Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 06-18-2012, 01:39 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 1
Rewards Points: 10
Default

gas oven has 3 prong plug, outlet is 4 prong


where can I buy an adapter for my new oven

Lylebillie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2012, 01:42 PM   #2
Electrical Contractor
 
rrolleston's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Granville, NY
Posts: 1,941
Rewards Points: 1,000
Send a message via AIM to rrolleston Send a message via Yahoo to rrolleston
Default

gas oven has 3 prong plug, outlet is 4 prong


Someone posted an adapter that was good for use in canada. But in the US you have to use a kitchen circuit or run a new circuit.

__________________
With Electricity there is the right way to do it and the dead way. Just because it works does not make it safe.
rrolleston is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2012, 01:42 PM   #3
Semi-Pro Electro-Geek
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Arizona, USA
Posts: 2,557
Rewards Points: 2,010
Default

gas oven has 3 prong plug, outlet is 4 prong


Is this JUST a gas oven, or does it have an electric cooktop? Does it have a normal 120V plug, or is it a big 240V 3-prong plug? I assume the receptacle is for an electric range?
mpoulton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2012, 04:46 PM   #4
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 5,132
Rewards Points: 2,056
Default

gas oven has 3 prong plug, outlet is 4 prong


Quote:
Originally Posted by Lylebillie View Post
where can I buy an adapter for my new oven
You can't buy an adapter, you have to replace the cord on your appliance to a 4 wire cord with matching amperage of the receptacle, and separate the neutral/ground connection at the over when you do this.
stickboy1375 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2012, 04:48 PM   #5
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,340
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

gas oven has 3 prong plug, outlet is 4 prong


Gas oven = 120V

4 prong plug = 240V

No adapter, you will need to do some rewiring.
__________________
__________________________________________________ ______________
Answers based on the National Electric Code. Always check local amendments.


k_buz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2012, 04:53 PM   #6
A "Handy Husband"
 
rjniles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Carolina Low Country
Posts: 4,133
Rewards Points: 2,176
Default

gas oven has 3 prong plug, outlet is 4 prong


If the poster is in Canada he can use this:
http://www.homedepot.ca/product/gas-...adaptor/905477



If in the US, you need to rewire.

Another reason for poster to include their location in the profile
__________________
Location:
Coastal South Carolina
rjniles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2012, 04:53 PM   #7
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 5,132
Rewards Points: 2,056
Default

gas oven has 3 prong plug, outlet is 4 prong


Quote:
Originally Posted by k_buz View Post
Gas oven = 120V

4 prong plug = 240V

No adapter, you will need to do some rewiring.
I missed the "gas" part, but this could be a duel fuel?

EDIT.... Ahhh, I love other countries...
stickboy1375 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2012, 01:32 PM   #8
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 24
Rewards Points: 10
Default

gas oven has 3 prong plug, outlet is 4 prong


Just curious why that adapter only works in Canada?

According to this they use the same voltage and outlets as the US:
http://www.adaptelec.com/index.php?m...roducts_id=282

Just wondering because I have an electric range and one day wouldn't mind converting it to gas if it ever goes bad.
cypherx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2012, 01:55 PM   #9
Semi-Pro Electro-Geek
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Arizona, USA
Posts: 2,557
Rewards Points: 2,010
Default

gas oven has 3 prong plug, outlet is 4 prong


Quote:
Originally Posted by cypherx View Post
Just curious why that adapter only works in Canada?

According to this they use the same voltage and outlets as the US:
http://www.adaptelec.com/index.php?m...roducts_id=282

Just wondering because I have an electric range and one day wouldn't mind converting it to gas if it ever goes bad.
It would work fine in the US, but they don't sell them here because they're not UL listed. As I recall, the adapter has a fuse in it so the 120V receptacle is properly protected. I'm not sure why they can't be UL listed - it seems perfectly safe to me.
mpoulton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2012, 04:43 AM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Cairns Australia
Posts: 2,616
Rewards Points: 2,192
Default

gas oven has 3 prong plug, outlet is 4 prong


Quote:
Originally Posted by cypherx View Post
Just curious why that adapter only works in Canada?

According to this they use the same voltage and outlets as the US:
http://www.adaptelec.com/index.php?m...roducts_id=282

Just wondering because I have an electric range and one day wouldn't mind converting it to gas if it ever goes bad.
It probably would work !
But not code compliant.
CODE IS GOD
All bow now !

dmxtothemax is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
4prong dryer receptacle to 3 prong plug (6-15p to 14-30r) ChronPaul Electrical 11 11-26-2011 07:01 PM
Installing a 4 prong dryer plug Amandamayes Appliances 4 07-16-2010 01:17 PM
converting a 4 prong dryer outlet into a 3 prong dntbro1994 Electrical 8 07-02-2010 10:25 PM
confused on a 3 prong 230 plug vinylman70 Electrical 9 02-02-2010 12:06 AM
Avanti Electric Oven - But no Plug ? hongtea Electrical 4 03-16-2008 08:07 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.