Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 08-06-2012, 11:38 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Fuses replaced, Circuit still dead


Yesterday, I plugged my small vacuum cleaner into the same outlet as my small a/c. The circuit went dead. I went to the fuse panel and replaced the dead fuse (tested with a multimeter). The circuit is still dead. Not only that, I later discovered that everything on that side of the house is dead - outlets, ceiling fixtures and electric baseboards. I spent all yesterday evening testing every single fuse in the box, including the two main fuses between the panel and the mail switch. I still have no power on that side of the house. I was married to a contractor for awhile and so I understand the basics of electrical wiring, but this has me stumped. What else can I look at that might explain outlets and ceiling lights on two floors not working when all fuses test ok? I even went out and bought a second multimeter, just in case mine was not working properly.


oldcollegegal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2012, 12:07 PM   #2
UAW SKILLED TRADES
 
Stubbie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Kansas
Posts: 5,039
Rewards Points: 2,048
Default

Fuses replaced, Circuit still dead


I would take a look for a bad connection and test for power inside the outlet you plugged your vacuum into. It sounds like you blew your fuse protecting that branch circuit and replaced it but it did not restore power. All other fuses appear ok from what I can understand. I would suspect an open in the branch circuit neutral or hot conductor. That branch circuit has quite a bit of load on it when the ac is running so you probably ran the vacuum when the ac was operating and it blew the fuse from overload.
So take a non contact voltage tester and see if power is present at any of the outlets or light fixtures. If you show power but nothing works then look for a bad connection on the branch circuit neutral. It sounds like an open in the hot wire or neutral in the home run between the fuse panel and the first point where they junction the branch circuit to feed power to other points in the house. That could be the outlet you plugged your vacuum into or some place else.

Remember safety first so make sure you stay out of contact with any wiring until you deenergize that branch circuit.


Last edited by Stubbie; 08-06-2012 at 12:11 PM.
Stubbie is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2012, 12:09 PM   #3
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 14,271
Rewards Points: 2,204
Default

Fuses replaced, Circuit still dead


Lost the leg that handles the circuits that are dead. Call a licensed electrician to look everything over, also may want to contact the Power company to look at their side. Most power companies will also make a visual of the panel, if they do not see anything outside, to see if the problem is inside. In turn, they will pull the meter if it is a danger to property or inhabitants, and require that a electrician fix the problem and sign off that it has been resolved.
__________________
Ren: Now listen, Cadet. I've got a job for you. See this button? Ren: Don't touch it! It's the History Eraser button, you fool! Stimpy: So what'll happen? Ren: That's just it. We don't know. Maybe something bad, maybe something good. I guess we'll never know, 'cause you're going to guard it. You won't touch it, will you?
gregzoll is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2012, 12:22 PM   #4
UAW SKILLED TRADES
 
Stubbie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Kansas
Posts: 5,039
Rewards Points: 2,048
Default

Fuses replaced, Circuit still dead


Did you test for power at the main fuse block ? Continuity is fine but you must also check for power to eliminate a lost hot leg as Greg is mentioning. I made the assumtion that since your using a multimeter you also checked for power (voltage) at the main fuse block..
Stubbie is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2012, 12:51 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Fuses replaced, Circuit still dead


Thanks to both Stubie and Greg. You helped me understand that the problem could be much more than just a blown fuse.

As for testing for voltage at that main block, although I did test that, I think I think that is out of my league now. I do know when to call in the licensed people!

Your help is much appreciated. Thank you.
oldcollegegal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2012, 03:13 PM   #6
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 14,271
Rewards Points: 2,204
Default

Fuses replaced, Circuit still dead


If you went out and got good fuses, they did not work, or you did a continuity before you put them in, or checked again, when they did mot work the first time, if they were on hand, and everything else looks good, it does not hurt to take the next step.

It does not hurt to call in the PoCo if you have power on one leg, and not the other. Especially with old wiring and still having a fuse panel, not breaker, things happen.

If you are renting, not own, let the building owner know what is going on. Since you are in Ontario, we have a couple of licensed professionals on here that are also in Canada/Ontario that can hopefully chime in.
__________________
Ren: Now listen, Cadet. I've got a job for you. See this button? Ren: Don't touch it! It's the History Eraser button, you fool! Stimpy: So what'll happen? Ren: That's just it. We don't know. Maybe something bad, maybe something good. I guess we'll never know, 'cause you're going to guard it. You won't touch it, will you?
gregzoll is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2012, 10:54 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Cairns Australia
Posts: 2,590
Rewards Points: 2,140
Default

Fuses replaced, Circuit still dead


It could be a burnt out connection somewhere !
Or you have taken out a service fuse !
Start at the beginning with a good volt meter, (main fuse).
and work your way along,
till you find where it goes amiss!
dmxtothemax is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2012, 11:14 PM   #8
Master Electrician
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Toronto Ontario
Posts: 1,165
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Fuses replaced, Circuit still dead


Probably not the power company side. I would suspect you took out one of your main fuses. You have breaker style main with fusebox, push in fuses, or fusable disconnect? Keep in mind any 240v motor loads you have won't function. Such as a well pump and these fuses should be pulled to prevent damage to the equipment. I wouldn't use the baseboards or the oven either but the lost leg shouldn't harm them if they get turned on. They just won't work right.
__________________
Sarcasm is my friend
I'm here to learn too, i do mostly commercial/industrial/new construction and this place is a great way to pick up tips on residential from some good electrical minds. Excuse the spelling, my phone has a mind of it's own.

Last edited by andrew79; 08-06-2012 at 11:17 PM.
andrew79 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2012, 04:59 AM   #9
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Tenn
Posts: 5
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Fuses replaced, Circuit still dead


Is it posible that the recepicle that feds the one that is dead then continues on through that part of the house could be a ground fault recepicle that tripped which would interrupt that supply?
camdenkid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2012, 05:57 AM   #10
Master Electrician
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Toronto Ontario
Posts: 1,165
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Fuses replaced, Circuit still dead


No not if one legs out.
__________________
Sarcasm is my friend
I'm here to learn too, i do mostly commercial/industrial/new construction and this place is a great way to pick up tips on residential from some good electrical minds. Excuse the spelling, my phone has a mind of it's own.
andrew79 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2012, 10:35 AM   #11
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Fuses replaced, Circuit still dead


Hello Andrew. I checked both the main fuses. They were ok. I replaced them anyway. Still have no power. I've been meaning to have an electrician come and replace that old fuse box with one that has breakers. Guess I might as well do that now! Thanks for your suggestions!
oldcollegegal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2012, 10:54 AM   #12
Master Electrician
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Toronto Ontario
Posts: 1,165
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Fuses replaced, Circuit still dead


Good plan. Check out the gov websites on grants sometimes they have a tax break or something for getting rid of a fusebox. Will save you a couple bucks maybe.
__________________
Sarcasm is my friend
I'm here to learn too, i do mostly commercial/industrial/new construction and this place is a great way to pick up tips on residential from some good electrical minds. Excuse the spelling, my phone has a mind of it's own.
andrew79 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2012, 06:18 PM   #13
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Cairns Australia
Posts: 2,590
Rewards Points: 2,140
Default

Fuses replaced, Circuit still dead


Quote:
Originally Posted by oldcollegegal View Post
Hello Andrew. I checked both the main fuses. They were ok. I replaced them anyway. Still have no power. I've been meaning to have an electrician come and replace that old fuse box with one that has breakers. Guess I might as well do that now! Thanks for your suggestions!
Can you check for power on both sides of the main fuses?
Do you have a tester ?
Be super careful !
dmxtothemax is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2012, 01:59 AM   #14
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 119
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Fuses replaced, Circuit still dead


What is the rating of the fuse?

I'm betting the fuse was overrated, and the overload - (using two high current appliances -- burnt out either a "hot" connection, or more likely, a neutral connection.

You can't fix this yourself...sorry

You may need to call a good electrician to fix the problem...
kontoose is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2012, 09:29 AM   #15
Master Electrician
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Toronto Ontario
Posts: 1,165
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Fuses replaced, Circuit still dead


It kills me that people are still replying to this after she's already said she's going to hire an electrician to put in a new breaker box. Problem solved folks, and in the best possible way.

__________________
Sarcasm is my friend
I'm here to learn too, i do mostly commercial/industrial/new construction and this place is a great way to pick up tips on residential from some good electrical minds. Excuse the spelling, my phone has a mind of it's own.
andrew79 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to andrew79 For This Useful Post:
MisterZ (08-08-2012)
Reply

Tags
circuits, fuses, no power to circuits


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Did My GFCI Circuit Breaker Fail? Jazan Electrical 8 08-04-2012 03:44 PM
Is it possible to change Circuit breaker to Buss fuse socket type? njchen24 Electrical 8 08-07-2011 06:27 PM
Dispute: Oven malfunction after h/w guys used the circuit rational Appliances 18 05-17-2011 10:37 PM
Replaced all circuit breakers still not working? wrxry77 Electrical 6 06-05-2008 08:04 AM
Dead outlet and switches on otherwise live circuit viking1974 Electrical 4 08-23-2007 05:30 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.