Garage Power Question - Electrical - Page 2 - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-04-2013, 12:21 AM   #16
Member
 
JuzRick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: SC
Posts: 132
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Garage power question


Quote:
Originally Posted by stubie View Post

I think you need to re-read the thread ...
Yeah, I see now no subpanel. Still I suggest poster consults with a qualified electrician. Better safe then sorry! :-)

Advertisement

JuzRick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2013, 12:29 AM   #17
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Garage power question


Quote:
Originally Posted by shoothebunnies View Post
Went out to the garage this morning and had no lights. Checked the panel and neither breaker was tripped. Nothing plugged in. It's an old garage with one pull chain single bulb light and one outlet.

Went in the house to the main panel (runs from there to the garage) and the breaker was tripped. It occupies two slots and is 30 amp on each slot. It says internal common trip. Switched it back on and it buzzed and tripped immediately. Went back out to the garage and shut off the two breakers in the panel out there, came back in and same thing.

Can these breakers go bad?

If so are they hard to change?

Thanks in advance for your help.
Quote:
Originally Posted by JuzRick View Post
Yeah, I see now no subpanel. Still I suggest poster consults with a qualified electrician. Better safe then sorry! :-)
Eh., Excuse moi.,, I put a underline of OP wording and Oui ., He do have subpanel in the garage.

Merci,
Marc
__________________
The answer will be based on NEC ( National Electrical code ) or CEC ( Cananda Electrical code ) or ECF ( Electrique Code France )
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2013, 12:41 AM   #18
Member
 
JuzRick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: SC
Posts: 132
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Garage power question


Quote:
Originally Posted by frenchelectrican View Post

Eh., Excuse moi.,, I put a underline of OP wording and Oui ., He do have subpanel in the garage.

Merci,
Marc
Yeah, I see now after reading for the 2nd time now, lol. Post: Went out into garage breaker wasn't tripped. Still suggest consulting with a qualified electrician to isolate the problem.
JuzRick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2013, 01:01 AM   #19
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Garage power question


I am pretty sure it have to be underground conduit or direct buial cable that pretty much done for it.

If the OP have pretty deep frost then no doubt about it., It can do hovac on them. I have fixed them like that when frost hit them hard.

Merci,
Marc
__________________
The answer will be based on NEC ( National Electrical code ) or CEC ( Cananda Electrical code ) or ECF ( Electrique Code France )
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2013, 07:12 AM   #20
Master Electrician
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 515
Rewards Points: 292
Default

Garage power question


A good electrician should be able to find the short with a wire tracer, if it is a hard short. If it's a short in water or a short across a gap, the wire tracer won't locate it as easily. A DMM will tell if it's a dead short. If the short can be located, it can be spliced underground.

Mark
__________________
Licensed Master Electrician
Commonwealth of Virginia
busman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2013, 08:22 PM   #21
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Colton, SD
Posts: 47
Rewards Points: 25
Default

Garage power question


Would like to thank all of you for your help in assessing the situation.

I am going to hold off until spring hits here to make things a little easier to fix.
shoothebunnies is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2013, 10:49 PM   #22
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,960
Rewards Points: 2,316
Default

Garage power question


On a side note, the last thing you want to do, is take the cover of the panel and try to reset a tripping breaker.

Look up arc flash and you will see why.

Advertisement

__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Garage insulation question silverfox103 Insulation 0 10-05-2011 10:10 AM
feeding power to garage beech Electrical 2 08-23-2010 08:58 PM
Garage Door Extension Spring Question kmc143 Building & Construction 4 02-23-2010 09:24 AM
Detached Garage: Design Question esemrick Building & Construction 4 01-12-2010 05:59 PM
Garage lost power jkrodger Electrical 4 11-04-2007 09:50 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts