Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12-16-2008, 01:11 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 3
Share |
Default

garage subpanel


I have 2, 30 amp 10-3 feeds coming from my 200 amp panel at the house to my garage that run 120 ft away.Can I combine these 2 feeds to connect to 1 breaker in the garage.

sllim66 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2008, 01:28 PM   #2
DIY'er
 
jamiedolan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Neenah, Wisconsin, USA
Posts: 2,032
Blog Entries: 2
Default

garage subpanel


Quote:
Originally Posted by sllim66 View Post
I have 2, 30 amp 10-3 feeds coming from my 200 amp panel at the house to my garage that run 120 ft away.Can I combine these 2 feeds to connect to 1 breaker in the garage.
Is your garage detached or attached to a large home?

How are they fed? Is this in conduit, is this romex type cable?

Jamie

jamiedolan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2008, 01:40 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 3
Default

garage subpanel


datached garage from 3 bedroom house.buried in 3/4 conduit,10-3 romex wire.
sllim66 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2008, 01:48 PM   #4
DIY'er
 
jamiedolan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Neenah, Wisconsin, USA
Posts: 2,032
Blog Entries: 2
Default

garage subpanel


Quote:
Originally Posted by sllim66 View Post
datached garage from 3 bedroom house.buried in 3/4 conduit,10-3 romex wire.
Your current setup is illegal.

You may only have one disconnect for the service in the garage. You can not run multiple circuits to the garage the way you have it setup now. I assume you need more than 30A service at the garage and that is why you asked this in the first place.

What I would do is pull out the 10-3 romex and install a sub panel in the garage, then run 6 gage copper wire from the house to the garage via the conduit. (I would use 6 of the type of conduit you have will allow them to fit. You will need 3 runs of 6 gage wire and 1 run of 8 gage wire for ground. You will need to have grounding rods (2 is easiest) at the garage, and that will need to be connected into the garage with #6 wire.

I would suggest you buy a Cuttler hammer CH panel or Square D QO panel for the garage. A 22 space QO with a pack of breakers sells for about $70 and it is a nice panel. Due to the "value pack" with the breakers included in the QO 22 space pack, the panel costs right about the same as a 8 space CH panel, atleast around here. You can easily get away with something cheaper if that is an issue.

If this is something your intrested in persuing, I will be happy to help you with more details as will others here.

Jamie
__________________
Jamie Dolan - Neenah, WI
Jamie Dolan Paw Dogs
Need Help Uploading Photos? Click here.
jamiedolan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2008, 01:51 PM   #5
My License Ain't 4 Sale..
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Atlanta, Ga/Hamilton, Al
Posts: 1,813
Default

garage subpanel


No, you cannot attach both cables at the garage end. Wires of this size cannot legally be paralleled. Also, you are only allowed one circuit or feeder to your garage.
InPhase277 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2008, 02:01 PM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 3
Default

garage subpanel


I really appreciate your help,Thank you very much.

sllim66 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Subpanel in detached garage gp_wa Electrical 6 10-07-2008 09:11 PM
Garage GFCI on Subpanel sweaty Electrical 2 09-20-2008 12:29 PM
Yet another garage subpanel thread (w/ pictures!) MattOverMinder Electrical 9 07-25-2008 02:15 PM
Grounding for detached all-metal garage geeswanie Electrical 3 07-03-2008 07:31 AM
Subpanel Questions/Running electrical to garage. FlyGuy Electrical 28 05-24-2008 10:50 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.