Fusebox For Screw-in Fuses - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-06-2011, 04:25 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 1
Rewards Points: 10
Default

fusebox for screw-in fuses


we apparently have two electrical boxes in our home, one of which has screw-in (edison t type? ) fuses, and has been tripping about once a month.

we can see that the smart thing to do is eliminate this box altogether and upgrade the more modern main circuit breaker and electrical box to handle the circuits from both boxes. but that's not in the budget yet.

my husband, mr. frugal scientist, got out his scientific equipment and determined the resistance was too high, and the fuse in question is getting too hot. and to delay the repair he basically shut off the power and took this old electrical fuse socket apart and cleaned it very thoroughly, assuming the resistance problem was more likely to be in the fuse box than the wire. he triumphantly said resistance had dropped, and proclaimed himself right, but when he went to screw it all back together, he totally destroyed some kind of thermally insulating (asbestos?) washer behind the fuse.

we don't even know what this washer is called and I don't think they sell it anymore. i also don't know if they sell porcelain or polymer replacements or where to look. In the absence of an available commercial part, mr frugal scientist is looking up thermal ratings and insisting that he can use a printed circuit board or something, just cut it into shape and squish it in there and it would be safe. He's a smart guy but he's no electrician and I have the heebee jeebees about this.

I wanted your opinions: is there something commercially available as a washer we should be using? Is his proposed solution safe or should I insist we get rid of the whole box right now, even if paying it off takes a while?

Thanks

Advertisement


Last edited by dumbblond; 05-06-2011 at 04:28 PM.
dumbblond is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2011, 06:05 PM   #2
licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Hooksett, New Hampshire
Posts: 45
Rewards Points: 25
Default

fusebox for screw-in fuses


please tell your husband to stop, a lot of people back in the day used to jam pennies in the holes of the fuse and screw it in. it was the cause of a lot of electrical fires. Of course without seeing it it's hard to say the state of it now, but judging on your description of your husbands work, I would deem it unsafe at this point and would replace it asap, and in my opinion this isn't a DIY job, you should hire a professional to come in and do it and to have them check the wires while hes at it.

Advertisement

The Deez is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2011, 06:06 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Nashua, NH, USA
Posts: 6,976
Rewards Points: 2,048
Default

fusebox for screw-in fuses


Show us a picture.

You can move the circuit fed by that fuse to a breaker in the other panel; you may need a junction box just outside the old panel to splice on an extra length of cable if the original cable doesn't reach the other panel.

You could double up the circuit fed by that fuse with a circuit fed by another fuse in which case both circuits will share the same 15 or 20 ampere allotment given by the other fuse. If two wires want to go under the same screw, cut a short lengh of wire of the same color, attach one end to the screw and wire nut the other end to the two wires in question.

Things in a fuse box are not suppoed to heat up, yours did because there was a loose connection. A piece of printed circuit board from which you tore off all of the foil parts can be fabricated into a washer or other part you need, so can a piece of polyethylene sheet about 1/16 inches thick. (Be careful you do not use printed circuit board with multiple layers and embedded foil.)

The fuse box may be connected to a pair of breakers in the other panel using a #8 or #6 cable. You can at your leisure move circuits from the fuse box to the breaker box one at a time.
__________________
Forget super sized fries. The Washington Redskins could promote healthy eating with First Lady Obama by choosing a (red skinned) turnip for a mascot.

Last edited by AllanJ; 05-06-2011 at 06:11 PM.
AllanJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2011, 06:33 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Eighty Four, Pa.15330
Posts: 1,414
Rewards Points: 826
Default

fusebox for screw-in fuses


You need a new service.
bobelectric is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2011, 08:26 PM   #5
Member
 
Missouri Bound's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Almost Arkansas
Posts: 2,764
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

fusebox for screw-in fuses


dumbblond...judging from your posts, you really should change your name. As far as your amateur scientist hubby goes....keep him away from the panels before he burn the house down. Have a licensed electrician look at the situation and help you get rid of the heebie jeebies.
Missouri Bound is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2013, 10:03 PM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default

fusebox for screw-in fuses


Here's what one of those looks like. The lower one is normal. The upper one had a loose fuse, sparked, overheated, and over the years destroyed the insulator. The screw has been removed and you can see what's back there:
Attached Thumbnails
fusebox for screw-in fuses-pemco_fuse_base.jpg  

Advertisement

brycenesbitt is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
asbestos , edison , fuse , insulator


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Intertherm elec furnace slowly burns 60A fuses. Goldenvoice HVAC 9 01-05-2011 11:29 AM
Installed new thermostat, killing fuses when switching to heat carsnrockmusic HVAC 8 11-03-2010 09:11 AM
1/2 HP Pump Motor Squeals and Blows Fuses frank1492 Electrical 6 09-11-2010 01:51 AM
fuses to circuit breakers!! help!! ilovemyfamily Electrical 5 07-24-2007 08:01 PM
First time with old style fuses in fuse panel darsunt Electrical 3 06-20-2007 04:53 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts