Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10-05-2012, 11:46 AM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 58
Rewards Points: 0
Share |
Default

gas range outlet


Got the fridge outlet done- Now I'm looking at where the new gas range will go- (but the wife hasn't picked one out yet!)- In any event- I was looking at the specs for the more common brands out there and many of them require a 20 amp dedicated outlet. One model tells you "about" where to install the outlet, but since we have yet to pick out the model- is there a good "rule of thumb" as to where to install the outlet in relation to the gas line etc???

skinut2234 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2012, 12:06 PM   #2
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 14,158
Rewards Points: 72
Default

gas range outlet


I run my stove outlet off of the Kitchen baseboard outlet circuit. Same for the fridge. No need to go over kill, unless your AHJ says otherwise on circuit layout.

__________________
Ren: Now listen, Cadet. I've got a job for you. See this button? Ren: Don't touch it! It's the History Eraser button, you fool! Stimpy: So what'll happen? Ren: That's just it. We don't know. Maybe something bad, maybe something good. I guess we'll never know, 'cause you're going to guard it. You won't touch it, will you?
gregzoll is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2012, 02:37 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 11
Rewards Points: 0
Default

gas range outlet


Quote:
Originally Posted by gregzoll View Post
I run my stove outlet off of the Kitchen baseboard outlet circuit. Same for the fridge. No need to go over kill, unless your AHJ says otherwise on circuit layout.
You use a 3rd circuit for the general wall receptacles in a kitchen instead of one of the SABC's?
Trane is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2012, 04:03 PM   #4
Lic Electrical Inspector
 
electures's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Great Police State of New Jersey
Posts: 1,672
Rewards Points: 4
Default

gas range outlet


Quote:
Originally Posted by skinut2234
Got the fridge outlet done- Now I'm looking at where the new gas range will go- (but the wife hasn't picked one out yet!)- In any event- I was looking at the specs for the more common brands out there and many of them require a 20 amp dedicated outlet. One model tells you "about" where to install the outlet, but since we have yet to pick out the model- is there a good "rule of thumb" as to where to install the outlet in relation to the gas line etc???
Center of the space. Hammer handle high. I run all receptacles in the kitchen off the two SABC's.
__________________
All responses based on the 2011 NEC.
If you live in New Jersey click here. All other states click here.
Please check with local, county and state officials as laws may vary.
Sizing motors here. Online motor calculator here. Online calculators here.
electures is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2012, 10:43 PM   #5
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 14,158
Rewards Points: 72
Default

gas range outlet


Quote:
Originally Posted by Trane View Post
You use a 3rd circuit for the general wall receptacles in a kitchen instead of one of the SABC's?
Any circuit that uses a 20 amp breaker in the Kitchen is a SABC. There are 4 20 amp circuits in my Kitchen. 1 that serves the microwave, 1 that serves baseboard outlets, 1 that serves one counter set of outlets, 1 that serves the other counter on the other side of the Kitchen.

If I wanted to, I could have just served on side of kitchen baseboards off of the same circuit that serves the counter on that side, and same for the other side of the Kitchen. Have to love the NEC, since counters & baseboards in Kitchen & Dining, can feed off of the same circuit here in the U.S., but as things go, you always need a extra circuit or two to keep things from tripping breakers. Especially during Football season, when you have a crockpot, microwave, and countertop steam cooker running at the same time.
__________________
Ren: Now listen, Cadet. I've got a job for you. See this button? Ren: Don't touch it! It's the History Eraser button, you fool! Stimpy: So what'll happen? Ren: That's just it. We don't know. Maybe something bad, maybe something good. I guess we'll never know, 'cause you're going to guard it. You won't touch it, will you?
gregzoll is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2012, 07:50 AM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 228
Rewards Points: 0
Default

gas range outlet


20A dedicated circuit for a gas range seems like overkill. In my last two kitchen remodels, I installed a single 20A circuit for the range and over the range microwave. I also located the range receptacle a little higher so you don't have to struggle to get around the range to unplug it for service. Top of box was about 30" off the floor in center of range.

That being said, the manufacturer made a recommendation for a reason - look in the literature and find the total amp draw for the appliance.

__________________
Some advice you receive on the internet can be worth exactly what you paid for it - be careful.
stubborn1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Help rewiring 220V 3-prong outlet to 4-prong grounded outlet madmaxwell Electrical 7 03-23-2012 06:37 AM
Cook Stove Outlet - 3 prong old range vs. 4-prong new range Patricia C. Bai Electrical 2 12-20-2011 02:21 PM
Microwave range outlet box NDWG Electrical 5 07-31-2011 10:04 AM
Converting switched outlet to unswitched.. Blivit Electrical 8 07-11-2011 07:07 AM
Wiring a GFCI Outdoor Outlet from an Inside Outlet - Parallel or Series? Pacal Electrical 28 11-13-2010 03:36 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.