Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 03-07-2011, 04:03 PM   #31
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 14
Share |
Default

Garage GFI Help please


Well guys here is what I did and now all is well and everything is up and working again...a electrician at work told me to take the black lead and plug it into one of the other breakers that is working properly and see what happens...did that and everything was perfect...I then moved the original breaker down 1 slot in the box, hooked the hot back up to it and everything is working as it should..test works on GFI and resets. Air Compressor runs on it with no problems...Thanks to everyone for all your guiadance...Paul

ashnic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2011, 06:16 PM   #32
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 1,088
Default

Garage GFI Help please


Quote:
Originally Posted by ashnic View Post
Well guys here is what I did and now all is well and everything is up and working again...a electrician at work told me to take the black lead and plug it into one of the other breakers that is working properly and see what happens...did that and everything was perfect...I then moved the original breaker down 1 slot in the box, hooked the hot back up to it and everything is working as it should..test works on GFI and resets. Air Compressor runs on it with no problems...Thanks to everyone for all your guiadance...Paul
So there was a bad spot on the bus?

Anyway, glad you got it working.
boman47k is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2011, 06:30 PM   #33
UAW SKILLED TRADES
 
Stubbie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Kansas
Posts: 4,851
Default

Garage GFI Help please


I'm trying hard to understand how doing anything in the panel would change anything. The gfci would either have power or it wouldn't .. anyway current leakage line side of the gfci (from the gfci to the panel) is not monitored by the gfci.

Now you could explore if some how bonding in the panel was not correct and a hot to ground fault existed and would back feed the egc of the gfci branch circuit and by moving the hot wire you corrected the ground fault issue. But even backfeeding the gfci metal yoke over the egc would not trip it.

A bad spot on the bus the breaker plugged on to would do nothing as a cause for tripping the gfci.

Somewhere something is missing .....
__________________
" One nice thing about the NEC articles ... you have lots of choices"

Stubbie
Stubbie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2011, 06:44 PM   #34
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,318
Default

Garage GFI Help please


Like Stubbie I don't see how moving the breaker to a different spot made this work unless this was part of a MWBC and it was somehow backfeeding from the other leg of the panel and causing a short.
__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2011, 12:10 AM   #35
Semi-Pro Electro-Geek
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Arizona, USA
Posts: 2,520
Default

Garage GFI Help please


Just because it works doesn't mean it's right or safe. There's something strange happening here. It's really hard to say exactly what, but it's not normal.
mpoulton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2011, 09:38 PM   #36
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 66
Default

Garage GFI Help please


I'm not an engineer but is it possible that by moving the breaker you put it on a different phase? There could be a problem with one hot leg in the panel and not the other. I wonder if an voltage drop on a phase would cause havoc with a gfci?
Jj375 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2011, 10:32 AM   #37
Electrician
 
SD515's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Near Jackson Michigan Area
Posts: 1,450
Default

Garage GFI Help please


Quote:
Originally Posted by Stubbie View Post
Somewhere something is missing .....
I agree

__________________
Kyle

Just because you can, doesn't always mean you should
SD515 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Weatherproofing garage help Perfik Building & Construction 2 10-17-2012 03:30 PM
The 12-Gauge Garage Jack Olsen Project Showcase 28 07-08-2012 10:21 PM
Raising up my garage jimmyfloyd Building & Construction 5 09-17-2009 10:39 PM
Garage Wiring issues jimmyfloyd Electrical 20 06-08-2009 02:57 PM
new double garage murray1426 Building & Construction 4 05-23-2009 01:11 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.