Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 10-16-2007, 02:51 AM   #1

Share |

fuses to breakers

Hello, I have a house that still has fuse panels, could anyone tell me the cost of replaceing them with breakers. I,m in Ky

handyman1355 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2007, 07:50 AM   #2
Long-Time DIYer

fuses to breakers

I am not a professional electrician, just a long-time DIYer and real estate broker.
This cost depends on a number of things, but here in northeastern NC, it usually runs anywhere from $600-$900 to install a new 200 amp residential breaker panel.
Mike

Mike Swearingen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2007, 09:11 AM   #3

fuses to breakers

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mike Swearingen View Post
here in northeastern NC, it usually runs anywhere from $600-$900 to install a new 200 amp residential breaker panel.
Mike
I'm jealous of NC!! 100amp service upgrade in SE Michigan will run more in the ballpark of $800-1200 depending on things like do you have a riser or is the line underground, and how far it is from where it touches the house to the panel itself. 200amp is approx. $200-300 more. Just estimates!
moneymgmt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2007, 11:06 AM   #4

fuses to breakers

Get a minimum of three quotes. Get a contract on the price, how long it will take and the brand and size of the panel. Get a 200 amp, 42 circuit panel. Make sure the electrician is licensed.
I like to put the new panel "if possible" in a new location so as to leave the existing one in operation, until the new one is finished. Like right next to the old one. So the branch circuit wires MAY be long enough to reach the new one.

Prices are hard to judge. Thats the reason for the quotes.