Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 09-10-2012, 10:40 AM   #1
Newbie
 
m2234's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 19
Share |
Default

Gas fireplace not playing nice with wired thermostat?


Hi all - I just had a nice Majestic NG fireplace installed, which has electronic ignition & flame height control. I am using this as the sole heat source on my third floor loft, controlled by a hardwired Nest thermostat.

So far, the fireplace works flawlessly when the t-stat sends a signal to turn ON the flame. But a problem arises when the t-stat sends a signal to turn OFF the flame: it does, in fact, turn off. BUT then the "Command Center" module in the fireplace itself flips out, starts flashing a red LED, and continually attempts to relight the flame.

What do I need to change so that the Command Center allows the t-stat to be boss?

Thank you all in advance!!!

Gas fireplace not playing nice with wired thermostat?-image-81081078.jpg
Attached Thumbnails
Gas fireplace not playing nice with wired thermostat?-image-271763286.jpg  


Last edited by m2234; 09-10-2012 at 02:40 PM.
m2234 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2012, 11:44 AM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: MA
Posts: 718
Default

Gas fireplace not playing nice with wired thermostat?


It might just be the NEST. It is listed for 24vac compatibility. You don't specify the exact model but the Echelon with the "System Command" says:

"This fireplace is equipped with the Signature Control valve which operates on 6 volts."

How is the NEST connected? Via the "wall switch" connections? It is a low voltage connection. If so, just try jumping the wires together and then disconnecting them to see what happens.

AandPDan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2012, 11:51 AM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Oregon
Posts: 1,497
Default

Gas fireplace not playing nice with wired thermostat?


Helps if you give a link to the wiring diagram or give the model of your unit!

I did find a pdf which shows a control center like yours and says there can be an optional wall switch. (Found instructions for random model which might not be yours.)

Do your installation instructions say the same thing?

Is the thermostat an on/off 2 wire type thermostat which is not wired to anything else and the two wires are connected to where the optional switch would be wired?

See adobe reader page 37 here...
http://literature.mhsc.com/majestic/...525_DVM_10.pdf

Also if you "had this installed", I would call the company which installed it.
Billy_Bob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2012, 02:34 PM   #4
Newbie
 
m2234's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 19
Default

Gas fireplace not playing nice with wired thermostat?


Quote:
Originally Posted by m2234
hi all - i just had a nice majestic ng fireplace installed, which has electronic ignition & flame height control. I am using this as the sole heat source on my third floor loft, controlled by a hardwired nest thermostat.

So far, the fireplace works flawlessly when the t-stat sends a signal to turn on the flame. But a problem arises when the t-stat sends a signal to turn off the flame: It does, in fact, turn off. But then the "command center" module in the fireplace itself flips out, starts flashing a red led, and continually attempts to relight the flame.

What do i need to change so that the command center allows the t-stat to be boss?

Thank you all in advance!!!


Gas fireplace not playing nice with wired thermostat?-image-3946716018.jpg



Gas fireplace not playing nice with wired thermostat?-image-3252405488.jpg



Gas fireplace not playing nice with wired thermostat?-image-3258334.jpg
m2234 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2012, 02:39 PM   #5
Newbie
 
m2234's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 19
Default

Gas fireplace not playing nice with wired thermostat?


The nest is only controlling the fireplace. It's powered correctly via a 24VAC transformer. Again, the problem seems not to be the Nest, but rather the fireplace itself (Majestic CDVR42NSC7).
m2234 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2012, 02:41 PM   #6
Newbie
 
m2234's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 19
Default

Gas fireplace not playing nice with wired thermostat?


Quote:
Originally Posted by m2234
the nest is only controlling the fireplace. It's powered correctly via a 24vac transformer. Again, the problem seems not to be the nest, but rather the fireplace itself (majestic cdvr42nsc7).


Gas fireplace not playing nice with wired thermostat?-image-1838040386.jpg
m2234 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2012, 05:02 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: MA
Posts: 718
Default

Gas fireplace not playing nice with wired thermostat?


Quote:
Originally Posted by m2234 View Post
The nest is only controlling the fireplace. It's powered correctly via a 24VAC transformer. Again, the problem seems not to be the Nest, but rather the fireplace itself (Majestic CDVR42NSC7).
How do you have the thermostat connected to the fireplace???
AandPDan is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to AandPDan For This Useful Post:
mpoulton (09-10-2012)
Old 09-10-2012, 05:42 PM   #8
Semi-Pro Electro-Geek
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Arizona, USA
Posts: 2,550
Default

Gas fireplace not playing nice with wired thermostat?


Quote:
Originally Posted by m2234 View Post
The nest is only controlling the fireplace. It's powered correctly via a 24VAC transformer. Again, the problem seems not to be the Nest, but rather the fireplace itself (Majestic CDVR42NSC7).
We really don't have enough information to conclude that. Exactly how is this connected? Does the problem occur when you use the wall switch terminals?
mpoulton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2012, 09:31 PM   #9
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 14,126
Default

Gas fireplace not playing nice with wired thermostat?


First off, the NEST is not meant to be used with something like that. So really your best solution is to use the product that was sold with the fireplace, not something meant for Furnaces/air handlers & heat pumps/air conditioners. Quit trying to reinvent the wheel.
__________________
Ren: Now listen, Cadet. I've got a job for you. See this button? Ren: Don't touch it! It's the History Eraser button, you fool! Stimpy: So what'll happen? Ren: That's just it. We don't know. Maybe something bad, maybe something good. I guess we'll never know, 'cause you're going to guard it. You won't touch it, will you?
gregzoll is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2012, 12:19 PM   #10
Newbie
 
m2234's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 19
Default

Gas fireplace not playing nice with wired thermostat?


SOLVED. For anyone interested, the NEST thermostat WILL control a gas fireplace with milivolt OR electronic ignition. Here's how: 24V transformer feeds Nest. Nest feeds a small, $16 SPST relay via 2 wires. Mine is RIB brand. The relay then is connected via two of its wires to the fireplace's two contacts which, when closed, cause the flame to ignite. When the nest then stops calling for heat, the relay opens up the fireplace's two contacts, and the relay turns OFF. This is important, because the fireplace must not receive any of the 24V juice once the flame is off. It's the relay that makes this possible. Hope this helps others :-)))
Attached Thumbnails
Gas fireplace not playing nice with wired thermostat?-image-1318162598.jpg  
m2234 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2012, 10:59 AM   #11
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 1
Default

Gas fireplace not playing nice with wired thermostat?


I have a nest thermostat in my living room where I am looking to install a gas fireplace. So, I have been researching this to see if the nest can control the fireplace. I have found your install here and looks to be working. I just have a couple questions:

1: When using the nest mobile app, or internet app, do you set the temperature higher to turn the flames off, or just turn the nest "off" from within the app?

2: Is there any way to hookup the blower to the thermostat so that operates from the nest as well?

We havent purchased our fireplace yet, but are looking at the Kingsman IDV36 as our model.

mjlevors is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Thermostat issues on old furnace - questions before I replace thermostat. Calab HVAC 11 02-18-2012 08:43 AM
Where should I connect the thermostat ? DIY_user HVAC 2 01-11-2011 12:36 PM
Heat & fan work when wired but not with thermostat. twocities HVAC 1 10-20-2009 09:41 PM
Replacing thermostat...................... sktn77a HVAC 6 09-02-2009 10:07 PM
Thermostat wiring jetmanaz HVAC 1 08-09-2009 07:13 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.