Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10-05-2008, 09:10 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 2,250
Share |
Question

garbage disposal and dishwasher power


this is how i was gonna do it, please let me know your thoughts:

the power outlet for a garbage disposal and a dishwasher needs to have the tab removed because the dishwasher always needs to be hot and the disposal outlet needs to be switch-controlled.

however, is there a way to branch the circuit within the switch box so that the always hot wire somehow goes out of the switch box in addition to the disposal wire (one in, two outs) ? this may be a stupid question. what i was trying to accomplish is avoid a junction box to split the circuit before one branch goes into the switch box to control the disposal and the other straight into the outlet for the dishwasher.

amakarevic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2008, 09:17 PM   #2
Electrician
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Connecticut, Litchfield
Posts: 2,015
Default

garbage disposal and dishwasher power


Quote:
Originally Posted by amakarevic View Post
this is how i was gonna do it, please let me know your thoughts:

the power outlet for a garbage disposal and a dishwasher needs to have the tab removed because the dishwasher always needs to be hot and the disposal outlet needs to be switch-controlled.

however, is there a way to branch the circuit within the switch box so that the always hot wire somehow goes out of the switch box in addition to the disposal wire (one in, two outs) ? this may be a stupid question. what i was trying to accomplish is avoid a junction box to split the circuit before one branch goes into the switch box to control the disposal and the other straight into the outlet for the dishwasher.

run the feed right to the receptacle box and then just a switchleg up to the switch for the disposal.

Name:  210.4(B).jpg
Views: 4180
Size:  51.7 KB

chris75 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2008, 09:36 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 2,250
Question

garbage disposal and dishwasher power


does that mean i should have used a 12/3 cable for the circuit ? i used only 12/2.
amakarevic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2008, 09:41 PM   #4
My License Ain't 4 Sale..
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Atlanta, Ga/Hamilton, Al
Posts: 1,813
Default

garbage disposal and dishwasher power


Quote:
Originally Posted by chris75 View Post
run the feed right to the receptacle box and then just a switchleg up to the switch for the disposal.

Attachment 5288
You know, I wonder, in the case of the pic, since it is a multiwire circuit, and most likely 20 amps, if a 20 A receptacle and switch would be required? We know we can use 15 A devices on 20 A circuits where more than one outlet is present. But a split wired receptacle effectively makes a duplex two single devices. And the switch is operating only one outlet.

Opinions?
InPhase277 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2008, 09:46 PM   #5
My License Ain't 4 Sale..
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Atlanta, Ga/Hamilton, Al
Posts: 1,813
Default

garbage disposal and dishwasher power


Quote:
Originally Posted by amakarevic View Post
does that mean i should have used a 12/3 cable for the circuit ? i used only 12/2.
I believe the code says that as long as neither of your pieces of "utilization equipment fastened in place" exceeds 50% of the branch circuit rating, they can be on the same circuit. So in other words, your 12-2 should be fine. The 12-3 would be used to give each appliance it's own circuit.

Last edited by InPhase277; 10-05-2008 at 09:50 PM.
InPhase277 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2008, 09:51 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 2,250
Question

garbage disposal and dishwasher power


Quote:
Originally Posted by InPhase277 View Post
I believe the code says that as long as neither of your pieces of "utilization equipment fastened in place" exceeds 50% of the branch circuit rating, they can be on the same circuit. So in other words, your 12-2 should be fine. TRhe 12-3 would be used to give each appliance it's own circuit.
but, in my case, while legal, is there a way around having to have a junction box ? in other words, can i still emulate a junction box within the switch box somehow ?

thanks.
amakarevic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2008, 10:54 PM   #7
My License Ain't 4 Sale..
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Atlanta, Ga/Hamilton, Al
Posts: 1,813
Default

garbage disposal and dishwasher power


Quote:
Originally Posted by amakarevic View Post
but, in my case, while legal, is there a way around having to have a junction box ? in other words, can i still emulate a junction box within the switch box somehow ?

thanks.
Yes, if the power comes into your switch, then it needs to leave on 12-3. The black and the red in the 12-3 being constant hot and switched, respectively.
Attached Images
 
InPhase277 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2008, 10:59 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 2,250
Wink

garbage disposal and dishwasher power


Quote:
Originally Posted by InPhase277 View Post
Yes, if the power comes into your switch, then it needs to leave on 12-3. The black and the red in the 12-3 being constant hot and switched, respectively.
thanks, that's exactly what i was looking for
amakarevic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2008, 03:39 PM   #9
Electrician
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Connecticut, Litchfield
Posts: 2,015
Default

garbage disposal and dishwasher power


Quote:
Originally Posted by InPhase277 View Post
You know, I wonder, in the case of the pic, since it is a multiwire circuit, and most likely 20 amps, if a 20 A receptacle and switch would be required? We know we can use 15 A devices on 20 A circuits where more than one outlet is present. But a split wired receptacle effectively makes a duplex two single devices. And the switch is operating only one outlet.

Opinions?
I think I would have to agree with you, its pretty clear what the code says, and I think you would have no choice but to use a 20 amp receptacle... The switch amperage is always based on actual load.
chris75 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2008, 03:41 PM   #10
Electrician
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Connecticut, Litchfield
Posts: 2,015
Default

garbage disposal and dishwasher power


Quote:
Originally Posted by InPhase277 View Post
I believe the code says that as long as neither of your pieces of "utilization equipment fastened in place" exceeds 50% of the branch circuit rating, they can be on the same circuit. So in other words, your 12-2 should be fine. The 12-3 would be used to give each appliance it's own circuit.

Thats correct, but alot of manufactures require a dedicated circuit, so....
chris75 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2008, 05:39 PM   #11
My License Ain't 4 Sale..
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Atlanta, Ga/Hamilton, Al
Posts: 1,813
Default

garbage disposal and dishwasher power


Quote:
Originally Posted by chris75 View Post
Thats correct, but alot of manufactures require a dedicated circuit, so....
So true. I can't tell you how many times I've seen the Maytag Man jump out from behind a bush and kick the crap out of an electrician for that! I once worked in a house where Maytag, Whirlpool, GE and Sears got together and did a drive-by! Old man Kelvinator was driving
InPhase277 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2008, 06:35 PM   #12
Electrician
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Connecticut, Litchfield
Posts: 2,015
Default

garbage disposal and dishwasher power


Quote:
Originally Posted by InPhase277 View Post
So true. I can't tell you how many times I've seen the Maytag Man jump out from behind a bush and kick the crap out of an electrician for that! I once worked in a house where Maytag, Whirlpool, GE and Sears got together and did a drive-by! Old man Kelvinator was driving

Nothing better than a 3 amp appliance requiring its own circuit...

chris75 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
conversion of portable dishwasher to stationary one grimsbyman Plumbing 15 02-13-2014 10:45 AM
Outlets in cabinets(micro, DW, Disposal, under cab lighting) DanBress Electrical 9 08-17-2008 04:59 PM
Air Gap for Dishwasher End Grain Plumbing 6 03-09-2008 08:25 PM
Dishwasher vent/air gap homer12 Plumbing 5 01-21-2008 11:25 AM
drain pipe size for kitchen sink, garbage disposal, and dishwasher ? amakarevic Plumbing 5 08-05-2007 12:23 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.