Garage/Workshop Receptacles - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-12-2008, 11:28 PM   #1
Master Of Nothing
 
mr500's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Alabama
Posts: 141
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Garage/Workshop Receptacles


What does it say in the code book about GFIC in a workshop. I plan on running 3 circuits for plugs. 1 down each side wall and one across the back wall. Do I need 3 GFIC, 1 on each run? How exactly does that play out with the code.

Also, are they they be connected at the start of the run OR in the middle, or does it matter as long as they are there and working??

Mike

Advertisement

mr500 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2008, 11:32 PM   #2
Master Of Nothing
 
mr500's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Alabama
Posts: 141
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Garage/Workshop Receptacles


oops Thats GFCI

Advertisement

mr500 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2008, 01:22 AM   #3
My License Ain't 4 Sale..
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Atlanta, Ga/Hamilton, Al
Posts: 1,813
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Garage/Workshop Receptacles


Only receptacles in a residential garage need to be GFCI protected, not a workshop. Unless the receptacle is within 6' of a sink. Otherwise, it would be permissible to use standard outlets at your work bench. However, I would still recommend using GFCIs. Install them at the first outlet on the circuit, and protect the rest downstream.

InPhase277
InPhase277 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2008, 06:40 AM   #4
When is fishing season?
 
CowboyAndy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 613
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Garage/Workshop Receptacles


So what is the criteria for something to NOT be a residential garage? What if I turn my garage into a workshop and don't park my car in there? Is it still a garage? What if it is an outbuilding that has a garage door, but has never been used as a garage but more of a workshop? Is GFI protection still required?
__________________
I DON'T OWN MY HOUSE...
MY HOUSE OWNS ME!
CowboyAndy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2008, 07:11 AM   #5
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,905
Rewards Points: 2,162
Default

Garage/Workshop Receptacles


They are required in a workshop, shed, potting shed, outhouse, pump house, etc, as well.

210.8 Ground-Fault Circuit-Interrupter Protection for Personnel

(A) Dwelling Units
All 125-volt, single-phase, 15- and 20-ampere receptacles installed in the locations specified in (1) through (8) shall have ground-fault circuit-interrupter protection for personnel.

(2) Garages, and also accessory buildings that have a floor located at or below grade level not intended as habitable rooms and limited to storage areas, work areas, and areas of similar use
__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC.
Speedy Petey is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2008, 09:22 AM   #6
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,964
Rewards Points: 2,324
Default

Garage/Workshop Receptacles


I have 3 circuits to my garage/workshop, and have a gfci at the begining of each circuit. I have only tripped a gfci in the shop one time.
__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2008, 12:17 PM   #7
Licensed Electrician
 
jrclen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: central wisconsin
Posts: 982
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Garage/Workshop Receptacles


You can install GFCI circuit breakers on each of those 3 circuits. Or install a GFCI receptacle outlet in the 1st location in each circuit and connect the down stream receptacles to the load terminals of that GFCI to protect those receptacle outlets. Wiring them incorrectly gives you no protection.
jrclen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2008, 12:19 PM   #8
When is fishing season?
 
CowboyAndy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 613
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Garage/Workshop Receptacles


Quick question, is there a limit as to how mant receps a gfi recep can protect?
__________________
I DON'T OWN MY HOUSE...
MY HOUSE OWNS ME!
CowboyAndy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2008, 05:44 PM   #9
Licensed Electrician
 
jrclen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: central wisconsin
Posts: 982
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Garage/Workshop Receptacles


Quote:
Originally Posted by CowboyAndy View Post
Quick question, is there a limit as to how mant receps a gfi recep can protect?
No limit
jrclen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2008, 05:50 PM   #10
Master Of Nothing
 
mr500's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Alabama
Posts: 141
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Garage/Workshop Receptacles


Ughh. Kinda wish I would have bought the GFi breakers instead of regular ones. But then, they came with the panel as a package deal lol. Not that I cant wire the plugs in, just easier to pop in a breaker.



This stuff gets expensive fast don't it

Mike
mr500 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2008, 08:41 PM   #11
Licensed Electrician
 
jrclen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: central wisconsin
Posts: 982
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Garage/Workshop Receptacles


Quote:
Originally Posted by mr500 View Post
Ughh. Kinda wish I would have bought the GFi breakers instead of regular ones. But then, they came with the panel as a package deal lol. Not that I cant wire the plugs in, just easier to pop in a breaker.

This stuff gets expensive fast don't it
Mike
Yes it can get expensive in a hurry. And the GFCI breakers can be pricey also. The GFCI receptacles will do the job just fine.
jrclen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2008, 09:34 PM   #12
Master Of Nothing
 
mr500's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Alabama
Posts: 141
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Garage/Workshop Receptacles


I guess GFCI plugs is what it will be. Ill put one on each line. rather spend that money and not burn something up.

Thanks

Mike
mr500 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2008, 09:35 PM   #13
Master Of Nothing
 
mr500's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Alabama
Posts: 141
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Garage/Workshop Receptacles


Quote:
Originally Posted by jrclen View Post
No limit

I had one "electrician" make a comment that if you put too many plugs after a GFIC, one might get pre mature tripping? ANYONE ever heard of this?
mr500 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2008, 07:08 AM   #14
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,905
Rewards Points: 2,162
Default

Garage/Workshop Receptacles


Yes, I have.
There is no legal limit, just like residential receptacles on a circuit, but there is common sense limit.
Grounded outlets, especially receptacles, have a certain amount of "leakage" to ground. This is normal. Add up too many and it is enough to nuisance trip a GFI.
__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC.
Speedy Petey is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2008, 07:18 AM   #15
When is fishing season?
 
CowboyAndy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 613
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Garage/Workshop Receptacles


So what is a "safe" amount?

Advertisement

__________________
I DON'T OWN MY HOUSE...
MY HOUSE OWNS ME!
CowboyAndy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wiring in New Addition? sandyman720 Electrical 6 11-27-2011 04:34 PM
1 switch split receptacles Price pfister Electrical 16 05-03-2007 10:01 PM
gfci receptacles rjr Electrical 2 05-02-2007 08:16 PM
4-way circuit with 9 duplex receptacles crecore Electrical 7 09-01-2006 10:39 PM
Number of receptacles and size of wires KUIPORNG Electrical 5 06-28-2006 02:21 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts