Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12-25-2008, 07:05 AM   #16
elect, contractor
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: niagara ontario
Posts: 44
Rewards Points: 25
Default

Garage Wiring issues


If the cost of going to 200 amp is not an issue than go for it, who knows what you might be doing in the future. if you plan to run a welder in your garage you should consider 60 amp as a minimum for a sub panel (depending on the welding machine), being as close to the main service as it is it would not be to overly costly to go to 100 amp, then you would be able to have lots of lighting on , be welding something and your compressor can automaticaly turn on without issues. there is no logical reason other than cost to not go bigger than you need, I have seen alot of folks go the minimum then a couple years later regret it. wishing they had done more.

ACB Electric is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-2008, 09:23 AM   #17
Safe, Most of the Time!!
 
brokenknee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: MN
Posts: 652
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Garage Wiring issues


[quote=
Also, for underground conduit, will I need SCH 40 or sch 80 PVC? Does this need to be continued into each structure up to the panel? [/quote]

Schedule 40 is used underground, Schedule 80 may be used but is more expensive.

For above ground use Schedule 80 must be use.
__________________
"Clarity to Agreement" Dennis Prager

Picture/Photo Pitcher/Carafe ------- Where/Someplace Were/Be
brokenknee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2009, 12:25 AM   #18
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: USA
Posts: 1
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Garage Wiring issues


Whether you’re rewiring or adding more wiring to an older garage, or running wires in a new garage, you have a decision to make. Do you plan to leave the walls open or close them up with drywall? If you intend to leave the walls and ceiling open, you have to follow the special rules that we show here. The same goes for sheds, workshops or other structures with unfinished walls outside the living space of the house.In a house or a finished garage, electrical cable is protected from damage by permanent wall coverings like drywall, plaster or even wood, but that’s not the case in an unfinished garage. The key to safe, code-compliant exposed wiring is to use the framing members to protect and support the wires. That means not spanning stud or joist spaces with wires. Keep all the cables closely hugging the studs, plates and ceiling joists so they’re not subject to abuse (see “Dangerous Wiring Mistakes,” below).
In this story, we’ll show you a common, cost effective and code-approved way to run exposed electrical cable. But there’s one downside to this method: If you ever do decide to finish the area, you’ll have to completely rewire because the surface-mounted cables will make drywalling impossible.

See More Garage Organization Projects
us marriage
us marriage is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2009, 01:02 AM   #19
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: SoCal
Posts: 1,794
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Garage Wiring issues


I'd run a new conduit to the garage and put in a sub panel there. Size the wire and breaker in the house box appropriatly.

This is example of a subpanel package deal aimed at similar applications to yours - http://www.lowes.com/lowes/lkn?actio...G1K&lpage=none

You cannot have two separate circuits to the garage, so may as well pull out the 14 wire and run the computer and phone through the existing 1/2" conduit.
vsheetz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2009, 02:42 AM   #20
My License Ain't 4 Sale..
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Atlanta, Ga/Hamilton, Al
Posts: 1,813
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Garage Wiring issues


Quote:
Originally Posted by us marriage View Post
Awwww...Well, at least the little feller was trying! I wonder just what he was doing with that screwdriver?



InPhase277 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2009, 02:57 PM   #21
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Upstate NY
Posts: 147
Rewards Points: 81
Default

Garage Wiring issues


haha... I love having my posts spammed:-D

And thanks or the link to the Lowes panel. I am going to have to look into that as I think I can afford that project soon.

jimmyfloyd is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wiring a garage reverendcolin Electrical 34 11-10-2008 04:53 PM
Wiring garage workshop Kay Man Electrical 10 08-28-2008 12:04 PM
wiring detached garage ugabulldog Electrical 5 07-24-2008 04:13 PM
Two Family Duplex - Garage Wiring Question Moonlight24 Electrical 2 06-22-2008 10:31 AM
Garage - Protecting wiring installation eastment Electrical 4 11-26-2005 11:52 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.