Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 06-07-2012, 03:32 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 3
Share |
Default

Garage single gang box GFCI w/12 conductors


Please forgive some of my ignorance with residential wiring, I usually just do industrial electrical and really don't have to worry about dealing with any codes at work. What I have to do is GFCI protect all the outlets in my garage. I found one outlet that branches off to all the other outlets in my garage. If I put a GFCI on this outlet to protect it and all the other outlets, I cannot put it all back together properly because of how deep the GFCI is compared to the outlet I removed. There are a total of (x4)Hots (x4)Neutrals and (x4)Grounds[pigtailed] in the gang box. I believe all wires are #14. Should I just get a 2 gang box deep enough to fit everything in properly and replace the single gang box? Or should I get a 2 gang box and use it as a junction box in between this GFCI single gang box and all the rest of the outlets? Also, either way, on the double gang boxes, should I install rubber grommets on all the knockouts that I'm running the Romex through? May be a dumb question, but I figured I'd ask anyway. I have attached a photo so you can kind of see what I'm talking about. It's not the best photo and only 2 sets of wires are currently connected. Please let me know if anyone needs more clarification about what I'm trying to do or if any other photos may be needed.
Attached Thumbnails
Garage single gang box GFCI w/12 conductors-1338764478310.jpg  

rstyszko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2012, 05:47 AM   #2
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,340
Default

Garage single gang box GFCI w/12 conductors


Oh come on, don't try to tell us you are an electrician when you ask this type of question.

That box is completely overfilled. You ether need to install a new, larger box or install a handy box extension.

__________________
__________________________________________________ ______________
Answers based on the National Electric Code. Always check local amendments.



Last edited by k_buz; 06-07-2012 at 06:42 AM.
k_buz is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to k_buz For This Useful Post:
Code05 (06-07-2012), Jim Port (06-08-2012)
Old 06-07-2012, 06:16 AM   #3
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,826
Default

Garage single gang box GFCI w/12 conductors


I could never understand that mentality.
"I don't do resi work".
"I don't have to deal with codes".
"I believe all wires are #14".

You should have just been honest and said, I am not an electrician and don't claim to be.

Barring any codes, logic should tell you that four cables in a single gang box is way overfilled. And doing "industrial electrical work" you should be dealing with conductor size and box fill all the time. This is NOT a resi only thing.

What Kbuz said, replace the box or use an extension collar.
__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC.
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Speedy Petey For This Useful Post:
Code05 (06-07-2012), Jim Port (06-08-2012)
Old 06-07-2012, 06:54 AM   #4
A "Handy Husband"
 
rjniles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Carolina Low Country
Posts: 4,028
Default

Garage single gang box GFCI w/12 conductors


And not many electricians would use the term "outlet" when they were specifically talking about "receptacles". To an electricain an "outlet" has a different meaning.

You do not need to GFCI protect all the outlets in your garage, you need to protect the 120 volt receptacles.
__________________
Location:
Coastal South Carolina
rjniles is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to rjniles For This Useful Post:
Code05 (06-07-2012)
Old 06-07-2012, 09:00 AM   #5
Member
 
Code05's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Easton MD
Posts: 1,841
Default

Garage single gang box GFCI w/12 conductors


Quote:
Originally Posted by rjniles View Post
And not many electricians would use the term "outlet" when they were specifically talking about "receptacles". To an electricain an "outlet" has a different meaning.
Could have been worse and the OP had said plugs, that really drives me crazy.

Quote:
You do not need to GFCI protect all the outlets in your garage, you need to protect the 120 volt receptacles.
I am bored, nit pick time:

210.8 Ground-Fault Circuit-Interrupter Protection for
Personnel.

FPN: See 215.9 for ground-fault circuit-interrupter protection
for personnel on feeders.

(A) Dwelling Units. All 125-volt, single-phase, 15- and
20-ampere receptacles
installed in the locations specified in
(1) through (8) shall have ground-fault circuit-interrupter
protection for personnel.

(2) Garages, and also accessory buildings that have a floor
located at or below grade level not intended as habitable
rooms and limited to storage areas, work areas,
and areas of similar use
Code05 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2012, 01:39 PM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 3
Default

Garage single gang box GFCI w/12 conductors


Quote:
Originally Posted by k_buz View Post
Oh come on, don't try to tell us you are an electrician when you ask this type of question.

That box is completely overfilled. You ether need to install a new, larger box or install a handy box extension.
I am not an electrician, nor do I claim to be. Of course I realized that the box was overfilled, but my question was really directed more towards what would pass an inspection or not. I just didn't want to do the work twice.
rstyszko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2012, 01:48 PM   #7
Member
 
kevinp22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Saint Louis, MO
Posts: 323
Default

Garage single gang box GFCI w/12 conductors


Quote:
Originally Posted by rstyszko View Post
I usually just do industrial electrical .
Could have fooled me.

Of course, to a degree I sympathize. I do corporate accounting/finance and friends call me with their rental property etc tax questions and I don't even try.
kevinp22 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to kevinp22 For This Useful Post:
Speedy Petey (06-07-2012)
Old 06-07-2012, 02:34 PM   #8
Member
 
Code05's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Easton MD
Posts: 1,841
Default

Garage single gang box GFCI w/12 conductors


Quote:
Originally Posted by kevinp22 View Post
Could have fooled me.

Of course, to a degree I sympathize. I do corporate accounting/finance and friends call me with their rental property etc tax questions and I don't even try.
I do not, actually I am about 80% commercial, 10% resi and 10% industrial: and for about 90% of the NEC codes-there is no distinction between them.

Now about my 401(K) and 403(B) and certain taxes.....
Code05 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to Code05 For This Useful Post:
kevinp22 (06-07-2012), Speedy Petey (06-07-2012), stickboy1375 (06-07-2012)
Old 06-07-2012, 06:36 PM   #9
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 3
Default

Garage single gang box GFCI w/12 conductors


Thank you for all of your replies and help everyone. You have all been most helpful with this topic.
rstyszko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2012, 03:17 PM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 221
Default

Garage single gang box GFCI w/12 conductors


Quote:
Originally Posted by rjniles View Post
And not many electricians would use the term "outlet" when they were specifically talking about "receptacles". To an electricain an "outlet" has a different meaning.

You do not need to GFCI protect all the outlets in your garage, you need to protect the 120 volt receptacles.
An outlet is where you buy your receptacles and a receptacle is where you dispose bad outlets?

goosebarry is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Garage Wiring issues jimmyfloyd Electrical 20 06-08-2009 02:57 PM
single gang single pole switch on fan fabian Electrical 14 03-05-2009 01:11 AM
single gang with 5 wires fabian Electrical 11 01-25-2009 05:18 PM
Single Gang Box used as a Junction? Winchester Electrical 9 09-02-2008 05:33 PM
GFCI Question Mdbuilder Electrical 6 06-19-2008 03:15 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.