Garage Refrigerator Tripping GFCI - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum

Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical


Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-29-2010, 06:42 PM   #1
Noob w/ more experience
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Virginia Beach
Posts: 51
Rewards Points: 29

Garage Refrigerator Tripping GFCI

I just received an older garage fridge from a friend. I just tried plugging it in and as soon as the plug hits the receptacle it trips the GFCI. I'm not an electrician but a guy who likes to do his own work around the house. What can I do to get this fridge to start working? Here is what I know, this GFCI has a strong load on it, two bathrooms, a few outdoor lights, and the whole garage. How do I make it so that the fridge can work? Or, is there something wrong with my fridge?


golfer2b is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2010, 06:45 PM   #2
the Musigician
DangerMouse's Avatar
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: I'm right here!
Posts: 10,404
Rewards Points: 2,000

I'd dare say it's the fridge, not your electric.
Maybe a bad cord? Look for frays or severe twists?
Many other things to test if not.



[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]Click here to see some of my original magic tricks and trick boxes!
DangerMouse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2010, 07:12 PM   #3
Licensed electrician
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 10,236
Rewards Points: 626

GFI's do not trip due to overloads. That is the job of the breaker. GFI's trip due to an imbalance of current between the hot and neutral. Your refrigerator has a problem and need to be repaired or replaced.
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2010, 07:19 PM   #4
Bigplanz's Avatar
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Louisville KY
Posts: 793
Rewards Points: 756

I also think you have a problem with the refrigerator. I've run lots of high amp and high initial surge power tools in my garage and never tripped a GFCI. The only thing that ever tripped it was a 6 inch clip on fan, when I would turn it off.
Bigplanz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2010, 08:17 PM   #5
" Euro " electrician
frenchelectrican's Avatar
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Rewards Points: 2,000

The most common curpit is the compressor interal winding going bad that why the GFCI do trip.

But check the cord first for any visvable damage and any crack anything like that and replace it and some case it will clear up but not always.

frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2010, 09:16 AM   #6
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 780
Rewards Points: 500

First thing to do is plug the refrigerator in and reset the GFCI, it it stays reset you're good to go. Some times just inserting a plug will cause them to trip.


hayewe farm is offline   Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Garage GFCI Circuits H2O Engr Electrical 6 01-20-2010 07:22 PM
GFCI Outlet on 20A garage circuit campos202 Electrical 2 09-10-2009 09:38 AM
GFCI in garage? gone_fishing Electrical 6 12-28-2008 12:06 PM
Garage GFCI on Subpanel sweaty Electrical 2 09-20-2008 12:29 PM
GFCI in detached garage question WShawn Electrical 2 08-02-2008 03:27 PM

Top of Page | View New Posts


Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.1