Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 08-21-2011, 09:42 PM   #31
Member
 
Missouri Bound's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Almost Arkansas
Posts: 2,764
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Garage subpanel


The LB should be stamped with it's cu. in. capacity.

Missouri Bound is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2011, 10:03 PM   #32
Electrician
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Winnipeg, Manitoba
Posts: 1,147
Rewards Points: 510
Default

Garage subpanel


I would put a junction box in place of the LB if you want to make joints. I would try to avoid using the LB as a junction box, I can't give you a code reference if it is legal or not.
darren is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2011, 11:01 PM   #33
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,684
Rewards Points: 2,166
Default

Garage subpanel


Quote:
Originally Posted by Missouri Bound View Post
The LB should be stamped with it's cu. in. capacity.
Unless the LB is marked with the capacity it cannot be used as a splice point.
__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2011, 11:04 PM   #34
Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Edmonton, Alberta Canada
Posts: 777
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Garage subpanel


What differentiates the ones marked versues the ones that aren't?(aside from the stamp)
n0c7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2011, 08:37 AM   #35
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,684
Rewards Points: 2,166
Default

Garage subpanel


Without knowing the capacity you can't calculate the fill volume. if you don't know the volume it makes it hard to know if you have room for additional conductors.
__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2011, 12:27 AM   #36
Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Edmonton, Alberta Canada
Posts: 777
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Garage subpanel


Ok, luckily the ones I have are stamped with the cu capacity.
n0c7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2011, 08:50 AM   #37
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 172
Rewards Points: 150
Default

Garage subpanel


i would use 6/3 teck90 and just use pvc where it will be visual, like 90 from a trench up to an lb then into the garage or house and just run the teck inside it
awdblazer is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2011, 03:34 PM   #38
Member
 
Missouri Bound's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Almost Arkansas
Posts: 2,764
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Garage subpanel


Quote:
Originally Posted by awdblazer View Post
i would use 6/3 teck90 and just use pvc where it will be visual, like 90 from a trench up to an lb then into the garage or house and just run the teck inside it
The wire described is only 3 conductor. A sub panel not in an attached building requires a 4th wire, a ground. Plus all the other sub panel NEC stipulations.
Missouri Bound is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2011, 04:20 PM   #39
Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Edmonton, Alberta Canada
Posts: 777
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Garage subpanel


PVC is already piped in undeground. City says I can run individual wires as long as I carry the ground. Will I need to run PVC right to the main box or can the wires be exposed inside the house?
n0c7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2011, 06:43 PM   #40
Electrician
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Winnipeg, Manitoba
Posts: 1,147
Rewards Points: 510
Default

Garage subpanel


If there individual conductors you can't run them exposed, they have to be in pipe. You could put a junction box where the wires come in and then use lomex to run to your panel.
darren is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2011, 11:22 PM   #41
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 172
Rewards Points: 150
Default

Garage subpanel


6/3 teck90 is 3 insulated conductors with a bare ground
awdblazer is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2011, 11:35 PM   #42
Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Edmonton, Alberta Canada
Posts: 777
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Garage subpanel


Back again. While researching prices I've noticed that there is alot of emphasis on temperature ratings on the cable. Any suggestions what temperature rating I should watch out for?
n0c7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2011, 12:15 AM   #43
Electrician
 
SD515's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Near Jackson Michigan Area
Posts: 1,450
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Garage subpanel


Much of the wire you find will be rated 90 degrees Celsius. Usually it’s better as you can derate from the 90 degree column, though you still have to terminate using the 60 or 75 column.
__________________
Kyle

Just because you can, doesn't always mean you should
SD515 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2011, 12:23 AM   #44
Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Edmonton, Alberta Canada
Posts: 777
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Garage subpanel


Alright, I'll try to stick with 90C to keep it easier. If I do decide to transition from THWN to NMD cable in the LB at the house, what type of clamp down connector can be used? I can't seem to find a 1-1/4" plastic connector, only metal. What do you guys use?
n0c7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2011, 01:05 AM   #45
Sparky
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Central Florida
Posts: 701
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Garage subpanel


Quote:
Originally Posted by n0c7 View Post
Alright, I'll try to stick with 90C to keep it easier. If I do decide to transition from THWN to NMD cable in the LB at the house, what type of clamp down connector can be used? I can't seem to find a 1-1/4" plastic connector, only metal. What do you guys use?

one of these

and a short piece of pipe

Techy is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Detached garage subpanel options? jeffiebean Electrical 6 03-15-2011 08:20 PM
correcting existing subpanel in detached garage mtk Electrical 17 03-14-2010 01:49 PM
Legal to have subpanel in garage? gante Electrical 36 03-13-2009 03:27 PM
Subpanel - detached garage without a floor SAS Electrical 12 03-05-2009 11:42 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.