Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 03-21-2011, 06:02 PM   #16
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 17
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Garage GFCI Circuit Wiring Problem


Quote:
Originally Posted by jbfan View Post
I can't tell from the pics, but mine has a starting cap.
It sounds like it may be bad.
Hmm that very well could be..I bet you're right. Mine is a capacitor started motor. Never thought of that..thanks! I'll have to do some research on that. Have you ever had to replace a capacitor? I wouldn't think it would be too hard..just find the right replacement and wire it in?

woodworkerjeff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2011, 06:13 PM   #17
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,857
Rewards Points: 2,110
Default

Garage GFCI Circuit Wiring Problem


Quote:
Originally Posted by woodworkerjeff View Post
Hmm that very well could be..I bet you're right. Mine is a capacitor started motor. Never thought of that..thanks! I'll have to do some research on that. Have you ever had to replace a capacitor? I wouldn't think it would be too hard..just find the right replacement and wire it in?
Just take the cover off, find the number and find a repalcement.
2 wires and you are done.
__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2011, 07:34 PM   #18
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 17
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Garage GFCI Circuit Wiring Problem


Quote:
Originally Posted by jbfan View Post
Just take the cover off, find the number and find a repalcement.
2 wires and you are done.
Looks like a simple fix. Just took the capacitor off and it is obviously blown..looks like it imploded on itself. I'm going to order a new one tonight. I take it a capacitor serves the same function that carbon brushes do on other power tools? Thanks again everyone..looks like this one is close to being solved
woodworkerjeff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2011, 11:30 PM   #19
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Garage GFCI Circuit Wiring Problem


Quote:
Originally Posted by woodworkerjeff View Post
Looks like a simple fix. Just took the capacitor off and it is obviously blown..looks like it imploded on itself. I'm going to order a new one tonight. I take it a capacitor serves the same function that carbon brushes do on other power tools? Thanks again everyone..looks like this one is close to being solved
Not excataly on this useage and the capaitor purpose to shift the voltage a bit for starting winding and some case you may have second capaitor for running winding which it will help to reduce the running current.

But the starting capaitor is the most common cuprit and next most common curpit is starting switch aka centifuge switch it will be on the motor rotor which it will have some type of flywheel weights there to move at X numbers of T/min { RPM } (note: this only used on single phase motours the triphase do not have them at all and very few single phase motours do not have them as well )

The carbon brush is complety diffrent function that is only on DC or AC-DC rated universal motour and they are wired in series with main winding so if you loose the brushes for some reason the motour will not run without it.

Hope that clear up that details.

Merci.
Marc
__________________
The answer will be based on NEC ( National Electrical code ) or CEC ( Cananda Electrical code ) or ECF ( Electrique Code France )

Last edited by frenchelectrican; 03-21-2011 at 11:32 PM.
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2011, 10:44 AM   #20
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 17
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Garage GFCI Circuit Wiring Problem


Thanks again, Marc. That makes sense why a bad capacitor would cause the breaker to trip. Got a new capacitor ordered..can't wait to see how it runs once that is replaced!
woodworkerjeff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2011, 11:43 AM   #21
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 17
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Garage GFCI Circuit Wiring Problem


Got in the new capacitor and the drill press works great! Thanks for helpin me out on this one guys! Can't tell you how glad I am to have only spent $10 for a new circuit breaker and $10 for a new starting capacitor..i love happy endings like this
woodworkerjeff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2011, 12:12 PM   #22
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,857
Rewards Points: 2,110
Default

Garage GFCI Circuit Wiring Problem


Glad everything worked out for you!
__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2011, 11:29 PM   #23
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Garage GFCI Circuit Wiring Problem


I am glad that you got it working good now you can use the drill press anytime.

Merci.
Marc
__________________
The answer will be based on NEC ( National Electrical code ) or CEC ( Cananda Electrical code ) or ECF ( Electrique Code France )
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2011, 12:34 PM   #24
Newbie
 
thomask's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Down South
Posts: 16
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Garage GFCI Circuit Wiring Problem


Hey JEFF,

That starting capacitor is the culprit many more times than not.

Glad you are up and running now.

THIS IS A GREAT GROUP ON HERE.

thomask is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Switch triggering GFCI breaker on a DIFFERENT circuit stillmarried Electrical 5 11-29-2009 09:14 PM
Electrical problem in garage ginaca Electrical 10 04-19-2009 06:51 PM
Wiring Issue: Problem solving skkrman7482 Electrical 3 04-04-2009 06:32 AM
GFCI Trips campbellpt Electrical 28 11-21-2008 03:06 PM
GFCI in detached garage question WShawn Electrical 2 08-02-2008 03:27 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.