Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 05-07-2009, 06:36 AM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 135
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Future wire in panel?


Hi all,

I am just about finished with a large remodel. Did all the wiring myself and have so far received excellent grades from my inspector. I'm wondering about wiring I installed for a possible washer/dryer in our master bedroom closet area. It's for future use and will not be hooked up. The wiring runs in the panel, but I don't want to hook it up to a breaker. What do people do in these cases? Wire nut them off? Not sure what size breaker would be required for this so I don't want to buy it yet.

In general is it acceptable to wire nut a future wire off in the panel. Would you also wire nut the neutral and ground or can they be connected?

Thanks.

wease is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2009, 06:56 AM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 780
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Future wire in panel?


Interesting, so if you don't know what size breaker you are going to use how do you know what size wire to use?

hayewe farm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2009, 07:20 AM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Future wire in panel?


I've yet to see a washer that doesnt use 120v
Not hard to run 12-2 for that
If they have gas then the dryer will be 120v too
And if electric they are pretty standard

I have connected grounds & neutrals on runs I will complete
Runs that I am not connecting in the near future I leave disconnected & wire nutted
Usually you want it all disconnected, no chance of power running

If it's a 12-2 120v run I would simply hook it up
Why not have the outlet live?
Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2009, 07:41 AM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 135
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Future wire in panel?


Electrci dryers usually take 240v 30 amp. The combo units may require more in the future, so I ran a couple of different wires (12-2 and 10-3) just in case. I should be covered with that.

I'll cap them in the panel.
wease is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2009, 11:26 AM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 3,508
Rewards Points: 2,004
Default

Future wire in panel?


Quote:
Originally Posted by wease View Post
Electrci dryers usually take 240v 30 amp. The combo units may require more in the future, so I ran a couple of different wires (12-2 and 10-3) just in case. I should be covered with that.

I'll cap them in the panel.
And mark them as spares and where they go.
J. V. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2009, 02:57 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Brooklyn, New York (NYC)
Posts: 1,124
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Future wire in panel?


Proves a point. Mr. W. (and many other amateurs) fails to see a [direct] relationship between the size of wire and the current (in amps.) that it carries. Should have ascertained the current usage of the appliance that they wanted to have. Generally. A Clothes Dryer that has an electrical heating element runs on 240 Volts (actually 208 V.) @ 30 Amps. A gas heated Dryer runs on 120V. and a size 12 awg. cable and 20 Amp. circuit breaker are right!!!
spark plug is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2009, 03:24 PM   #7
DIY'er
 
jamiedolan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Neenah, Wisconsin, USA
Posts: 2,032
Rewards Points: 1,000
Blog Entries: 2
Default

Future wire in panel?


Quote:
Originally Posted by wease View Post
Hi all,

I am just about finished with a large remodel. Did all the wiring myself and have so far received excellent grades from my inspector. I'm wondering about wiring I installed for a possible washer/dryer in our master bedroom closet area. It's for future use and will not be hooked up. The wiring runs in the panel, but I don't want to hook it up to a breaker. What do people do in these cases? Wire nut them off? Not sure what size breaker would be required for this so I don't want to buy it yet.

In general is it acceptable to wire nut a future wire off in the panel. Would you also wire nut the neutral and ground or can they be connected?

Thanks.
I believe the code specs a 20A/12awg circuit for the laundry. If you think your going to have a electric dryer, i'd run a piece of EMT, ENT or FMC from the panel to a 4x4 and pull the necessary wire when you actually do the install.

If the wires are already there, wire nut and label them, make sure you use the correct size breaker on the wires when you do hook it up.

Jamie
__________________
Jamie Dolan - Neenah, WI
Jamie Dolan Paw Dogs
Need Help Uploading Photos? Click here.
jamiedolan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2009, 03:50 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 2,294
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Future wire in panel?


Run a 12/2 to one jb and a 10/3 to another jb.

Make up the grounds and neutrals and leave the hot wires capped off and marked.

Actually, that's dumb. Just spend the 10 dollars and install the breakers now and cap off the wires in the jboxes.
220/221 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2009, 04:16 PM   #9
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,858
Rewards Points: 2,020
Default

Future wire in panel?


Quote:
Originally Posted by spark plug View Post
Proves a point. Mr. W. (and many other amateurs) fails to see a [direct] relationship between the size of wire and the current (in amps.) that it carries.
I completely agree.



Quote:
Originally Posted by spark plug View Post
A Clothes Dryer that has an electrical heating element runs on 240 Volts (actually 208 V.) @ 30 Amps.
Actually it IS 240v, unless it is a commercial setting with a 120/208 3-phase service.
240v and 208V are NOT the same thing nor are they interchangeable.
__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC.
Speedy Petey is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2009, 04:59 PM   #10
My License Ain't 4 Sale..
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Atlanta, Ga/Hamilton, Al
Posts: 1,813
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Future wire in panel?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Speedy Petey View Post
I completely agree.



Actually it IS 240v, unless it is a commercial setting with a 120/208 3-phase service.
240v and 208V are NOT the same thing nor are they interchangeable.
But hey... what's 32 V between pals.. right?
InPhase277 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2009, 08:52 PM   #11
liscenced electrician
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Oregon coast
Posts: 983
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Future wire in panel?


i've seen future stuff done many different ways. Some people don't even strip the romex. Me personally, i would make up the grounds/neutrals and cap off the hots with a tag that labels what they are
jimmy21 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2009, 09:26 PM   #12
Electrical Contractor
 
kbsparky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Delmarva
Posts: 3,368
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Future wire in panel?


We simply install an empty conduit to the attic or crawl space for future circuits.

Later, pull whatever size line in when you need it.
kbsparky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2009, 09:31 PM   #13
IBEW Electrician
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Chicago Suburbs
Posts: 29
Rewards Points: 25
Default

Future wire in panel?


you land the wires on the right sized breaker and keep the breaker off and wire nut the other end of the run
Scott3229 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2009, 09:42 PM   #14
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,858
Rewards Points: 2,020
Default

Future wire in panel?


No way in hell I'd make up the breakers.

A) You do not know what you will need later.
B) Some moron can turn on the breaker leaving live, albeit capped off, wires. Tape over the breaker means nothing to most people.
C) There is simply NO valid reason to do so.
__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC.
Speedy Petey is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2009, 09:57 PM   #15
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Future wire in panel?


We bought our house over 5 years ago
Of course all the breakers were turned on during the sale process
Turns out when they disconnected wires for old 240v electric heat they just tucked them up & (maybe) capped them at the bottom of the basement stairs
I found out they were live when I moved the wires to see where they went. Either the caps were not on tight or they came off. I just saw the sparks & jumped back

I never connect hots unless the other end is ready to go

Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Old House Rewire finnimus Electrical 15 05-13-2011 10:39 PM
Neutral Wire? 4x15mph Electrical 8 11-24-2008 01:00 PM
Wire size for Sub panel DaleB Electrical 13 09-18-2008 12:28 AM
Pool Sub Panel wire / conduit questions Al the Diy guy Electrical 23 02-03-2008 02:32 PM
turn main panel into a sub panel? tikicarver Electrical 2 01-24-2008 07:37 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.