Forums | Home Repair | Home Improvement | Painting | Interior Decorating | Remodeling | Landscaping

Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 07-23-2007, 03:57 PM   #1

Share |
Question

fuses to circuit breakers!! help!!

This is my first time on here but I am hoping someone can helpme. here is my problem we are selling our house and we currently have 60 amp fuses with 100amp box outside. my father in law was going to help a friend who is an electrician install the 100 amp circuit but his friend got sick and is no longer available to do it. now we still have to install it because it is in our sales flyer but we can't afford to pay a lot. my father in laws friend said it wouldn't be hard but now my father in law's business partner (they are in remodling) came by and says he belives we need a subpanel and he will call his electrician to get a bid. is there anyway we can save money by doing some of the work ourselves and how do i know if we need a sub panal or if they are in it for the money??? any answers or suggestions greatly appreciated we close in 2 1/2 weeks we need to move fast
thanks

ilovemyfamily is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2007, 06:47 PM   #2
Retired from the grind

For the electrical, there is no saving money, due to a licensed electrician has to install, and the power company only has so much time to pull the meter head and wait for the Electrician to wire the mains so that the meter can be reinstalled.

I do my own electrical for myself, and that is due to Navy Training, and working with my father who was licensed, but stuff like Power Panels, I hire someone else to do, due to too much headaches, and they have everything on the truck for a one trip job.

gregzoll is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2007, 08:54 PM   #3
Agent 000