DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum

DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum (http://www.diychatroom.com/)
-   Electrical (http://www.diychatroom.com/f18/)
-   -   Garage ready for rough inspection? (http://www.diychatroom.com/f18/garage-ready-rough-inspection-106454/)

WillK 06-03-2011 08:51 AM

Garage ready for rough inspection?
 
3 Attachment(s)
Just putting up my pics that I believe should be ready to pass rough inspection. I'll be working on the main service panel this morning but if anything isn't right with the garage I'd rather fix that and not finish the service panel so I can close the wall in the garage over the weekend if I had to make a choice.

hyunelan2 06-03-2011 09:13 AM

Are those boxes big enough? Did you do the wire-fill calcs? I could be wrong, but I thought a single-gang box was only used at the end of a run, there is not enough space for wires to come in and out.

Jim Port 06-03-2011 10:45 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by hyunelan2 (Post 660345)
Are those boxes big enough? Did you do the wire-fill calcs? I could be wrong, but I thought a single-gang box was only used at the end of a run, there is not enough space for wires to come in and out.

You can use single gang boxes anywhere in the run as long as they are sized correctly. Some single gangs are 22 cubic inches.

Jim Port 06-03-2011 10:49 AM

Will, one thing I noticed is that there does not appear to be a double stud next to the door. i also like to add blocking so the trim plate will clear the door trim. You can also run 2 cables into the one KO on the box. I also like to run the cables a couple of inches higher or lower than you did so there is more room to staple. I would have also run multiple cables in each hole.

I think you missed a strap on the conduit going down into the JB.

bob22 06-03-2011 10:59 AM

Attached or unattached garage?

WillK 06-03-2011 11:13 AM

1 Attachment(s)
I'm not overly worried about trim, I'll be covering with insulation, drywall, painting the drywall and then putting furring strips over the drywall and putting up peg board. Some day.

So this time he gave me a writeup which I'll attach below and informed me that he spoke with the building department director and he's going to charge the inspection fee each time he comes out.

1) So because the pipe for the feeder is PVC between the junction box and the panel, he wants a ground conductor. Or I can make the pipe EMT. He doesn't care that there's a ground clamp on the rigid metal. From discussions here I've been under the impression that I'm to code.

2) He says staple NM to code. This refers to where NM cable comes out of the blue boxes that have clamp tabs and go through studs within 4". Everything else was stapled at the time of inspection. He wants a staple on the NM in the 4" between the box and the hole in the stud.

3) "Make up grounds as loose". He pulled one out, pulled it apart.

4) PVC #40 not rated for use. He looked right at the PVC last time and said nothing.

5) Missing ground rod. He didn't even look when he wrote this up. 2 ground rods were installed. He said the wire has to be protected, schedule 40 isn't okay, EMT is okay. Thanks for pointing this out in the first or second inspection. Oh wait, he didn't even look.

5) Install fittings in boxes as needed. ???

6) Install KO seals as needed. I asked for an afternoon inspection, and every other time he's inspected it has been after 1 PM. Today he shows up at 11:15 and I was still in the middle of working on everything. And once again, he has never mentioned this before, and if he had and it was the only thing I'd ask if he could catch it at final since the panel is surface mounted and won't be covered.

7) reinspection fee.

I'll be talking to the director myself after their lunch hour is over. Any help anyone can offer for applicable code sections for me to refer to would be helpful please.

WillK 06-03-2011 11:14 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob22 (Post 660417)
Attached or unattached garage?


Unattached.

hyunelan2 06-03-2011 12:11 PM

Re-inspection fee is typical here. Everytime the inspector has to make a visit to the site, it's another charge. Motivation to do things right the first time, I guess.

WillK 06-03-2011 12:25 PM

I wouldn't mind the fee if not for now being unemployed and if I actually could get an inspection that was good enough to know that the inspector wasn't going to find something he could've found before but didn't bother to check.

Missing ground rods because he didn't even look. Service mast bracing because he invented his own rules out of thin air. NM stapling that isn't required by code or his own previous inspections. I don't do the whole speak to someone's supervisor thing unless it's really bad. I'm heading over there shortly.

WillK 06-03-2011 12:48 PM

*GRR*... Being that it was memorial day week, Monday was a non-business day. Being that I knew he didn't work Tuesdays I called last weekend requesting Weds. inspection. They called and said he wasn't working that day so 2nd inspection was Thursday. I try to fix his issues and get reinspected so I can close the walls this weekend and get my parts back in the workshop so I can get my project car out of the driveway, doesn't happen...

And then after I prepare myself to talk to his supervisor, it's Friday. They close at noon.

My complaints are plenty, but I'll leave it at that.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:29 PM.


Copyright 2003-2014 Escalate Media LP. All Rights Reserved