Forums | Home Repair | Home Improvement | Painting | Interior Decorating | Remodeling | Landscaping


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 03-27-2012, 12:49 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 6
Share |
Default

Garbage Disposal


Hello everyone. I have what is probably a silly question. I'm trying to install a new garbage disposal and purchased the three prong plug for it. However the outlet is too far away from the disposal for the plug to reach. My idea was to install a junction box. I would run BX cable from the disposal to the junction and the power cord from the junction to the outlet. Does this sound ok?

Also the power cord I purchased for the insinkerator is a 16 guage. Would I use 16 guage BX? The outlet is a 20amp dedicated circuit with 12/2 cable and is switch controlled.

Johnscott181 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2012, 01:13 PM   #2
DIY Enthusiast
 
sublime2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 1,061
Default

Garbage Disposal


If your going to use the Bx cable why not hard wire the disposal with bx right to the box on the wall and cover the box with
This;
Name:  img-1.jpg
Views: 60
Size:  19.2 KB

sublime2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2012, 01:44 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 6
Default

Garbage Disposal


No reason other than I'd already been in the mindset of using the power cord to make things easier, lol. Your suggestion makes the most sense. Should I be using the 14/2 or 16/2?
Johnscott181 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2012, 01:46 PM   #4
DIY Enthusiast
 
sublime2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 1,061
Default

Garbage Disposal


14/2 bx should be fine.
sublime2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2012, 01:58 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 6
Default

Garbage Disposal


Sorry, I've been referring to it as 14/2 but it is 12/2, I just double checked. I'm assuming that doesn't make a difference. BTW, thanks for your help.
Johnscott181 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2012, 02:02 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 78
Default

Garbage Disposal


If it's on a 20 amp circuit 14/2 is not fine. You must use minimum 12AWG wire for 20 amp circuits.
fdiddy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2012, 02:06 PM   #7
Licensed Pro
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: SC
Posts: 1,509
Default

Garbage Disposal


Use a longer cord.
__________________
"Life is hard. Life is harder when you're stupid." John Wayne
HouseHelper is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2012, 02:16 PM   #8
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 6
Default

Garbage Disposal


Quote:
Originally Posted by HouseHelper View Post
Use a longer cord.
I'm sure I could find a longer cord made by another company. Insinkerator says I am only allowed to use there cord or hard wire the unit with BX cable. I just wanted to do it the "right" way.
Johnscott181 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2012, 02:22 PM   #9
DIY Enthusiast
 
sublime2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 1,061
Default

Garbage Disposal


Quote:
Originally Posted by fdiddy
If it's on a 20 amp circuit 14/2 is not fine. You must use minimum 12AWG wire for 20 amp circuits.
Typo....
12/2 for a 20 amp.
sublime2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2012, 03:15 PM   #10
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,246
Default

Garbage Disposal


BX isn't made anymore. What you are referring to as BX is now called MC or AC cable.
k_buz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2012, 03:47 PM   #11
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 6
Default

Garbage Disposal


Quote:
Originally Posted by k_buz View Post
BX isn't made anymore. What you are referring to as BX is now called MC or AC cable.
Yes. Some people still use the term to refer to ac cable. One question I do have is, if the wiring to the AC cable is essentially the same as the switch controlled outlet? In other words, I can just switch out the outlet and connect it to the disposal the same way?
Johnscott181 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2012, 03:57 PM   #12
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,246
Default

Garbage Disposal


If you are asking if you can "hardwire" the disposal the answer is usually yes. However, it seems as if your disposal specifically states that you have to use the provided cord, then you have to use the provided cord.


Your other option would be to move the outlet, to somewhere where the cord will reach. If that is what you want to do, just use the existing recept box as a j-box and install a new recept box using AC/MC cable.

Last edited by k_buz; 03-27-2012 at 04:00 PM.
k_buz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2012, 04:04 PM   #13
DIY Enthusiast
 
sublime2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 1,061
Default

Garbage Disposal


Yes, kill the power at the main box(not just turn the switch off) remove the outlet and the wires from the outlet run the BX cable through the cover(pic) with a 3/8" metal clamp another metal 3/8" on the disposal connect the black,white and grounds together in the box do the same in the disposal .secure plate to box and the plate on disposal. Turn power back on and test.
sublime2 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to sublime2 For This Useful Post:
Johnscott181 (03-27-2012)
Old 03-27-2012, 04:04 PM   #14
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 6
Default

Garbage Disposal


Quote:
Originally Posted by k_buz View Post
If you are asking if you can "hardwire" the disposal the answer is usually yes. However, it seems as if your disposal specifically states that you have to use the provided cord, then you have to use the provided cord.


Your other option would be to move the outlet, to somewhere where the cord will reach. If that is what you want to do, just use the existing recept box as a j-box and install a new recept box using AC/MC cable.
No. It can be hard wired. I bought the optional cord to make life easier. That was before I knew how short it is.
Johnscott181 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2012, 04:06 PM   #15
DIY Enthusiast
 
sublime2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 1,061
Default

Garbage Disposal


Quote:
Originally Posted by k_buz
BX isn't made anymore. What you are referring to as BX is now called MC or AC cable.
It is made,just gos by anther name now.

sublime2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
switch to garbage disposal question tard01 Electrical 64 03-30-2012 05:19 PM
Double dishwasher, dble sink garbage disposal dilemma pettychat Plumbing 2 01-12-2012 03:43 PM
Connecting new dishwasher and garbage disposal -- no ground wire in the conduits. arca Electrical 17 03-28-2011 02:06 AM
Object in Garbage Disposal coolptnr Plumbing 3 05-18-2010 02:02 PM
Old garbage disposal question please help. linuxguy0481 Kitchen & Bath Remodeling 3 07-26-2009 10:03 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.