wiring in New Addition? sandyman720 Electrical 6 11-27-2011 03:34 PM
Maximum lights on a single circuit sbazzle Electrical 3 02-15-2011 08:43 AM
Adding lights to a circuit.. Pl check circuit aw44 Electrical 4 08-27-2008 02:09 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.