Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 09-29-2010, 01:08 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Garage wiring


Currently I have a 20 amp 2 pole breaker. One hot is feeding something I think in the dining room, the other goes to my garage. Right now the garage only has one receptacle. There is no lighting. Can I add lighting and more receptacles off the the existing receptacle? By the way my garage is detached and is about 50-60 feet from my main panel. Can someone give the newbie some advice?


Last edited by gunner51; 09-29-2010 at 01:12 PM. Reason: added more info
gunner51 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2010, 01:14 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Garage wiring


With a detached structure you can have ONE circuit
or
a Multi-wire branch circuit (MWBC) = shared neutral
or
Feed the structure with a sub-panel

So you will need to run new wire - MWBC or a sub panel for more circuits
You can add off the existing circuit

Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2010, 01:16 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Garage wiring


Currently I have a 20 amp 2 pole breaker. One hot is feeding something I think in the dining room, the other goes to my garage. Right now the garage only has one receptacle. There is no lighting. Can I add lighting and more receptacles off the existing receptacle?
I live in Minneapolis.

Last edited by gunner51; 09-29-2010 at 01:27 PM. Reason: reply
gunner51 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2010, 01:19 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Garage wiring


You can add more outlets & lights off the existing circuit
Not sure where you are located
Canada has a limit on how many you can have on one circuit
Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Scuba_Dave For This Useful Post:
gunner51 (09-29-2010)
Old 09-29-2010, 03:23 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 780
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Garage wiring


To answer your question, yes you can add outlets and lights to that circuit. However, if you are planning on using the garage as a shop, with only a 20 amp service, you could easily trip the breaker and leave yourself in the dark at the same time.
hayewe farm is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wiring house to garage stonehaven Electrical 7 06-02-2010 06:19 PM
wiring code w.r.t. NEW folding stairs in garage attic fredsterl Electrical 4 09-25-2009 11:05 PM
Wiring garage workshop Kay Man Electrical 10 08-28-2008 12:04 PM
wiring garage clive Electrical 6 08-20-2008 12:36 PM
Wiring my garage with direct burial cable? Earl Smith Electrical 3 08-10-2008 06:28 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.