Forums | Home Repair | Home Improvement | Painting | Interior Decorating | Remodeling | Landscaping


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 05-09-2009, 09:02 AM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 67
Share |
Default

Garbage Disposal


I need to replace a dishwasher and need to determine if the way it is installed in the correct way ( I have replaced so much electrical already since I moved in here a year ago). This is solide conduit that runs in the wall from the switch to beneath the sink and then the flexible conduit for a few feet into the garbage disposal. Do you need a switch or anything under the sink to shut off the power? Currently the breaker controls 2 GFCI's and the garbage disposal.

Thanks,
howard.wheaton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2009, 10:34 AM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 3,502
Default

Garbage Disposal


No. The switch that turns it on and off is all you need.
J. V. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2009, 05:28 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Wilmington, DE
Posts: 3,114
Default

Garbage Disposal


What 2 GFCI's??? The disposal cannot be connected to the countertop outlet circuits, and should(not must) be on its' own circuit.
Just Bill is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2009, 06:41 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 67
Default

Garbage Disposal


There is one GFCI outlet on one side of the sink and one GFCI with the GD switch on the other. Why is having 2GFCI's a problem?
howard.wheaton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2009, 07:34 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 2,294
Default

Garbage Disposal


Quote:
I need to replace a dishwasher and need to determine if the way it is installed in the correct way
Then you should explain how the dishwasher is wired.
220/221 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2009, 07:55 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 67
Default

Garbage Disposal


dishwasher is on it's own dedicated circuit. Why?
howard.wheaton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2009, 09:28 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 2,294
Default

Garbage Disposal


Don't know. Here, the DW/disp are together unless it's a new high end unit over xxx? watts.
220/221 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2009, 06:36 AM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Wilmington, DE
Posts: 3,114
Default

Garbage Disposal


My question was not about GFCI's, but where the disposal was getting power. You answered that. Not a problem.
Just Bill is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
slow draining garbage disposal lchiu7 Plumbing 3 04-05-2009 03:00 PM
Garbage Disposal Dilemma (with pic) tommy potatoes Plumbing 13 03-23-2009 05:50 PM
replacing a gfci recetacle for a dishwasher and garbage disposal sarahzuno Electrical 12 01-20-2009 11:41 PM
GFCI and garbage disposal Jeremy Hillary Boob, PhD Electrical 2 11-28-2008 07:01 PM
garbage disposal and dishwasher power amakarevic Electrical 11 10-06-2008 06:35 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.