Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 03-02-2010, 09:33 AM   #1

Share |

Garage door opener problem(s)

So I have a Liftmaster garage door opener, not sure of model, I think it's about 20 yrs old (need more specifics, I know). For about a month now, it's been not functioning properly. On occasion it will open and close no probs, but for the most part it will stop motion either half way up/down, after a foot, 6 inches, etc... Basically, it stops in the middle of its cycle, sometimes taking 5-7 attempts to lower completely.

I've already disconnected and have moved it by hand. It goes up and down easily. The sensors are clean and clear. Are there any other potential issues that may be causing this? FWIW, this started with the extremely cold weather here in the midwest, but has been continuing with temps into the 30's.

Possibly time for a new opener? What is the lifespan on an opener?
It's a chaindrive, I think 1/2 hp. All the springs, wheels seem to be okay. Thanks for any and all input. Mike

Last edited by Mr. Michael; 03-02-2010 at 09:36 AM.
Mr. Michael is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2010, 09:48 AM   #2

Does the chain need adjusting? Next try adjusting the opening and closing forces. Then adjust the safety mechanisms. I had to do all this to a Craftsman opener recently and it's working fine now.

daveb1 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2010, 10:56 AM   #3

Two things could be coming into play here.

While I don't know about your garage door opener, mine has an adjustment knob that sets the amount of force that is required before the door will stop closing and open back up. It's partly designed to keep from crushing a child that might be in the door way, but not in the way of the "beam" to cause it to stop and turn around.