Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 06-14-2014, 03:43 PM   #1
I ask the impossible!
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Royal Oak, Michigan
Posts: 1,060
Blog Entries: 7
Share |
Default

Is this garage panel plan right?


So I have a small garage, a year or two down the road I intend to tear it down and build a larger one, but for now I want to run an overhead wire to a new panel so I can connect my air compressor (30A 2 pole) and have a 20A circuit for receptacles and a lighting circuit.

Can I use a 60A A/C disconnect at the disconnect means for a 125A Homeline main lug panel (Fed off a 50A circuit breaker in the house of course)

__________________
Please do NOT consider any "before" picture of my house as any kind of endorsement of any particular construction method. In fact, you should probably assume that if I post a "before" picture, I am posting it because I am soliciting advice on a proper replacement for one of MANY things done wrong by a previous owner.
WillK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2014, 03:54 PM   #2
Rob
 
Robpo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Spring Creek NV
Posts: 787
Default

Is this garage panel plan right?


Quote:
Originally Posted by WillK View Post
So I have a small garage, a year or two down the road I intend to tear it down and build a larger one, but for now I want to run an overhead wire to a new panel so I can connect my air compressor (30A 2 pole) and have a 20A circuit for receptacles and a lighting circuit.

Can I use a 60A A/C disconnect at the disconnect means for a 125A Homeline main lug panel (Fed off a 50A circuit breaker in the house of course)
Theoretically you could but I don't know if it would pass code or not. Everything would be protected by the 50 amp circuit and the 30A 2
pole and the 60A a/c would just be a switch.

Robpo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2014, 03:55 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 567
Default

Is this garage panel plan right?


Don't see why not.

The only issue I would see is how to terminate your neutral and ground.

Ok, and maybe how you will enter it?

Last edited by ritelec; 06-14-2014 at 04:02 PM.
ritelec is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2014, 04:36 PM   #4
UAW SKILLED TRADES
 
Stubbie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Kansas
Posts: 4,865
Default

Is this garage panel plan right?


Why would you do it that way ..... go spend 20 bucks and get one of these.

http://www.lowes.com/pd_36242-296-HO...ductId=3134331


You can install a back fed main breaker for your disconnect in the first 4 positions or spaces 1 and 2. You will need the hold down kit for the main breaker and an accessory ground bar so you can keep neutral and ground not bonded.

An a/c disconnect has no neutral or ground provision as already mentioned ... forget it.
__________________
" One nice thing about the NEC articles ... you have lots of choices"

Stubbie

Last edited by Stubbie; 06-14-2014 at 04:38 PM.
Stubbie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2014, 06:59 PM   #5
A "Handy Husband"
 
rjniles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Carolina Low Country
Posts: 3,929
Default

Is this garage panel plan right?


As long as you have less than 7 breaker handles, you do not need any additional disconnect.
__________________
Location:
Coastal South Carolina
rjniles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2014, 07:37 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 567
Default

Is this garage panel plan right?


Quote:
Originally Posted by rjniles View Post
As long as you have less than 7 breaker handles, you do not need any additional disconnect.
That's right, and close to the entrance.

Never made sense to me how a detached structure would need to be able to be disconnected from an external disconnect or the panel being right inside it's entrance. Yet at the house, that main is inside the house behind locked doors usually in a corner room in the basement.

got me?
ritelec is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2014, 10:31 PM   #7
I ask the impossible!
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Royal Oak, Michigan
Posts: 1,060
Blog Entries: 7
Default

Is this garage panel plan right?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Stubbie View Post
Why would you do it that way ..... go spend 20 bucks and get one of these.

http://www.lowes.com/pd_36242-296-HO...ductId=3134331


You can install a back fed main breaker for your disconnect in the first 4 positions or spaces 1 and 2. You will need the hold down kit for the main breaker and an accessory ground bar so you can keep neutral and ground not bonded.

An a/c disconnect has no neutral or ground provision as already mentioned ... forget it.
That is, as a matter of fact, exactly the panel I bought. Although the disconnect was $6.80 which is less than the $8.25 of a 2 pole breaker, plus the hold-down kit is $4.98.

I'm not set on any particular course of action, I want to do something that's code compliant (of course). Coming straight into the panel from the weatherhead would be good.
__________________
Please do NOT consider any "before" picture of my house as any kind of endorsement of any particular construction method. In fact, you should probably assume that if I post a "before" picture, I am posting it because I am soliciting advice on a proper replacement for one of MANY things done wrong by a previous owner.
WillK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2014, 12:07 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 100
Default

Is this garage panel plan right?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Stubbie View Post
Why would you do it that way ..... go spend 20 bucks and get one of these.

http://www.lowes.com/pd_36242-296-HO...ductId=3134331


You can install a back fed main breaker for your disconnect in the first 4 positions or spaces 1 and 2. You will need the hold down kit for the main breaker and an accessory ground bar so you can keep neutral and ground not bonded.

An a/c disconnect has no neutral or ground provision as already mentioned ... forget it.
or this one for $16.97 http://www.homedepot.com/p/GE-PowerM...7?N=5yc1vZbm0u

Cletis is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
attached garage sub panel readar Electrical 22 10-20-2013 07:25 PM
Add 14-50 240v 50amp plug in garage or Add entire panel and 240v plug on Old House. wowor Electrical 9 06-06-2013 02:54 PM
Mobile Home Electrical Panel Replacement rrolleston Electrical 2 01-28-2012 05:27 PM
Old House Rewire finnimus Electrical 15 05-13-2011 10:39 PM
Critique my wiring plan for my garage tigereye Electrical 10 03-24-2009 09:55 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.